BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

House of Dark Shadows (Dreamhouse Kings Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 549 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(253)

4 Star

(147)

3 Star

(84)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Entertaining and Fun!

This is the first book in Robert Liparulo's new Young Adult series. What does that mean, 'Young Adult'? Basically it means that the book is shorter. Don't be afraid though, in just 286 pages Liparulo manages to pack in enough creepiness, intrigue, excitement and fun tha...
This is the first book in Robert Liparulo's new Young Adult series. What does that mean, 'Young Adult'? Basically it means that the book is shorter. Don't be afraid though, in just 286 pages Liparulo manages to pack in enough creepiness, intrigue, excitement and fun that you'll swear it's a full blown novel. 'Young Adults' and adults alike will find something to love here, as Liparulo proves once again that he's a master of his craft. It's easy to identify with the King family, and anyone who's ever changed houses, schools or cities will be able to empathize with the memorable characters. From Xander's resentment at his parents for moving him away from his friends (and girlfriend) to Ed (the father's) concerns for his new job, it's easy to feel like you know the King Family. The settings are perfect, reading late a night gave me shivers as the creepiness of the King family's new home kicked into overdrive. Simply stated, for the money you can't find a better book for parents and teens alike. Highly recommended.

posted by Anonymous on May 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

dont waste you $$$

This book was an okay story but at the end of the book it closes with "this is not the end" .....CRAPPY ENDING

posted by 3530024 on May 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    This sucks

    I read this book and it sucks and i cannt even get a refund :(

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    cannot open

    protected book ... any suggestions what to do?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Ahwen

    In a way that shows no hostility or triumph, Ahwen says,"Thank you." Then he goes to Coolen and says,"How are you?"

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Just didn't like it

    Maybe I should have given this book more of a chance but it just wasn't very interesting. I didn't like the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    I dont like gost or scartly thangs

    Not going to read this because i got scared by goosebumps

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    wold not recommend book nook to anyone anymore

    i would love to read this book but b&n cannot seam to get it to me. it says it is in my library but still cannot read or download this book along with 4 other books. would like to know if anyone else has same problem because this has been an on going issue since the 29th of december and 12 hrs with customer service

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Don't waist your time reading this!!

    Worst book I have ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    A Disappointing Book

    Xander is a teenager uprooted from his home in Pasadena when his father has to move to Pinedale. They start house hunting and find a Queen Anne style home. A murder occured in the house thirty years ago, and it¿s been unoccupied since then. After the family moves in, strange things begin happening, and a mysterious man is seen on several occasions. Xander and his brother David discover that the house contains portals to other times and places, often with dangerous results. <BR/><BR/>Eventually, it becomes apparent that not only can Xander time travel, so can people from the other places. And these visitors have more devious things in mind than adventures.<BR/><BR/>This is the first book in the Dreamhouse series, with another planned book to follow. The House of Dark Shadows felt like it was setting up everything for the next book. I kept looking for a basic goal of the story or a problem Xander had to solve, and there wasn¿t one. The book was light on story, and unfortunately, heavy on padding.<BR/><BR/>We spent the first third of the book dealing with the characters deciding to move, looking for a house, and moving in. A few rather cliched spooky things happened to establish that something was weird about the house. <BR/><BR/>Eventually Xander got to do some major action¿but even it felt like not a lot was happening. I wanted the book to make me eagerly turn the pages to find out what happened next, and instead I was tempted to put the book down.<BR/><BR/>In the last fifty pages or so, we finally get the story itself, but it was too little too late. I found myself wishing that the ending had opened the book. Instead, the author left the story unresolved with a ¿cliffhanger¿ ending that¿s supposed to draw us into the next book.<BR/><BR/>It was a disappointing read. I need a little more story with my action-adventure.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2