Customer Reviews for

The House With a Clock In Its Walls

Average Rating 5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    Awesome!

    I read this book with my class. As soon as I started reading it I couldn't stop reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lewis Barnevelt!!

    Great read. John Bellairs writes classic Gothic literature for children, and this Lewis Barnavelt series is my favorite of his

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    Read for Project

    For are mystery book report we got the house with a clock in it's walls.It was veary good the begging was kind of boring but then at the end youll just keep on reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2007

    The Best Book Ever!!!!!

    This is one of my all-time favorite books! It is a mystery book that will surely be one of your favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2005

    Awesome!!!

    I love this book, and all of the books in this series and by this author. John Bellairs is a marvel- he can write chilling tales that frighten you, but are at the same time historically accurate. All of his books are wonderful if you love a mystical mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2005

    Great!

    This is the book that made me into a lifelong reader. It is geared for pre/early teen, but with a story line that made me feel like I was reading 'adult' mystery stories like my mom. They really bridge the gap between what I, at the time, thought of as baby books, and adult literature. I have re-read a lot of Bellairs over the years and still enjoy them just as much. And who could resist the Gorey illustrations. They were certainly a dynamic duo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2004

    it's a pageturner

    I think this book is a good choice for anyone (of all most any age) who likes suspence with a twist of mystic for the fun of a different kind of world to escape to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2004

    a great book!!!!

    I kept telling my mom i did not want to read the book because i thought that the book was scary! But when i read it, i couldn't put it down!!!!! This book is perfect for 11 year olds!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2002

    House With The Clock in it's Walls was a spectacular book.

    House With The Clock in it's Walls was full of surprises and excitement. If I were to rate it 1 to 5. 5 being the best I would rate it 5. There wasn't one bad part in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2002

    If you want a good book to read this is the one.

    I thought this book was great. It is a real great book. If you want to get spooked this is the book for you. I would recommend this book to kids that don't like doing book reports because this is the one and only time I actually like doing a book report. Just wait to you read it. I would tell you about it but I dont want to ruin your chance of reading a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2002

    Very good

    A book that shows that some times kids will go to no limit to fit in. An enjoyable read that shows what cause and effect really mean. I would not read this book if you get spooked real easy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2002

    Really Good

    This book was really god. It has suspence and fright in it. I think it should of won an award. Some parts were stupid, other parts were really really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2001

    House with a Clock in Its Walls

    The House With the Clock in its Walls is awsome!! There is a car chase,there are witches fighting, magic, and some weird charecters like Hammerhandle, MissZimmerman and Selena. The two main charecters are Lewis and Jonathin.The House With the Clock in its Walls is the best ghost story/mystry book there is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2001

    House with a Clock in Its Walls

    I think this book was really adventurous,with all the spooky magic,car chases,witch battles,people riaising people from the dead, and a strange ticking in the walls. I would read this book any time,any where,and I think you would too. Oh,one more thing I'll never forget this book,ever!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2001

    House with a Clock in Its Walls

    Wow, if you like tense book's you'll really find The House with the clock in it's Walls a very cool book.It has car chasings and ticking in the walls!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2002

    FABULOUS

    GREAT BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2001

    Cool!

    This is the book that my teacher, Ms. Aycock has been reading to me. The funniest script was 'How dare you say such things to me.'. It was so funny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2001

    I remember reading this book in middle school...

    I'm a senior in high school now and I still remember reading this book. I read it in middle school and ended up buying a lot of this guy's books. There's another one, The Ghost in the Mirror *?* I think that is what it was called, you oughtta get that one too. :P OH, AND The Witches was another spooky great from my younger days. This is the BEST book ever to read to your kids. They'll LOVE it, guaranteed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2001

    Can't Beat Bellairs

    Bellairs is the best! The House with a Clock in Its Walls is a fantastic book, but all of his books have to be read! Bellairs is an absolute master of gothic stories with one of the best cast of characters I have ever come across. You'll be hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2001

    Good Book

    This book takes you into the mind of a little boy who is just starting a new life but a life that is full of mystery and questions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2