Customer Reviews for

House of Dark Shadows (Dreamhouse Kings Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 548 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(252)

4 Star

(147)

3 Star

(84)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Entertaining and Fun!

This is the first book in Robert Liparulo's new Young Adult series. What does that mean, 'Young Adult'? Basically it means that the book is shorter. Don't be afraid though, in just 286 pages Liparulo manages to pack in enough creepiness, intrigue, excitement and fun tha...
This is the first book in Robert Liparulo's new Young Adult series. What does that mean, 'Young Adult'? Basically it means that the book is shorter. Don't be afraid though, in just 286 pages Liparulo manages to pack in enough creepiness, intrigue, excitement and fun that you'll swear it's a full blown novel. 'Young Adults' and adults alike will find something to love here, as Liparulo proves once again that he's a master of his craft. It's easy to identify with the King family, and anyone who's ever changed houses, schools or cities will be able to empathize with the memorable characters. From Xander's resentment at his parents for moving him away from his friends (and girlfriend) to Ed (the father's) concerns for his new job, it's easy to feel like you know the King Family. The settings are perfect, reading late a night gave me shivers as the creepiness of the King family's new home kicked into overdrive. Simply stated, for the money you can't find a better book for parents and teens alike. Highly recommended.

posted by Anonymous on May 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

dont waste you $$$

This book was an okay story but at the end of the book it closes with "this is not the end" .....CRAPPY ENDING

posted by 3530024 on May 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 550 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    Entertaining and Fun!

    This is the first book in Robert Liparulo's new Young Adult series. What does that mean, 'Young Adult'? Basically it means that the book is shorter. Don't be afraid though, in just 286 pages Liparulo manages to pack in enough creepiness, intrigue, excitement and fun that you'll swear it's a full blown novel. 'Young Adults' and adults alike will find something to love here, as Liparulo proves once again that he's a master of his craft. It's easy to identify with the King family, and anyone who's ever changed houses, schools or cities will be able to empathize with the memorable characters. From Xander's resentment at his parents for moving him away from his friends (and girlfriend) to Ed (the father's) concerns for his new job, it's easy to feel like you know the King Family. The settings are perfect, reading late a night gave me shivers as the creepiness of the King family's new home kicked into overdrive. Simply stated, for the money you can't find a better book for parents and teens alike. Highly recommended.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Scary but hard to put down.

    I haven't seen the Young Adult years in...years, but I can tell you that this series is SCARY even for adults. I finished House of Dark Shadows a little while ago and can testify that it's freakier than Flowers in the Attic by V. C. Andrews and just about as scary as The Amityville Horror. Did I mention this book was scary, LOL? But I finished it. I just didn't read it at night. Seriously. And I'm thankful that my house has neither an attic or a basement or I wouldn't be able to sleep! I know it's just fiction, but while I was reading the story I was in it, so it seemed real to me. Too real. So far I haven't found a spiritual element 'like they didn't even pray when scared' but it's still an incredibly entertaining tale of horror. I dare say it ranks right up there with any number of scary secular novels. There is even some blood in the book. Did I mention it was scary? Bottom line...this is top notch fiction but it is tolerable even for big honking chickens like me. In fact, I want to read the next book right away...but it's dark outside, so that'll have to wait until tomorrow!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    A Great New Series!

    Xander King is seriously bummed when his family moves from Pasadena, CA to a little hick town called Pinedale. He loved his life back home and can't imagine what this new town and new school could possibly have to offer. When the King's arrive they begin searching for a house to buy and finally stumble across an old, abandoned Victorian home deep in the woods. Xander's parents instantly fall in love with the old house and set to work trying to make it livable. Xander and his brother, David, begin exploring and make startling discoveries. It seems one of the closets is some sort of gateway to a locker in their new school. If that wasn't strange enough, they also discover a secret passageway that is full of rooms that are portals to other worlds. After a couple of exploring adventures gone bad, the boys soon realize that this house is much more dangerous than they could have ever imagined. Unfortunately, the King's are about to discover just how real that danger is. Robert Liparulo is known for pulse-pounding thrillers. With winners like Comes a Horseman, Germ, and Deadfall under his belt, he has truly left his mark on the genre. Now Liparulo graces his fans with a new young adult series that has everything we've come to expect from him and more. House of Dark Shadows is a fun story that is full of thrills and chills that never feel watered down for the young adult audience. Xander and David's mini adventures and discoveries are laced with just the right amount of action and intrigue to keep you nervously flying through the pages. The house itself is one of the strongest characters in the book, bringing a delightfully creepy tone to this well crafted tale. As always, Liparulo's writing carries deeper meaning beyond the action and thrills. At its heart this story is about the bond of family and love, and the power therein. With every new novel Liparulo continues to prove what an incredible storyteller he is and this new series is no exception. The end will leave you begging for more and loving every moment. This is Robert Liparulo at his best!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Fascinating story, wonderfully written!

    I don't gush about books very often. I read a lot of young adult novels (even though I'm a "few" birthdays past young), and I have to say this is one of the best I've read. And I'm not alone: My son (who IS the age this book was intended for) grabbed it as soon as I put it down. He has a hard time reading anything, but he read this one in two sittings! He rambled on about it so much, all of his friends are reading it now. <BR/><BR/>The first chapter hooked me. The next few chapters introduce us to the characters, the location and THE HOUSE. I was expecting a typical thriller, all plot, no character development, but thankfully, I was wrong. We really get to know (and love) the characters--through their relationships with each other and their reactions to the crazy, creepy events happening to them and around them.<BR/><BR/>I truly loved the development of the story, like a storm coming in: first it gets cold, then a little rainy, then BOOM! By the time the REAL action starts (what the house is all about!) I was totally there, I was one of the King family. That says a lot for this author's ability to write description and characters. <BR/><BR/>Speaking of BOOM!, this house is fantastic, in every sense of the word. It's creepy and spooky and leads to all kinds of adventures. It's not JUST a dark, foreboding house, with things that go bump in the night. It's a door into history, a time-warping slingshot to different places and times. The possibilities are endless--and very rewarding.<BR/><BR/>After finishing this one, I immediately read "Watcher in the Woods," the second book in the series (how can you not?), and it's even better than the first (but read "House of Dark Shadows" first). It has a lot more action and the introduction of an incredible villain. I can't wait for the third installment to find out more about him, and how the Kings handle all the chaos thrown at them!<BR/><BR/>I like the way Liparulo paints every scene. You can almost SMELL the house decaying around them. I found myself squinting at the page, as the characters squinted into dark, shadowy rooms. It felt like I was watching a movie, not reading a book. He knows how to give readers the heebie-jeebies, and also knows something a lot of writers of this kind of story (a chiller) don't seem to know: that we have to CARE about the characters to care about what HAPPENS to them.<BR/><BR/>If you're looking for a thoroughly entertaining story for kid (maybe ten-years-old to late teens) or even for yourself, do yourself a favor and pick this one up. It's really a lot of fun.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    House of Dark Shadows

    This book is a really awesome. Its a good book for 10-12 year olds. Me and my friend loved these books, there are 6 series to this book. It gets sad at the end of this book bit gets a lot better through out the series. Hope u like it too!!!!!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    House of Dark Shadows!!!

    This book (and the rest of the series) are, to say the least, books that were added immediately to my list of favorite books even before turning the last page. The back cover shows you a glimpse of the world inside its pages, and it almost draws you in. (Like the portals! ;D) I've got to say each book just seems to get better and better. I actually hesitated a bit when I bought it, though, because I had seen a similar back cover for the book 100 Cupboards. I didn't hesitate because I thought it would be identical, I hesitated because I did not think 100 Cupboards lived up to the wonders the preview told you you would experience. I didn't want another book like that. But I bought House of Dark Shadows anyway, and I was so very glad that I did! I finished it in one day, unable to put it down. And then I fled my house the next day as though it was the King's "Dreamhouse" to buy the next one. I've already shared it with around five of my friends, and they all are rushing to the store asap to buy it themselves.
    So if you are at the bookstore and see this, please don't pass it by, trust me, you'll be doing yourself a favor!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2010

    i swear, this is the best series EVER!!!!

    i love this series! every single book in this series is filled with action and suspense that keeps you on the edge of your seat practically gluing your eyes to the page! i was so absorbed in this book! i read all of them in like two days! everything about this series is just-WOW!!!! :) i love it and it keeps you wanting to read more!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    This sucks

    I read this book and it sucks and i cannt even get a refund :(

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Click here!!!!

    This book is absolutely amazing. It is not for the faint of heart! If you love creepy and mysterious, its the book for u.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    AMAZING!!!!!!! NEED TO READ

    In the House of Dark Shadows, RObert Liparulo tells a tragic, suspenseful, amazing story about a family who moves to a creepy Victorian house and they see and hear things that shouldn't be there.

    Fifteen-year old Xander is devastated when he moves from L.A. to Pinedale. Xandder and his family find and old Victorian house that needs to be fixed up. Xander and his little brother David starts seeing and hearing things. There little sister Toria thinks its big foot? Xander and David find portals to other times, like Xander finds himself in the Roman Coliseum fighting a vicious gladiator and David in a safari running from three tiges. Then Toria wakes up screaming in the middle of the night saying she saw a big hairy man in her door way and it says something she doesnt understand. Her bear (Wuzzy),a bear that records sounds, captures the voice Toria heard "Sas ehei na erthete na paiksei." Their father knows something his children and wife doesn't know. When Xander's father tells him he is furious, upset, and crushed. You can feel the tension Xander has. Xander starts to feel hatred for his father, but he still loves him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    LOVE!!!!!!

    Never read such an an amazing book! Bought the whole series....
    Simply amazing! <3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    Wonderful, edge if your seat read!

    Great plot! The suspense and twists have you contiuosly wanting more!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    dont know

    never read it

    1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    dont waste you $$$

    This book was an okay story but at the end of the book it closes with "this is not the end" .....CRAPPY ENDING

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Leaders den

    Iceclan leaders den -- PolarStar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Great

    Awesome

    I

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Coyotekit

    Eats the poppy seeds

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Book for All Ages

    Accidentally read the second book in this series first and was so in love, had to start at the beginning. This is a great series for adults as well as teens. Great for those who love mystery and historical fiction. Would highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Amazing

    This is my second time reading this series it is very good!


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    Well written and kept my interest. Makes you want more.

    Well written and kept my interest. Makes you want more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 550 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28