Customer Reviews for

The Hours

Average Rating 4
( 175 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    Gorgeous

    While some parts were sluggish and interuppted the momentum of the story, they were not enough to detract from the beautiful stories that Cunningham effortlessy weaves together. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for an intellectually stimulating read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    If you like classics, you'll love this book...

    This story was unexpected. It's difficult to review this book without giving too much away. Complicated, for me, is the word that best describes a meeting place for these characters; they relate with restraint, with each relationship falling short of a need. This book improves with age, and plays on your mind. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A book to be enjoyed!

    I loved the ending of this book and how it all came together. As a woman, I related to all of the characters on one level or another. It was well written and is really a book that is meant to be absorbed slowly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Read Virginia Woolf's Mrs. Dalloway first.

    Michael Cunningham succeeded in writing this adaptation of Woolf's Mrs. Dalloway. At first, I thought it was a forced and trite reproduction of Woolf's writing style, but by the end of the book I was certain he brought a refreshing originality to the novel. The story follows three women: 1923 Woolf as she is writing Mrs. Dalloway, 1949 Laura Brown as she lives her life as an unsatisfied suburban housewife, and 2001 Clarissa Vaughan whose life follows that of Clarissa Dalloway.
    The Prologue at first seemed to be too haunting, but it did settle into a moving theme of despair and regret for the rest of the novel.
    The novel can be followed easily without having read Mrs. Dalloway first, but without reading it one can very easily miss many common themes, events, and character types.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    Bookclub

    The commonality of the females issues and the diversity of their lives made this a good book club discussion. It was amazing all the different opinions that our club came up with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    at the end I am satisfied...

    There is one sentence at the end of The Hours that expresses the theme of the novel. "There's just this for consolation: an hour here or there when our lives seem, against all odds and expectations, to burst open and give us everything we've ever imagined, though everyone.....knows these hours will inevitably be followed by others, far darker and more difficult." The Hours follows a day in the life of 3 women parallel to each other as they struggle. Virginia Woolf struggles to remain sane and writing, Laura Brown struggles to feel something and to make her husband a perfect birthday cake, and Clarissa Vaughn struggles to throw her friend Richard, dying of Aids, a party. The striving of these hours comes to climax bringing the stories of these women together. I love the subtleness of this novel. The writing is wonderful and fresh. The Hours has many layers and at the end I am satisfied.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2007

    Like the book?Well the movie's even better

    The book is well-written using the technique of weaving together three characters from different time periods. The movie does a better job of demonstrating their relationships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2007

    Awesome!!!

    I really enjoyed the novel The Hours. At times the book was a bit confusing with the mutiple charactes but eventually they all came together to create a masterpiece.The movie also helped bring the characters into a new light and explain their mind sets. in short I loved this book. I think I liked the movie better though because it does better justice to the characters than the book does which in my mind seems wrong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2007

    The Hours

    Expertly divided into three tails that weave together to make a masterpiece of emotion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2007

    The Hours

    The Hours was a well written novel that became an amazing film. The film was fire compared to the novel. I highly recommend seeing the film before or after reading the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2005

    Three Women Looking for Happiness and Peace

    This story of three very different women who are at the same time very much alike is beautifully written. His style almost reads like poetry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2003

    Brings the Mundane to Life

    Very good book and a quick read. Cunningham shows that the mundane hours oflives are just that--our lives....take it or leave it. The depression and exhaustion of the three women in the book reminds me of my post-college years and I understand how hard it can be to face those seemingly blank hours of the future. Loved the way everything was swept together at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2003

    READ THIS

    I do not recommend this book to anyone who is easily bored, or who can't appreciate the beauty and the depth of a single moment in time. Cunningham impressed me with his ability to articulate with inhuman precision the complexity of emotions. He takes us through a day in the lives of three women, whose collective wish is to escape from themselves. Unfortunately, I found his style to be exceptionally wordy and at times hard to pay attention to, much less understand. It is a somewhat difficult, but utterly amazing study of thought. I also loved the movie, which is very touching, and its soundtrack, which is simply gorgeous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2003

    Beautiful

    I could say a lot about this book, but basically it is one of the few books that I have read in my lifetime that I can truly call beautiful. Only reason I didn't give it a 5 is...nobody can try to mimic Virginia Woolf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2003

    Good, but not excellent

    This novelist is truly gifted. The book is really good, I finished it in three days. However, it did not have a great effect on me like I thought it would. I was expecting more but I truly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2003

    The Hours

    I personally really enjoyed this novel. At first it seemed confusing to me but after a few chapters I realized what was going on. Mrs. Dalloway, or Clarrisa Vaughan, was my favorite character. She seemed really upbeat and happy with her life. She was still very confused but not depressed like Mrs. Brown and Mrs. Woolf. I am definitely going to go out and see the movie that just came out. I¿m curious to see how similar it is to the book. I was pretty shocked about the outcome of the novel. I was kind of upsetting to me and I wish it would have gone on a little more. I didn¿t really understand what Mrs. Brown is all depressed about. She seems like she lives a good life, but just doubts herself too much. I could relate to a lot of the feelings that both Mrs. Woolf and Mrs. Brown shared. Because of that it made me more interested in the novel. Overall I would say that it is a great book and definitely keeps you guessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2003

    Finally, A designated room.

    In The Hours, Michael Cunningham revitalizes the realism of living from day-to-day and the challenges that all humans must endure. He focuses on a very painful decision¿suicide ¿ and presents it from two perspectives: to live or to die. He utilizes prose and the best words in the best order to create a work that is two-fold, entertaining and enlightening. In this work, Cunningham also is a masterful first person narrator who utilizes time, which explores the definite possibility of external influences and how the soul may react, to illustrate that the concept of concluding ones life is not a weak but a strong choice. Nonetheless, the choice is yours. His fusion of fiction with literary history is an intellectual read and each protagonist has a decision she reveals. If you have a more than average passion for literature, then, this work will be very worthwhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    deep character study

    Three women from different eras share the commonality of the female of the species. Book editor Mrs. Clarissa Vaughan, nicknamed "Mrs. Dalloway", struggles between her professional life and her personal life in modern day New York as she plans a gala event for a friend. In 1923, Mrs. Virginia Woolf begins writing her novel Mrs. Dalloway, but by 1941 the specter of war leaves her distraught and thinking suicide. A decade later, California housewife Mrs. Laura Brown reads Woolf¿s classic Mrs. Dalloway as she wonders is that al there is to life at least with her perfect family. These three women from different ages of the twentieth century that share much in common as they encounter a haunting tedious existence as the mainstay of their daily living. Rotating points of view, Michael Cunningham provides an interesting look at historical parallelism focusing on the more things change, the more they remain the same. The three women are clearly the keys to this tale. The two fictionalized protagonists cleverly persuade the readers to believe that they were just as real as Mrs. Woolf was. Though some passages seem winded, fans of deep character studies will feel that THE HOURS is the Holy Grail of the sub-genre with its insightful yet compassionate look at three women through their stories that interact yet stand alone as reflections on their lives. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2002

    Calmly Readable.

    Reading The Hours was very enjoyable and touching. Being in the three women's days was very strange, however, it felt nice. The novel points to how sometimes people don't have to be in big trouble to think about suicide, they might do it because of the bore they feel, or regrets about the past, or bad choices. I read it because I'm a big fan of Meryl Streep's work, and The Hours is her upcoming movie. Read It.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2002

    I can totally relate!!!

    I can totally relate to this story! (to the woman in modern day) We act almost a like its scary! I loved this book I could not put it down, I fell asleep every night reading this wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2