Customer Reviews for

House of Chains (Malazan Book of the Fallen Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    TERRITORY MARKER

    PRIDE OF THE FALLEN LAND! TRESPASSERS WILL BE DEALT WITH HARSHLY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    B

    o.o
    <br>
    o

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    Amazing continuation of an already stellar story

    If you haven't already become enmeshed within the sprawling story as of yet, this book will probably become the make or break point in the series. You'll either grow to love the concept of the shaping of common men into what the deck/pantheon requires or you'll just find that the story is convoluted and tiresome. The story unfolds as a layered and complex story, as only an archeologist/anthropologist could articulate a top-down portrait of a long since passed culture. The feeling of being immersed within the minutia of the soon-to-be greatest history ever told is ever-present. I cannot say enough good this about how refreshing this series is. 5/5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Perfect continuation

    I must admit that when I first started Gardens of the Moon I was a little overwhelmed with all the Gods, Warrens, Players, etc. But as I kept reading it all made sense. I am hooked on the Malazan world. The author does a excellent job with the characters: As many as their are, yet the author paints them so vividly, You are able to feel all of them. The House of chains will introduce you to new and characters while bringing back a few. New places of the world (which could have used more maps). There is not much more to say except enjoy and immerse yourself into the world Erikson and Esslemont have created.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    The saga continues!

    Not a light read, but a great book and series. My only complaint is that I would like to see lots more maps.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great Follow-up

    Very good continuation from the previous books, I like how Steven Erikson pulls together distant events and brief contact with caracters from Memories of Ice and they become central to the story. Overall very good reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    Good read

    Quite long, and then you have to read the next one, but worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2006

    The calm after the storm.

    The first three novels in this series kept escalating with excitement and new and interesting characters. This novel is what I would call the eye of the storm. This is a great time for the characters and plot to re-group before it becomes too convoluted. Erikson certainly knows how to keep the reader interested, even when going into more detail (intrigue) as is evident in this book. I can't wait to see how Erikson picks up the pace again, leaving his readers begging for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    In Northern Genabackis, the raiders leave the mountains to bring death and destruction to those lowlanders they hate residing in the southern flatlands. Amidst these brutal warriors is Karsa Orlong the Teblor who is unaware at this time he has just begun an odyssey that will spin into the middle of a future confrontation between the Malazan Empire and Sha'ik's Army of the Apocalypse.-------------------- Meanwhile some time in the future, Tavore, the Adjunct to the Malazon Empress, arrives at the Seven Cities, the last Malazan stronghold of Seven Cities. Her assignment is to turn a force of twelve thousand inexperienced former civilians into a powerful fighting force prepared to battle with the overwhelming armies of her sister, Sha'ik. Tavore herself lacks leadership experience so fears she is not up to the job as the enemy is so much more powerful. However, she does have a few experienced survivors from Coltaine's march, who she depends on to shape her soldiers so that they stand a chance when the latest hostilities in the hundred years of war heat up in the Holy Desert.-------------- Series fans will be shocked by the long opening sequence as the fourth book of The Malazan Book of the Fallen stays with Karsa rather than the usual constant changing of the point of view. However, Steven Erikson reverts to form as the rest of the exhilarating story line is anything but linear. The key to this superior fantasy, as is the case with its predecessors is no one is 100 percent good or evil instead readers understand motives on both sides of the conflict and feel for those caught in epic events. Though better to have read the previous entries, HOUSE OF CHAINS is a great entry in a terrific saga.------------ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3