Customer Reviews for

The House at Riverton

Average Rating 4
( 880 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(377)

4 Star

(326)

3 Star

(122)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Mesmerizing & emotional

For me, this was on of the best novels I have read in some time. In order to truly like this book, you must enjoy a good story. Good stories aren't always filled with suspense and drama. The ending is a wonderful one but sometimes to enjoy the end you must know the begi...
For me, this was on of the best novels I have read in some time. In order to truly like this book, you must enjoy a good story. Good stories aren't always filled with suspense and drama. The ending is a wonderful one but sometimes to enjoy the end you must know the beginning. The majority of the book is allowing you to get to know the characters, their relationships, and this is what makes the ending so emotional & satisfying. This is a spectacular debut from a new author who is able to allow us to see the past through the memories of an older woman. We see life through the eyes of a service girl dedicated to the lady she works for. A girl who kept a secret her entire life and finally shares it with the reader. It's been a long time since I felt such emotion after finishing a book.

posted by JerseyAngel on September 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Really disappointed

The House at Riverton was the first book I'd read by this author. This was not the book for me. I found it very boring and slow, and depressing. It was like reading a soap opera. Lots of characters, to the point that it was a little confusing for me. Some of them seemed...
The House at Riverton was the first book I'd read by this author. This was not the book for me. I found it very boring and slow, and depressing. It was like reading a soap opera. Lots of characters, to the point that it was a little confusing for me. Some of them seemed unnecessary. As much as there was going on in this book, nothing really happened. And I was looking forward to reading The Forgotten Garden, but after this experience with this book and author....maybe not.

posted by 4549926 on November 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 880 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 44
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mesmerizing & emotional

    For me, this was on of the best novels I have read in some time. In order to truly like this book, you must enjoy a good story. Good stories aren't always filled with suspense and drama. The ending is a wonderful one but sometimes to enjoy the end you must know the beginning. The majority of the book is allowing you to get to know the characters, their relationships, and this is what makes the ending so emotional & satisfying. This is a spectacular debut from a new author who is able to allow us to see the past through the memories of an older woman. We see life through the eyes of a service girl dedicated to the lady she works for. A girl who kept a secret her entire life and finally shares it with the reader. It's been a long time since I felt such emotion after finishing a book.

    32 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Exciting and Fascinating!

    THE HOUSE AT RIVERTON is a historical novel and revolves around a suicide. In 1924 a young poet apparently killed himself on the Riverton property. Ninety eight year old Grace tells the story and alternates between past and present. There's a lot of secrecy and suspense and keeps the reader guessing until the very end. A movie producer becomes fascinated with the story of the troubled poet. In her research she learns that a Riverton maid is still alive in a nursing home, (Grace). A mystery and a love story, plenty of twists and turns, readers unravel the mystery. Exciting!

    28 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    There are only few books with a great storyline. This was one of

    There are only few books with a great storyline. This was one of them. A great summer read.

    24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If you love historical fiction....

    I love historical novels and this one did not disappoint. I love how that book is narrarated. The characters are interesting and suprise you right up until the end. I love how the characters are connected. I only wish Grace could have told us a bit more about the later years of her life (not that they mattered). Overall a great read.

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    Great Read

    This is my first book by Kate Morton. I must say, I do love this period and this type of book. It was a little slow to get going but well worth it. Once this story got moving, I could not put it down. I love mysteries as well and thought I had this one figured out as there is a "who done it" theme to this book. Well, I did to a point have it figured out, but there was a twist at the end the surprised me. Actually, there were a few twists at the end that were welcome surprises. I can't wait to read The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton. Since I don't like when people review a book and give away the entire plot, all I will say is I highly recommend this book. Enjoyed the writing style as well.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    Really disappointed

    The House at Riverton was the first book I'd read by this author. This was not the book for me. I found it very boring and slow, and depressing. It was like reading a soap opera. Lots of characters, to the point that it was a little confusing for me. Some of them seemed unnecessary. As much as there was going on in this book, nothing really happened. And I was looking forward to reading The Forgotten Garden, but after this experience with this book and author....maybe not.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Kate Morton-My New Favorite Author

    I started with Forgotten Garden which was her second book, and loved it, so I ordered House At Riverton and am 3/4 of the way through, and love it, too. They are both tales of the rich and privleged of the past, but also very much of the have-nots, also. They both have deep mysteriss, and do not telegraph where they are going. They mix a little of the present in too so you have that contrast, like what was done in the movie"Titanic". Her stories are rich in atmosphere and descrption of another time. It takes a few pages to get into the tale, but is very rewarding. I will buy anything from Kate Morton from now on.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Interesting and Intriguing...

    I enjoyed the plot, the characters and the drama catpured in this book. It makes me want to be that interesting as an old woman minus the regrets and reiterates that we all have secrets.

    Another enjoyable book of Kate Morton is The Secret Garden... which I read first and found to be better than The House at Riverton.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Perseverance is required, but worth it in the end...

    I must admit I nearly gave up reading this novel after about the first 100 pages. It just seemed to long-winded. I think it definitely could have been shorter, too many words and too many characters, some were just not needed!! Having said that though, if you persevere it does get better. It took me a long time to read, I found I could only read it one chunk at a time, but I thought the ending was perfect, maybe the best ending to a book I have read in a long time. Kate Morton is undoubtedly a very talented writer and a lot of effort has gone into writing this book. It's worth reading just to get to the 'secret' at the end. If you like romantic fiction, with a bit of history thrown in then this one is for you

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    The House at Riverton is amazing. The plot is exceptional and we

    The House at Riverton is amazing. The plot is exceptional and well thought out. Somewhat predictable at some parts, but in a good way because the story flowed. The characters were well written and didn't change (unless you count growing up). I couldn't stop reading because I really wanted to know what happened. I fell in love with a few characters, even one that didn't last long in the book. Another great thing about this book was the setting. I'm absolutely in love with England, especially in the past.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Intellectally stimulating!

    Just up my alley, although I'm usually not that into historical novels, I loved this. Done in retrospect is fascinating and secrets revealed cleverly kept me intrigued. Another book I'd like to recommend that I'm absolutely in love with is EXPLOSION IN PARIS, by LINDA MASEMORE PIRRUNG! It has all the profound insights into the human condition with, conlicts, tragedies, endurance, but also pure joy, and fullfillment that can't be measured! Check out the reviews! They hooked ME big time!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    beautifully written

    the story unfolds beautifully with the reader having knowledge of some tragedy at the end. What I loved about the book is that you really didnt know how that tragedy would come to be.
    lovely descriptive words, interesting characters and easy to follow jumps from past to present.
    Loved it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great first book and great technique.

    Really enjoyed this book for it's character development and blending of old with the new. Gives a wonderful portrayal of an era of change and the class system of servitude in Victorian times and how the war changed that. Not a fast moving novel but the writers descriptive forces are amazing. I liked this author so much I bought the new one The Forgotten Garden, it's even better.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Had such promise but not met in the end

    This was a book to forget. The setting, time frame and characters all seemed interesting. I stayed up late a number of nights reading and hoping it would be a satisfying ending. In the end I simply didn't feel moved by the spoiled rich people and their servants.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    OK

    I have rather contradictory feelings about this book. Well written, but very slow paced. While I found the premise of the story and the characters interesting, slow development of the story often allowed my attention to wander. I'd catch myself having read a page without really reading it. Had this not been the selection my book club was reading, I probably would not have finished it. That would have been a shame because the last part of the book was very good. In all fairness, there were members of my book club who thoroughly enjoyed THE HOUSE AT RIVERTON.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    Wonderful!

    The storyline goes back and forth from the present and past, which I found intriguing. I couldn't wait to find out what she was dictating to her grandson, unravelling the secrets of the Hartford family, and also the twist relating to her life! I loved the characters, and felt sad when I finished the book. I can't wait to read her new novel, The Forgotten Garden!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow.

    This book was... intense. I enjoy Morton's writing style very much, and this book was excellent. The ending left me amazed, and a little sad. I do believe her other novel The Forgotten Garden is better, this story was great. I loved Grace, and her strength, Hannah and her secrets, and Robbie and his love. I recomend this book to anyone!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this book!

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. It has a good story and well drawn characters. What I enjoyed most, however, was the fascinating peek into the lives of servants in an early 20th century English mansion, especially the way they viewed their employers and their jobs. It was such a different way of life than today, and their attitudes were so different than what we would have today were we in their positions. I highly recommend this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2009

    good read, good detail...looking forward to reading other book(s) by this author

    this was a good read, with enough text dedicated to surroundings and fashion to help put reader in the time period, and an engaging character that is followed from the the early 1900's to "old age" presant.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointing

    I'd seen so many positive reviews of this novel that I was eager to read it. Unfortunately, the story is so heavily padded with non-essential plot that the entire telling becomes awkward and the tale just lumbers along. By the time I got to the story's climax, I simply didn't care any more. Certainly it's light and easy summer reading, and Morton pulls out some attractive turns of phrase, but overall, I was just bored.

    For truly worthy, well-plotted Gothics, try DuMaurier's Rebecca or Byatt's Possession.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 880 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 44