Customer Reviews for

The House at Tyneford

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    Loved it!!

    I absolutely loved this book and hated for it to end. Hopefully there will be a sequel. If you loved "Upstairs, Downstairs" and "Downton Abbey" you will not be disappointed with this read.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Check it out

    Wow! This novel had me hooked from the get-go! I could hardly put it down! It is pretty dense with clues and hints about what is going on so it took a while to read. But it is wonderfully written. And now that I have finished it - I am starting over!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Great Book

    I loved this book, it was one of those books you just don't want to end. It takes you away to another place and time. Excellent book...

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    A beautiful story was told from beginning to end, now one of my

    A beautiful story was told from beginning to end, now one of my favorite books!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Wonderful book. I had just finished reading "Beasts in the Garden" and this was a good follow-up book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    What a great read!!

    I couldn't put this book down. Except when I was nearing the last chapters I would stop reading for a few minutes (I didn't want the story to end) but I needed to know what was to happen so I began reading again
    to the end

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    Excellent book!!  (listened to the audio version)  Well written

    Excellent book!!  (listened to the audio version)  Well written and a stellar job by the narrator. Hated for it to end. NS is my new favorite author.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Great read

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Great characters, plot and ending. If you enjoy WWII british novels read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Loved it!

    Engrossing and nostalgic story! My new favorite!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Mark

    Kicks a rock and walks out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Totally engaging, hard to put down

    Facinating look at life during war time and the world of upper class and servants. Descriptive writing paints vivid pictures in the reader's mind. Enjoyed the rugged seaside setting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    The house of Tyneford

    Very easy to read and I did enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Wonderful!

    Wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    The House at Tyneford is set against the backdrop of a world pre

    The House at Tyneford is set against the backdrop of a world preparing for war. Word War II fiction is not particularly hard to find, but this novel is particularly lovely. It involves a protagonist (not strikingly beautiful), a city (not showing its best face) and a storyline which progresses casually, not at breakneck speed (a regrettable trend these days). So, this is a good, old-fashioned novel which luxuriates in thoughtful plot, fine dialogue and provocative characters.
    For all I know, Ms. Solomon anguished over every word, every punctuation mark in her narrative of 1930s Europe; but I doubt it. Her storytelling seems as natural as my grandmother charming me with tales of her native Ireland. The House at Tyneford is that kind of story. It's personalized, atmospheric, satisfying, unforgettable. I would like to see a sequel.
    FOr al

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    A very enjoyable read, that puts you into the life of the charac

    A very enjoyable read, that puts you into the life of the characters, the author did amazing research for the book, that builds a beautiful, elegant, but homely world that just makes you wish you were there!! An absolute must read for anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Good read

    Lovely story. Easy read and great character development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Highly Recommended World War II Historical Fiction

    This is a beautifully written historical fiction that I enjoyed reading so much. I recommend it for everyone but especially lovers of World War II history. I congratulate the author for creating such a beautiful story based on real history!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    Highly Recommend - great reading

    I read this book as a selection from one of the two book clubs I am part of. I would absolutely recommend it to the book club that hasn't read it yet. I loved the characters, found them to be very real and the story was so heartbreaking for the young Elise to be torn away from her family at such a young age to escape Vienna. I found it so interesting that I had trouble putting it down. I have it on my Nook Color and had the Nook with me at all times, grocery shopping lines, waiting for water to boil when cooking, in the car when I was waiting for someone to come out that I was taking somewhere, doctors offices, etc. Natasha Solomons writes vividly, and you can picture the petals on the roses, the white caps on the waves, etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    A Must Read

    I didnt want this book to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    I loved this book! I wanted to read really fast, to find out wh

    I loved this book! I wanted to read really fast, to find out what happened, but I made myself read slowly to savor each page!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2