Customer Reviews for

The House Next Door

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2005

    A Harrowing Haunted House Story

    WOW! It's been many years since I've read a novel as chilling and as disturbing as this one! Siddons' haunted house tale, originally published in 1978, remains as timeless today as if it had been published yesterday. I had heard of the author for some time, but it wasn't until quite recently that I heard one of her earlier works, The House Next Door, was a frightening, psychological thriller. Boy, was that ever on the mark! The prologue packs a wallop, and from there on out the book's initially slow, methodical pace picks up speed before galloping toward its unbelievably horrific conclusion! I've read thousands of novels, most of them horror, but this older work of Siddons' has catapulted itself to the top of my favorites list for its unrelenting infusion of madness and horror in what should have been a peaceful, idyllic neighborhood. You MUST read this book!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Great spooky story

    This is one of my favorite books and I was thrilled to find it available for Nook! Lifetime movies made a movie based on the book and it was pretty good too.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    AWESOME

    His book is a good book!!!!!!!
    If you want somthing enterresting, read this book!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    Excellent!

    It has all the flavor of Siddon but with an underlying sense of disquiet

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Really Good

    I really liked this book. I had seen the movie first and just had to read the book it was based on. The only thing is that I wish the ending had been a little clearer in telling what happened to Walter and Colquitt. This was a very good and easy read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2009

    Easy Read

    This book is well written. I can appreciate the humor; it brings back fond memories!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2002

    Read This Great Book!

    I could not put this book down until I finished it! Twists and turns keep you guessing all the time, a wonderful suspense book that both my husband and I enjoyed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2000

    A book you truly can't put down

    Hated finishing this wonderful book. It is different than any other Ann Rivers Siddons book Ive read before. Haunting. As in all her books the characters grab you right from the first. Makes you feel that you want to be friends with them. I just ordered two more of her older books. Please write more like this.......

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    This book keeps you guessing, A must read!

    I really enjoyed this book. It keeps you guessing, almost to the end. The characters are great! I love the neighborhood feel and the neighbors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Wow

    I am a voracious reader and I have been all my life. I love a good book and I was blown away by The House Next Door. I started and finished it on a Saturday afternoon ... I literally could not put it down. I was astonished at its original publication date: first because I had not come across it sooner, and second because of its timeless quality. It is a beautifully written "scary" story and so much more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    ..a little too much fantasy

    I've enjoyed many of Anne Rivers Siddon's books; however, this one I would not recommend - unless the reader enjoys and lot of mystery and fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    One of my favorite authors

    reads like a stephen king novel. Not sure I like that or not, but a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    Too much

    detail about everyone's lives and not enough about the house.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2005

    Too many loose ends

    A nice easy read, but not as scary as I had hoped it would be. It was more creepy and wierd than frightening. The only downfall was that there were so many loose ends left like there needed to be a few more chapters to really wrap up the story. A little disappointing...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2003

    A Must Read For Summer

    I just started reading this book. I am at the part in the book when the Harrelson's have a 'let's meet the neighbors' party. I can't stop reading this book. I recommend this book to anyone looking for a good summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2