Customer Reviews for

House Of Blood

Average Rating 3.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    could not finish

    the author is good but sometimes he is just get over board with the sex, with the swearing, i mean torture...way over board on that...this had it all...the writing was ok not the greatest...boxes at each sentence when someone spoke...you could not tell when some talked...this is another reason i stopped reading it..

    i do not mind sex in books or even torture but this one went too overboard...but if its ur cup of tea then enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2006

    Awful couldn't get into it

    This is the first book I read by this Author, I wasn't sure if I was reading an 'adult' book if you get my drift or a horror. and once I finally got into some of the horror it was just poorly written, hard to follow and very hard to visualize what he was writing about

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2005

    Different

    Later, the ones left alive would agree they never should have turned off that dark stretch of Tennessee interstate. They were tired and tense, two guys and three girls arguing over a vacation gone bad. But things were about to get worse for the five young friends. Much, much worse. In fact, most of them would never see the highway again. The woods were dark and forbidding, filled with unseen dangers and inhuman sounds. The light in the distance promised sanctuary from the grasping terrors. Instead, the light lured the travelers to the very heart of evil, a house at the endtrance of Hell, a house that held only torture, depravity and - for the lucky ones -death. When the front door closes, the screaming begins! This book was a lot different than I thought it would be. I thought it was creative. I liked some of the magic and supernatural stuff. If this were to happen in real life, I bet this authors description of Below would be true, every person for themselves, do what you have to do to survive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2005

    Got a lot more than I expected

    I really enjoyed House of Blood. I got a whole lot more than I expected from it. It was truly a pleasure to read. The story starts off fast and never lets up. I loved the pace of this book. I found myself flying through it, and I was sad to see it end. I was really wrapped in the story. I thought that the characters were very well developed, and I didn't find any of them wooden or stale. I found myself falling in love with some, and loathing others. I think the character development was one of the strongest aspects of this story. The part I think I loved most though was the story itself. It is a whole lot deeper than I expected to be. I realized about a hundred pages in that I was going to be getting a whole lot more than I bargained for. It is very original. I think the cover was very deceiving on this one. I highly recommend House of Blood to anyone who loves a good Horror Novel with a twist. I think if you give it a try you will like it as much as me. Five Stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2005

    very good

    i just finished this book! it was a great read! go get it! read it! i'm sure you'll enjoy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2005

    Better fantasy than horror

    However , a good mix. Lots of blood , guts and gore with explicit sex. If your into horror, fantasy,and a good scare, you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2004

    A BOOK FULL OF HORROR AND SUSPENSE

    It took me about a week to read this book, and it was pretty good. Full of suprises, horror, and violence, Bryan Smith keeps your attention all the way through. This book stays at a steady pace and doesn't bore you. A good horror book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2004

    Best horror debut of 2004

    You won't read a better horror novel this year! After reading House of Blood I was blown away that this was a first novel--it sure didn't read like a debut, but it IS a debut by horror author Bryan Smith. If Stephen King fans are a little dissapointed with his writing lately--then look no further: House of Blood maybe the book that you need to read then. Bryan Smith reminds me of an younger King in his prime. I think Smith will bring back an edge that the horror genre has been missing as of late. Read House of Blood for yourself and feel the magic of a new novelist in the horror genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1