Customer Reviews for

The House at Tyneford

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Historical Fiction Fans Will Enjoy!

    if you are looking for a read that makes you feel as if you are right there in the story and not just reading it, look no farther.

    Elise is used to the comfy life in Vienna. When that life is threathened by the growing events of WW2, she is sent to be a parlor maid in England. Life at Tyneford is hard to adjsut to, but it all changes when she becomes friends with Kit, the son of Tyneford's owner. They fall in love & intend to marry. Before they do, Kit goes off to fight in the war. Alise & Kit's father are forced to leanon one another to get through the roller coeaster of the war.

    From being shot at by an enemy plane, to being taken by the police, & the discrimination, The House At Tyneford takes you through everything having to do with the war.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    Loved it!!

    I absolutely loved this book and hated for it to end. Hopefully there will be a sequel. If you loved "Upstairs, Downstairs" and "Downton Abbey" you will not be disappointed with this read.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Great Read

    This book started out slow for me but, by mid-way through, I couldn't put it down!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Check it out

    Wow! This novel had me hooked from the get-go! I could hardly put it down! It is pretty dense with clues and hints about what is going on so it took a while to read. But it is wonderfully written. And now that I have finished it - I am starting over!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Great Book

    I loved this book, it was one of those books you just don't want to end. It takes you away to another place and time. Excellent book...

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    A beautiful story was told from beginning to end, now one of my

    A beautiful story was told from beginning to end, now one of my favorite books!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Wonderful book. I had just finished reading "Beasts in the Garden" and this was a good follow-up book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    What a great read!!

    I couldn't put this book down. Except when I was nearing the last chapters I would stop reading for a few minutes (I didn't want the story to end) but I needed to know what was to happen so I began reading again
    to the end

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    Excellent book!!  (listened to the audio version)  Well written

    Excellent book!!  (listened to the audio version)  Well written and a stellar job by the narrator. Hated for it to end. NS is my new favorite author.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Good

    I didn't think I was going to like this book but it was actually very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Great read

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Great characters, plot and ending. If you enjoy WWII british novels read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    I truly enjoyed this book!  It was a wonderful read, realistic a

    I truly enjoyed this book!  It was a wonderful read, realistic and descriptive as a whole.  I did sort of guess what was going to transpire from the beginning of the book, but it was so interesting to see how one growing up with servants becomes a servant themselves.  Living a contradiction and in some sort of limbo.  I found the sister to be a bit dramatic, especially in regards to her actions towards the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Loved it!

    Engrossing and nostalgic story! My new favorite!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    Elise's world turns upside down when she must leave everything a

    Elise's world turns upside down when she must leave everything and everyone she knows and become a parlor made at Tyneford house.  She's homesick for her family and her customs and finds that she does not fit in with the help or with the family of the house.  Elise's journey is one of growth and reflection.




    Overall...
    I really enjoyed this read but this is not your typical historical fiction or WWII read.  The writing and story reads like classic literature and the setting seems more secondary.  So if you choose books based on the genre, I'd take note.




    On the story...
    Again, I enjoyed the story and the character development.  The writing stands out above the rest and Ms. Solomons pays great attention to detail without bogging down the story.  There is little focus on the war but there is much tragedy and this is a sad story.  At first I was a little bothered by the romance in this story but upon reflection it did fit.  For the most part, I never really knew where the story was going.  I didn't know if the resolution would be the ending of the war or reuniting (or not) with her family.  Ultimately, it ended up being a coming of age story but it bothered me that I really couldn't tell as I was listening.




    On the narrator...
    At first I was quite disconnected from Ms. Eyre because I felt Elise sounded too old but then I realized that Elise is telling her story when she is much older and reflecting on her youth.  This realization put the story in perspective and I enjoyed listening.  Ms. Eyre does a fantastic job with the different accents and I really felt like I was there as the story took place.




    Read this if you enjoy classic literature or coming of age stories.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Mark

    Kicks a rock and walks out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Totally engaging, hard to put down

    Facinating look at life during war time and the world of upper class and servants. Descriptive writing paints vivid pictures in the reader's mind. Enjoyed the rugged seaside setting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    This book is warm and charming. Your heart will ache for Elise

    This book is warm and charming.
    Your heart will ache for Elise when she experiences heartache and leap for joy when unexpected happiness arrives.
    Not only does Elise transform, but so does Tyneford House. I never thought I could feel sad for an inanimate object like a house, but I was.
    I hated being done with it - I may just read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Good historical fiction.

    Easy read; enjoyable characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Horrible ending!!!

    Spoiler***
    Kit dies! Sad and tragic...just wrong

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    The house of Tyneford

    Very easy to read and I did enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4