BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

House of Dark Delights

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

erotica at its best

i truly enjoy erotica, but most of it (1) is not well written, (2) does not have a real plot, and (3) is not terribly exciting. louisa burton's debut novel is none of those. it is obvious that the author did a lot of research so the book feels historically accurate. thi...
i truly enjoy erotica, but most of it (1) is not well written, (2) does not have a real plot, and (3) is not terribly exciting. louisa burton's debut novel is none of those. it is obvious that the author did a lot of research so the book feels historically accurate. this is literary erotica and i think it's hot. when you read it - and you must - don't hide this book behind a plain brown cover. display it proudly! give it to all your friends! i can't wait until the next book in the series...

posted by Anonymous on February 2, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

It was ok

I would not buy this book again. I would check it out at the library and save my money for something more worth while. I thought it was original but the stories were out of order and confusing. there was a lot of over the top sexuality but no sublty. I brought it for th...
I would not buy this book again. I would check it out at the library and save my money for something more worth while. I thought it was original but the stories were out of order and confusing. there was a lot of over the top sexuality but no sublty. I brought it for those rainy nights when you want to read something a little more saucy but I was disappointed. Theres no romance and no buildup to any grande moments its just first page mythical creatures in a brothel type situation. I'll be honest I couldn't finish and I am an avid reader not worth the money

posted by 3125325 on April 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2007

    erotica at its best

    i truly enjoy erotica, but most of it (1) is not well written, (2) does not have a real plot, and (3) is not terribly exciting. louisa burton's debut novel is none of those. it is obvious that the author did a lot of research so the book feels historically accurate. this is literary erotica and i think it's hot. when you read it - and you must - don't hide this book behind a plain brown cover. display it proudly! give it to all your friends! i can't wait until the next book in the series...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2008

    Decadent!

    I read the second one, then had to get the first, can't wait for the third. I'm not even much of a reader, except for work. They are being passed around to all my female friends who are just as amused as I was. Reading these feels like you are doing something terribly naughty, yet it's just a little paperback book ) I so loved the mythical and historical references, and at times nearly convinced myself that that it was the story lines alone that enthralled me, the writer evokes emotion as well as stimulation. If I were to be honest, I'm sure the graphic yet somehow tastefully done sex scenes were what kept me from putting it down. Have your partner nearby.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    I'd give it 6 stars if that were available

    Very different, but very, very good. Outstanding story with excellent character and story development.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    unique romantic fantasy

    The Château de la Grotte Chachee is located in an isolated French valley that is difficult to find. It is home to the follets (supernatural beings) such as Elic the elf who can turn at will into a female and needs to mate with humans. Also residing there is the djinn Darius who frequently assumes the shape of a cat and the succubus Lili,who was once a Babylonian Goddess, craving sex with mortals. Finally the other resident follet is Inigio the Satyr who uses hair to conceal his horns and pointed ears and has had his tail surgically removed. --- Guests are welcomed occasionally to meet the needs of the permanent residents. In May 1749 the Hellfire Club adjoined there enjoying every form of debauchery. Lili, a member of the club remained behind at the chateau. In 1884, a scientist accompanied by his assistant and his daughter visited the château where the occupants played matchmaker. In 52 BC, the Druid Vernae captured Elic and forced him to be her sex toy stud. The heir to what will be the château asks for his help, which he gives and in doing so is there from the creation of the château. --- Louisa Burton has written a romantic fantasy that spans millennia and stars kindhearted supernatural beings. The story line is unique as time is not treated sequentially leading to a fascinating intense tale. Some of the sexual encounters are vividly graphic, but seems apropos when one considers the chateau¿s inhabitants and their sagas. Readers will want return engagements tot this interesting château. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2014

    This series are a must if you're looking for an erotic, fantasti

    This series are a must if you're looking for an erotic, fantastic story with intricate character development! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2014

    This was the first one of the series that I read. It is delightf

    This was the first one of the series that I read. It is delightful. Oh my!! Believe it or not I found this book at the library used book store. So I just had to get the others. They are all good reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love all of the secret grotto series. Anyone who is a fan of b

    I love all of the secret grotto series. Anyone who is a fan of both contemporary and Victorian erotica has to read all 4.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Wonderful.....

    Loved them all book 3 was my fave, but 5 stars to the whole series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Exceptional

    Ms. Burton's writing style is unsurpasses. Excellent!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2