Customer Reviews for

House

Average Rating 4
( 381 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(203)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

The Power of God......

I would recommend this book so strongly! The only thing I want to clarify before you read this amazing story is that Ted Dekker is not trying to overwhelm you with the whole 'evil theme,' he is trying to say 'quote' ,'To understand the full power of our God, it is neces...
I would recommend this book so strongly! The only thing I want to clarify before you read this amazing story is that Ted Dekker is not trying to overwhelm you with the whole 'evil theme,' he is trying to say 'quote' ,'To understand the full power of our God, it is necessary to understand the power of the evil that he conquered. I believe the book House, clearly describes that! Not only does it have a great horror story line, but it also let's us watch God's great power come among us! I also love how he sets up the spiritual world in a way where we can all relate to it and have a great view of whats really happening down here on Earth!!! After I read this book, I felt deep satisfaction and I felt closer to the Lord! **Anyone out there that is trying to figure out if God is the real thing and the answer to your life, listen to this story my mom told me: Before you where born, you knew God!You might have been playing basketball with him or you might have been planting a garden with him! You loved eachother! You lived in a world with no sin what so ever! You were 'and still are' meant to be! When one day, it was your turn to seperate from God and join the human race. 'Mother's specific quote' 'He held you in his arms and cried because he knew that you may never choose him, love or ever be with him again on Earth.' That changed the way I totally looked at things! God allows us to live on this place of sin because he wants us to make the choice whether to love him or not! I hope that made a difference! If you want to chat with me, don't be afraid to email!

posted by Anonymous on May 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Christian tract that you pay for

Peretti wrote some popular but bigoted books years ago that characterized all other faiths but Christianity as being sinister and literally demonic. There was at least an honesty in those books, because they were marketed to Evangelicals with similar fears.

You wi...
Peretti wrote some popular but bigoted books years ago that characterized all other faiths but Christianity as being sinister and literally demonic. There was at least an honesty in those books, because they were marketed to Evangelicals with similar fears.

You will like this book if your world view is shaped by Fox News, talk radio, and Christian broadcasting. Otherwise, you're probably going to find the writing somehow both juvenile and condescending.

posted by Snookered on December 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    Christian tract that you pay for

    Peretti wrote some popular but bigoted books years ago that characterized all other faiths but Christianity as being sinister and literally demonic. There was at least an honesty in those books, because they were marketed to Evangelicals with similar fears.

    You will like this book if your world view is shaped by Fox News, talk radio, and Christian broadcasting. Otherwise, you're probably going to find the writing somehow both juvenile and condescending.

    7 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2006

    Not worth the time or money

    I waited patiently, paying for it a month ahead of time before the actual release because it sounded so interesting. Very disappointed. I really enjoyed 'The Oath' and 'Three', but I cannot get through this book. Still trying. I have skipped ahead just to see how it comes out.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Boring

    The book has a good interesting start but is very repetative. The book just went in circles and was very annoying

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    Lost in a spooky old house with a madman.

    4 people lost in woods come upon an 'old' house. Lots of running around in dark underground tunnels with a completely hokey ending.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awful

    This was my first time reading a Dekker book. The plot sounded terrific. I wanted to give this a chance so I finished it. I ended up donating it for free. The best part of this book is the cover. I couldn't believe it when I learned they were making it into a movie. Now I am weary of trying out The Boneman's Daughters and Kiss.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Dekker's worst

    What a complete waste of my time and money! I am usually a fan of Mr. Dekker's work but this was Awful. Truly awful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Did not like it at all

    This is one of the worst books I have ever read. I couldn't wait to be done with it. I try my best to always finish a book once I start it. Mission accomplished...I read it but it was all I could do to keep turning the pages....blah!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2007

    psychodrivel

    This book lasted for ever and ever and was full of psycho babble. I was bored and irritated

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2006

    I can't believe...

    ...that such a terrible book could come from Frank Peretti and Ted Dekker. I am a huge fan of Peretti. My father and I between us own almost all of his books. He has such talent, and I feel it was completely wasted this time. I was so disappointed that I couldn't read more than a third of it. It's like a watered-down version of a sick and twisted horror film.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2006

    First And Last Time reading These Authors

    After listening all of the Harry Potter books, and a number of Dan Brown's thrillerson CD, to say I was disappointed in this book would be a great understatement. The characters were lacking, the plot was pointless, and the narrator Kevin King was awful. This book was BAD!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    It seemed like they were running around the house too much so I

    It seemed like they were running around the house too much so I stopped reading. :/ Liked the basis, hated the content. If you're curious, you can try it, but I'm just letting you know... I didn't get far enough to find out what the summary at the back had to do with the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Wasted my money and tme

    I read The Circle trilogy and Green and loved them. So I figured, ok he is a Christian author but those books were excellent so surely this one will be good too. Right? Wrong! The story was "ok" Nothing great but not actually horrible until the last 30-40 pages when my religious gag factor kicked in. Life is too short to read crap.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    blah

    I don't like the characterization of Southern people. I've lived in the South my whole life and haven't met people as they are described. I can't get past the first chapter.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2