Customer Reviews for

House Secrets (Joe DeMarco Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lawson's newest an improvement, with a surprise at the end

    I have read three of the four Joe DeMarco political thrillers. The newest, House Secrets, is an improvement (one of the two earlier efforts had a very implausible villain and was set in the Pacific Northwest and just didn't work for me). Joe's boss, the fictional Speaker of the House vaguely resembles Tip O'Neill. Lawson lets his political sympathies show--all the real-life politicians mentioned as subjects of scandal happen to be Democrats, but there is good suspense and the plot has some plausibility. There's a surprise in store at the end, which I won't spoil, but will leave you scratching your head. A fun read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    Write more books quickly!!!!

    I always look forward to these books by Mike Lawson. It is difficult to stop reading. He knows his subject, Washington D.C. and brings in other localities as well.

    Books stores should promote these books more than they do. It wasn't in my Barnes & Noble the week it came out so they had to order it for me.

    GREAT WRITING. KEEP THEM COMING!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A SUPER SMART POLITICAL THRILLER

    What a romp it is to read a Joe DeMarco story by Mike Lawson! They're comic, caustic, and chilling. His characters are described so originally that one either shivers or smiles. For instance, describing the overweight cigar chomping Speaker of the House John Fitzpatrick Mahoney poolside in swim trunks and a Hawaiian shirt, Lawson writes, "DeMarco thought he looked like a beluga whale that had crashed a luau."

    With House Secrets, the fourth in Lawson's Washington based thrillers, DeMarco has been summoned to look into the apparent drowning death of retired congressman Dick Finley's son. Finley claims his newspaper reporter son had leads on one of the hottest stories to hit the Capitol; police believe the newsman died while on a drunken kayak spin in the wee hours. Mahoney simply wanted DeMarco "to turn over a few rocks and see what crawls out."

    All DeMarco has to begin with is a torn piece of napkin covered with names and dates which was found in the reporter's wallet. After expending time and energy DeMarco thinks all the late newsman had wasn't hot at all but really very cold known news about New York Senator Paul Morelli, the great hope of the Democrats who has a spotless record and seems to be on a fast track to the White House.

    What Morelli does not have is a supportive wife. Lydia contacts DeMarco accusing her husband of the vilest acts, possibly even murder. But, everyone knows Lydia drinks to excess and drunks don't tell the truth or do they?
    What started out as looking under a few rocks has left DeMarco trying to discover what is truth and what is not as at the same time he finds himself at odds with Washington bigwigs, the CIA, and mobsters who don't appear to want to take prisoners.

    This is Lawson's best yet - a wild ride through Washington.

    - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    Another great Joe DeMarco thriller

    For fans of Mike Lawson's everyman hero Joe DeMarco, curling up with his latest political thriller, HOUSE SECRETS, is like slipping into a favorite pair of old sneakers. Only they'd better tied on tight because Joe quickly finds himself in trouble after the alcoholic wife of charismatic presidential contender Senator Paul Morelli is killed and the senator wounded in a botched burglary. Suddenly, earlier confidences shared by the inebriated wife don't seem quite so far-fetched to Joe, and as he looks into her death he finds himself at odds with powerful forces in and out of the government, without a clue as to what to do or whom to trust.

    One of the most likeable protagonists in recent memory, Joe works for Speaker of the House John Fitzpatrick Mahoney, doing whatever off-the-books tasks the irascible Mahoney needs done. To help him are familiar allies, the enigmatic retired spy Emma and her unsavory hacker associate Neil, an ingenious sleuth with no conscience and an uncanny ability to unravel even the most arcane shards of information. Neither disappoints.

    Lawson has a delicious mind and a delightfully witty writing style. His books are full of memorable characters and are laced with a wry kind of humor most welcome in this or any other genre. But it's Joe that we root for, and at the end of the day it is nice to know that our guy is still on the job, doing what he can to make the world a better place. I can't wait until the next Joe DeMarco thriller hits the stands. Great entertainment, one with an incredibly sweet, utterly huggable hero. I really, really love Joe DeMarco.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A fantastic tale filled with twists and spins that seem plausible

    The drowning at Lake Anna of the Washington Post investigative reporter Terry Finley has shaken up his father, a former Congressman who suspects foul play. Former Congressman Finley asks Speaker of the House John Mahoney for a favor to investigate his last surviving son's death; his other boy died years ago due to JFK's fiasco in Nam. Mahoney orders his investigator Joe DeMarco to look into the drowning death.-----------------

    DeMarco intevriews the retired Congressman who explains why he has doubts that an accident occurred as his son, a workaholic, was on a major story and would not have left town for a swim. The journalist was looking into the US Senator from NY Paul Morelli, the liberal front-runner for the Democratic Party nomination for president. Accepting the premise of a homicide though he doubts that happened, DeMarco assumes an embarrassing story needed to be silent, which means politicians and none better than a presidential front-runner. The sleuth soon learns that Morelli is a nasty drunk who turns into a rapist after downing a few. Worse he finds out that the senator offers to pay off his victims to silence them or if they refuse hush money silence them by having his goons kill them. Reporting his finding to Mahoney, the speaker tells him to trap the bastard only DeMarco's allies on a perfect sting are being murdered one at a time with two Feds following the Speaker's sleuth..-------------

    The latest Joe DeMarco DC investigative thriller (see HOUSE RULES) is a fantastic tale filled with twists and spins that seem plausible. The underlying concept to the exhilarating story line is Lord Acton's commentary that "Power tends to corrupt, and absolute power corrupts absolutely". Fans will enjoy DeMarco's efforts to bring down a DC giant only to soon wonder if he will survive long enough to see Morelli in spite of the evidence living in the White House. Mike Lawson's DeMarco Speaker investigations are a consistently great series.-----------

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Fantastic!

    Another page turner. Could NOT put this book down. Get a better editor--lots of mistakes that shouldn't be. The mistakes make it look a bargain basement book which it most certainly is not. I WILL be buying the next in the series. Mike Lawson, you are quite the story teller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    great series

    Consistently good series with good character development and enough twists to hold your interest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    A Must Read - Book 4 of a series

    This and the other books in Mike Lawson's Joe DeMarco Series is an action packed good entertaining read. The book is written in the typical action/ spy genre is clean and moral enough I am letting my 13 year old read.

    Highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Really Great

    This one will keep you guessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read

    I have read all 6 of the Joe DeMarco series. My only regret is that there are no more to read. They're a fast read and every one on them held my interest. I hope in the future Mike Lawson will give us more of Joe DeMarco.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    I wish there was more humor

    As always, I finish any of the DeMarco books in one sitting, because I find them impossible to put down. I do miss the humor that was employed in the first two, but it is still a very fine read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    It's no secret that I like these stories....

    Great easy reading. Good character development. Believable current event plot-lines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Absolutely dynamite

    Continuing the fascinating saga of Joe De Marco and his boss and friends, Lawson weaves a truly intriguing tale with an ending that will knock your socks off. Probably one of the most creative endings I've ever read, and I've read many.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    House Secrets

    Another DeMarco and Emma political intrigue story - another very good one. Interesting plot, well rounded characters, page-turning suspense -- and an unexpected, thought-provoking ending! It doesn't get much better than that!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    What an Ending!

    What a fantastic ending. Worth the money and time. His best book so far. Each book both the story lines and the writing improved.

    Off to buy book #5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend

    Mike writes in an easy fun style. I enjoy his Joe DeMarco series as a pleasant fiction alternative to political biographies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ART OF PREDICTICALITY

    On a clear day you can see forever. This ending you could see in a blizzard.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What A Surprise!

    This was the first Mike Lawson novel I have read, and I really liked it. it kept me going from page one. I am a fan of politics as much as books, and lately I have become more of a cynic, so this DeMarco character really worked for me. Interesting characters, a great plot, no cheap tricks, just a really good novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3