Customer Reviews for

The House at Riverton: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 880 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(377)

4 Star

(326)

3 Star

(123)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Mesmerizing & emotional

For me, this was on of the best novels I have read in some time. In order to truly like this book, you must enjoy a good story. Good stories aren't always filled with suspense and drama. The ending is a wonderful one but sometimes to enjoy the end you must know the begi...
For me, this was on of the best novels I have read in some time. In order to truly like this book, you must enjoy a good story. Good stories aren't always filled with suspense and drama. The ending is a wonderful one but sometimes to enjoy the end you must know the beginning. The majority of the book is allowing you to get to know the characters, their relationships, and this is what makes the ending so emotional & satisfying. This is a spectacular debut from a new author who is able to allow us to see the past through the memories of an older woman. We see life through the eyes of a service girl dedicated to the lady she works for. A girl who kept a secret her entire life and finally shares it with the reader. It's been a long time since I felt such emotion after finishing a book.

posted by JerseyAngel on September 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Really disappointed

The House at Riverton was the first book I'd read by this author. This was not the book for me. I found it very boring and slow, and depressing. It was like reading a soap opera. Lots of characters, to the point that it was a little confusing for me. Some of them seemed...
The House at Riverton was the first book I'd read by this author. This was not the book for me. I found it very boring and slow, and depressing. It was like reading a soap opera. Lots of characters, to the point that it was a little confusing for me. Some of them seemed unnecessary. As much as there was going on in this book, nothing really happened. And I was looking forward to reading The Forgotten Garden, but after this experience with this book and author....maybe not.

posted by 4549926 on November 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 326 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted March 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Perseverance is required, but worth it in the end...

    I must admit I nearly gave up reading this novel after about the first 100 pages. It just seemed to long-winded. I think it definitely could have been shorter, too many words and too many characters, some were just not needed!! Having said that though, if you persevere it does get better. It took me a long time to read, I found I could only read it one chunk at a time, but I thought the ending was perfect, maybe the best ending to a book I have read in a long time. Kate Morton is undoubtedly a very talented writer and a lot of effort has gone into writing this book. It's worth reading just to get to the 'secret' at the end. If you like romantic fiction, with a bit of history thrown in then this one is for you

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great first book and great technique.

    Really enjoyed this book for it's character development and blending of old with the new. Gives a wonderful portrayal of an era of change and the class system of servitude in Victorian times and how the war changed that. Not a fast moving novel but the writers descriptive forces are amazing. I liked this author so much I bought the new one The Forgotten Garden, it's even better.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow.

    This book was... intense. I enjoy Morton's writing style very much, and this book was excellent. The ending left me amazed, and a little sad. I do believe her other novel The Forgotten Garden is better, this story was great. I loved Grace, and her strength, Hannah and her secrets, and Robbie and his love. I recomend this book to anyone!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Delicious Tale of Family Intrigue Reminiscent of Downton Abbey

    Fans of late Edwardian dramas, this richly detailed and finely crafted novel is for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    Another Morton classic!

    The House at Riverton did not disappoint! After reading The Forgotten Garden, I thought I'd give Morton another try. I may like this one better!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Novel for A Quiet Afternoon

    I love this author - her first book was fantastic and, because of that, I bought this one to see if i could recapture the feeling I got from the first one. Even though it wasn't as reviting, I thought this was a very good story - I could get into the characters and the ending was a bit of a surprise!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The "House at Riverton" by Kate Morton, is a fast-moving, dramatic story set in the turn of the century. As the story unfolds, the reader is invited to share a life-style and its secrets that were the privilege of the aristocratic English.

    The "House at Riverton" is set against the background of the first World War and tells the story of Grace, a servant at Riverton House, who served the Hartford family and has kept a family secret that will haunt her till her dying day. The two glamorous and wilful sisters in the story, Hannah and Emmeline, make desperate choices that will affect their family and those around them.

    Grace epitomizes the loyal servant of a bygone time, of a privileged age, and of bitter-sweet memories of relationships during the war. Her story is inextricably linked with that of the family she served, as she spends her last days in a nursing home. The events of 1924 are recreated through the lens of the film company who are producing a film about the mysterious events that occurred that year.

    The secret that Grace has held on to all these years is finally told, and the story comes full circle at the end. A very enjoyable read, that holds the reader's attention throughout the telling of the tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    House at Riverton

    Haunting tale...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    The House at Riverton

    The Forgotten Garden also by this author is superior and not to be missed.That said, I thoroughly enjoyed this book as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Nice!

    I enjoyed this book, took alittle longer than normal to get thrue. But i liked the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    I really did enjoy this book.  I read the author's other book, t

    I really did enjoy this book.  I read the author's other book, the Distant Hours, which I think I liked better than this one.  There are several twists and turns at the very end -- this apparently the author's signature writing style, as all of her books appear to be structured this way -- but there are a few plotlines I would have liked to hear more about.  For starters, I would have liked to hear more about Grace's mother and the "unfortunate business" between her and Mr. Frederick, and how it landed Grace in her position at Riverton.  I would have also liked to know more about Grace's life post-Riverton, considering she became so interesting in her later years!  There was also one point in the story which I couldn't  seem to reconcile.  Ursula's grandmother -- whose identity is revealed in a brief moment towards the end of the book -- supposedly believed that her father died in WW1.  However, Ursula's grandmother was born YEARS after WW1 ended...so how could she have possibly believed the story she was told about her journey from England to America??  Regardless of this minor snag, I really enjoyed the story.  My heart hurt for Grace and her awkward interactions with Alfred after he returned from the war.  I love the description Kate Morton gives of the old English manors...I can picture the fountains and windows; I can hear the crunching of the gravel driveway.  All in all a good read.  **Important though:  I began reading this book and found it boring in the first 100 or so pages.  I put it away for a solid two months, and then one day I decided I was in the mood for a good English manor story.  I picked this up again and finished in in 2 days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful London period piece. Some of the little details were

    Wonderful London period piece. Some of the little details were too similar to Downton Abbey (the scullery maid being very flighty, the oldest daughter taking shorthand lessons). On the whole, it was a wonderful book, giving you a look at the lives of females in that era. The book progressed over a number of years, showing the changes in society during those decades. You knew the ending from the beginning of the book, but it was the journey of the characters that held your attention and kept you reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    A great read!

    Written in a riveting way that holds one's attention throughout its entirety.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Recommend

    This was the second book by Morton that I read. I like historical based books, so I enjoyed this one. I agree with other reviewers that this book started slowly, but I zipped through the last 100 pages as all the pieces were falling into place. The secret at the end of this book doesn't have as many surprises as Morton's The Secret Keeper, but still good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    I love Kate Morton books, and this was another good one. It was

    I love Kate Morton books, and this was another good one. It was my least favorite of hers that I've read so far because the story wasn't as exciting, but I enjoyed this story from the point of view of a housemaid/lady's maid. I felt that I got to know a few of the characters very well, and understood their relationships with each other and their hopes and dreams. It left me wondering how so many people in one family can get to the point where they are so miserable that they just want to die. It shows that money doesn't buy everything!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    A maybe.

    I read about 1/3 into this book and just could not get into it. Seemed rather boring to me. I might give it another try in the future. My motto for reading is, if it doesn't get my attention quickly, then I move on to another book. No use wasting precious time...too many other good books to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Loved this book!

    This is a page turner... a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Enjoyable

    An easy, enthralling read. Time well spent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Good historical fiction

    Great characters and twists

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Good read!

    This is a wonderful story, Well written. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 326 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17