Customer Reviews for

House and Home

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

House and Home hits a home run

Kathleen McCleary¿s novel ¿House & Home¿ is a delightful book. She describes places and people in such detail you feel you are there. The dialogue flows easily. If you are afraid of seeing yourself in the various characters of the book, you won¿t like it. If you are...
Kathleen McCleary¿s novel ¿House & Home¿ is a delightful book. She describes places and people in such detail you feel you are there. The dialogue flows easily. If you are afraid of seeing yourself in the various characters of the book, you won¿t like it. If you are not afraid to examine and relate to the characters in the book, you will love it and keep thinking about it. Don¿t be surprised if you forget that it is work of fiction and not a true story. If you like to laugh and don¿t mind a good cry you won¿t be disappointed. It is a must read for all us 40ish Moms living in Portland, Oregon, and a great read for the rest of you.

posted by Anonymous on July 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not Recommended

I'm very surprised to read these glowing reviews. I found this book to shallow and unrealistic. I could not relate to any of the characters in the slightest. But I guess that's what I get for buying a book based on the jacket cover!

posted by 1167822 on May 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Excellent

    This is one of those books you keep thinking about months after you have finished. Excellent ;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    One of the few books of all time that I remember the title and r

    One of the few books of all time that I remember the title and recommend over and over.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A different angle about a troubled marriage...

    Ellen's husband is a great guy; no love affairs, good father. Why does she ask him to leave home? Because he has them in terrible debt. Their house is sold to a couple she doesn't like and she decides to burn it down. Easy reading...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book expressed the depth many women feel about their homes. They are not just houses, but places we place our hearts as we see our family grow.

    Overall, the characters were believable and vividly described. However, those of us that have made a house a home, would never want to burn it down if we couldn't stay there ourselves. We may not be able to imagine someone else occupying any part of our home, but each corner is sacred and the memory will still live on when we depart. I think the book would have been better if the main character had tried a different means of separating herself from the house. However, it did express the importance between stsying together as a family unit versus being apart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    Not Recommended

    I'm very surprised to read these glowing reviews. I found this book to shallow and unrealistic. I could not relate to any of the characters in the slightest. But I guess that's what I get for buying a book based on the jacket cover!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    House and Home hits a home run

    Kathleen McCleary¿s novel ¿House & Home¿ is a delightful book. She describes places and people in such detail you feel you are there. The dialogue flows easily. If you are afraid of seeing yourself in the various characters of the book, you won¿t like it. If you are not afraid to examine and relate to the characters in the book, you will love it and keep thinking about it. Don¿t be surprised if you forget that it is work of fiction and not a true story. If you like to laugh and don¿t mind a good cry you won¿t be disappointed. It is a must read for all us 40ish Moms living in Portland, Oregon, and a great read for the rest of you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    close to home

    The feelings explored by the main character in this novel actually made me cry because they hit me so close to home -- I have felt the ambivalence of separating from my husband in this very way. I was still up reading this book at 2am last night!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    Warm, Witty, Engaging

    A wonderful read. Deals with many interesting and complex issues of how we deal with crisis (often by projecting our anger and hurt feelings on other people and objects). Beautiful and loving depictions of Oregon and the Pacific Northwest (I lived in Seattle for a while... this book made me homesick). Warm and witty, with some wonderful characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    A reviewer

    Pride myself in predicting plot and found this book unpredictably fun, good dialogue, humorous, and yet heartwarming. Enjoyed the fact that it was 259, 5'x7' pages so just right for someone who is grabbing an hour or two with a good book. I was surprised to find out this was the author's first book...highly recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    This HOUSE is truly a HOME for GOOD READING!

    My Review of HOUSE AND HOME by Kathleen McCleary-- Submitted by Karen Haney: Kathleen McCleary¿s first novel, House and Home, reverberates with devotion and passion from the first page when we read about main character Ellen¿s feelings about her house, her home: ¿¿because of all this history with the house, all the parts of her life unfolding there day after day for so many years, that Ellen decided to burn it down.¿ Ms. McCleary draws the reader in right there! Raised in a home that later was mine when I married, I spent 45 years of my life there, so I fervently identify with Ellen¿s feeling. Despite all the positives that came with our move, there was that feeling of personal possession just like Ellen had which made turning my house over to the new buyers a heart wrenching experience. House and Home is about Ellen Flanagan¿s marriage, which is at the heart of the story that lives in this charming yellow Cape Cod home in Oregon. Ellen¿s years of loyalty to her husband Sam has led them all over the country to follow his dream of inventing THE next best discovery for mankind! Sam feels they need to live where the invention would be best used and so every mishap is followed by a new idea and a new address. Finally, Ellen convinces Sam to let them put down roots so they can have a family and she can fulfill her dream of owning a decorating business. That dream plays out in Portland in the very house that they now find they are forced to sell. With his newest invention, a baby beeper, Sam wants to move again to a better test market, and this results in Ellen and Sam separating as Ellen can¿t do it one more time. She does not want to give up all they have in their home, in their lives. The painful sale of the house is a result of Sam losing so much money on this newest project. It is at this point that the action really takes off, and you can¿t put this book down as you live, laugh, and experience Ellen¿s misguided, but desperately well intended, plot to keep her home after all. Ann Douglas once said, ¿Home is an invention on which no one has yet improved.¿ Unfortunately, THIS is not the invention Sam made and so the house must be sold to pay off the debts. Ellen¿s dealing with this and the new insufferable buyers is a fun ride and read. Kathleen McCleary does a splendid job of developing characters that the reader cares about and can relate to. The story is clever and funny, but also tugs at your heartstrings. The story contains delightfully unexpected twists and turns that lead to a surprise ending most will never see coming! This treasured first novel makes one eager for Ms. McCleary¿s next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Blaze

    Is an animal home or a quest HQ? I am great at fighting.*my stomach rumbles* is that a rabbit i see? Yum!*i eat the rabbit*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Scar

    A large ocelot lumbers in.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Bluecrystal

    Bluecrystal the dragon flys in. She blows a ring of golden fire around herself.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Dawn

    Flew after mindie.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Cedar

    The white rabbit watches the other animals

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Salina

    *the fox waits*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Sagestar the cat

    What is this about?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    PARTY

    At partay result two

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Piper

    Eliza go to crstal cave result one thats where are quest is. Bye!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Crystal

    Wow! So many animals came!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2