BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

House Of Darkness House Of Light

Average Rating 3.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A Chilling Tale of a Haunted Farmhouse

House of Darkness - House of Light The True Story, Volume 1 By Andrea Perron Published by Author House Copyright 2011 ISBN: 978-1-4567-4761-9 Having lived in a few haunted locations, it is not much of a stretch to imagine a house brimming with spirits - more particularl...
House of Darkness - House of Light The True Story, Volume 1 By Andrea Perron Published by Author House Copyright 2011 ISBN: 978-1-4567-4761-9 Having lived in a few haunted locations, it is not much of a stretch to imagine a house brimming with spirits - more particularly a colonial farmhouse built in 1736. Roger and Carolyn Perron, along with their five young daughters thought they discovered their own Garden of Eden when they moved from the Cumberland, Rhode Island suburbs to a remote and natural area in Harrisville. They were excited to live in a fascinating old farmhouse with plenty of room for everyone. The oldest child, Andrea Perron is the author of this book, which relates the family's entirely unexpected and truly frightening experiences in a house with a long history of agony and death. Two former residents hung themselves - one from the rafters of the old barn. The final fate of many others is unknown but their continued presence eventually becomes obvious. Andrea relates how the massive property provides an unbounded playground for the children within the woods and crystal clear ambling streams. However, what begins as a paradise for the Perron family quickly transforms into a house of horrors as specters of formerly living souls roam the old house causing havoc. There are benign acts, such as a ghost that smells of flowers and fruit kissing the children goodnight in their beds, and a phantom youngster playing with unattended toys. Items move about, including chairs pulled from beneath innocent and unsuspecting mortals, and a female ghost who constantly picks up a broom to sweep the kitchen floor - benign but frightening, nonetheless. Doors slam shut, whispers are heard, shadows are seen and something has a habit of slamming into the front door in the middle of the night shaking everyone from their beds. When the malevolent spirit of the former mistress of the house begins to assert her control over Carolyn the constant barrage of paranormal activity from the other side becomes too much to bear. This repugnant spirit seems bent and determined on frightening Carolyn to her very core, approaching her in the night - her face misshapen, neck broken and horrible to behold - along with a gut wrenching stench in the air and threats of impending doom - primarily that she and her family would succumb to a vicious and unrelenting fiery death. Carolyn is left in a perpetual state of fear and shock as to how she could possibly protect her brood from the wiles of a nasty ghost over which she has absolutely no control. This is truly a book to be read with the lights on. Add to that Andrea Perron's wonderfully expressive writing and you will find yourself turning one page after another while she takes you through time in a profound and thought provoking way.

posted by teeka1234 on August 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Let me begin my diatribe, if you'll indulge me, fair reader, wit

Let me begin my diatribe, if you'll indulge me, fair reader, with a disturbing trend I've noticed in the reviews on this book. Almost all of the people who gave it a 5 star rating, or even a slightly positive review, are from or around the town the book is written in, H...
Let me begin my diatribe, if you'll indulge me, fair reader, with a disturbing trend I've noticed in the reviews on this book. Almost all of the people who gave it a 5 star rating, or even a slightly positive review, are from or around the town the book is written in, Harrisville, Rhode Island. Apparently these people are desperate for some vicarious fame by association with the town this dreadfully written book takes place in. Read them with a grain of salt. If you're looking for an honest review from someone who is not skeptical of the supernatural, just critical of this, and I use the term loosely, "author's" work, then please read on for a detailed, unbiased review.

I think the reason it took Andrea 30 years to write this book was that she needed to read "The Amityville Horror", "The Devil in Connecticut" and "In a Dark Place: The Story of a True Haunting" a few times so she could steal as much of their stories as possible for her own. She also needed time to wait for Poltergeist, Burnt Offerings and the Exorcist to come out on DVD so she could watch them all a few times (and their special features!) for some new ideas. This book is nothing but a derivative retelling of better, scarier ghost stories. All she did was put her own family into the roles of other, more interesting characters; your basic "fanfic," if you will. The funny part is, I could have lived with that if not for the horrible writing. A good story is a good story, even if the general theme has told before. But even a great story loses its gravitas and poignancy when told by a seven year old, which is about Andrea's level of writing. Well, to be fair, it's more like a seven year old who knows how to press Shift+F7 in Word and come up with bigger words to use from the list of synonyms, but who then overlooks the green squiggles of the Grammar Check function. She also entertained the infamous nutbags, Ed and Lorraine Warren. All you have to do is a quick Google search on them and you will find out how untrustworthy these two are. Being they also worked on the Amityville case and the two Connecticut cases, I can see why this story features all of their greatest hits: who could forget the classic, "It must be a DEMON," or "The spirit is mocking the Holy Trinity," and the ever delightful, "Of course we have no proof of ANYTHING, you're supposed to just believe whatever we say!" Could it be mere coincidence that Harrisville reeks of the same pseudo-religious, quasi-supernatural hokum featured in Amityville and Connecticut? I think not!

Let's start with Andrea's grammar and punctuation. She loves to put about 3 bold words on each page as she thinks the reader is too dumb to get the meaning of what she is trying to tell us. You know when an airheaded teenage girl gets upset and overemphasizes a word to show she's really upset? That's what I feel like she's doing. "But `Moooooooom' there's like `totally' a ghost and it's really `scary.'" There's no good reason to emphasize words like that. If you put the word there, trust us, as the readers, to be able to know how that word is supposed to work with the rest of them to convey the idea your describing in that sentence. She constantly insults our collective intelligence. For example, she feels she has to emphasize the fact that during an argument over money that someone is feeling "angry."

She also likes to tell us what everyone was "feeling" for 3 or more pages without describing the actual event that caused the upset. If you are lucky, she will tell you a few chapters later and then she rehashes the 3 pages again of what everyone was "feeling." It reminded me of when your teacher wants you to write a 500 word essay. Like an underachieving, lazy student, most of the book is just filling space. At one point she describes in painfully overblown details of her Mother's meltdown in the kitchen over her husband killing flies, ala Amityville Horror. She then copied and pasted the same story later on in the book hoping the reader would not remember she already told this story. She did this a few times. Maybe she never went back and read over what she wrote. It was painful enough for me to read once, so I can't imagine what torture she was facing having to re-read it as the author.

Apparently desperate to show that she has some grasp of what colons and semi-colons are Andrea doesn't hesitate to use them at every possible turn. Ironically, she doesn't use them correctly. She loves to do stuff like this: "The mother had a bad feeling; a dread she felt." A little redundant, am I right? Half the time those little add-on's are just terrible, as in, "...; an angelic angel." Keep your sanity and just skip over anything immediately to the right of any colon or semicolon. What this book really needs is a, "colonoscopy." (Cue rimshot) You thought that was a terrible pun? Just you wait; Andrea's got a metric ton of them waiting for you! Like, "They did not stand a ghost of a chance with the ghosts in the house!" Also, I think Andrea suffers from multiple personality disorder. I mean, what else could possibly explain her tendency to switch back and forth from the third person narrative to the second person and back to the third every few pages?

In all honesty, I would have never finished this book if I had not paid money for it. You will find that skipping long monologues of pure, unadulterated "feeling" will help you to read the book faster. I think she fancies herself the next Steven King and thinks that if she puts as many words on a page as he does, she'll be just as critically acclaimed.

Now before you say, "Oh, he is a skeptic and a non-believer, which is why he is so mean about all this," that is just not true. I do believe in ghosts and have lived in 2 houses that had ghosts, one who made me uncomfortable enough to the point I did move out. I won't directly say that her book is full of lies, (libel laws and all that), but I think it is strange that all the Warren cases tell the same story: A family moves into a dream house, it turns out to be haunted, the father will not believe it until the very end, Lorraine Warren kicks open the front door and starts yelling about demons and then everyone gets a nice, lucrative movie deal out of it. By the way, "The Conjuring," based on The Warren Files concerning this case, is coming this summer to a theater near you! And even if it was real, what kind of mother would subject her 5 kids to this kind of thing for 10 year? Yes, 10 YEARS!!

So to spare you the terror of trying to read this book, I'll summarize it for you: Estrogen soaked family pester their absentee salesman father to throw all of their money into a farm they don't really need and that the owner is super desperate to offload on them. After ignoring this first warning sign, the family can't get warm in a 200 year old house in Rhode Island during winter (umm... duh?) and keep smelling death in certain rooms. After ignoring this second warning sign, the mother is attacked by the ghost of Joan Crawford (think wire hangers), the kids start seeing creepy stuff and the doors very politely open themselves. Flies gather in the house where the kids keep sandwiches under the bed (shocking!) and then the mother has a nightmare and claws up her husband who is apparently a very sound sleeper. After trying to set herself on fire several times, the mother spirals into a generic supernatural obsession (cue the montage of Mom in the local library discovering the evil history of the house), and ropes everyone she possibly can into it, culminating with the arrival of the Warrens who proceed to add a few Mentos to the mom's glass

posted by NightWalkerKM on August 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Chilling Tale of a Haunted Farmhouse

    House of Darkness - House of Light The True Story, Volume 1 By Andrea Perron Published by Author House Copyright 2011 ISBN: 978-1-4567-4761-9 Having lived in a few haunted locations, it is not much of a stretch to imagine a house brimming with spirits - more particularly a colonial farmhouse built in 1736. Roger and Carolyn Perron, along with their five young daughters thought they discovered their own Garden of Eden when they moved from the Cumberland, Rhode Island suburbs to a remote and natural area in Harrisville. They were excited to live in a fascinating old farmhouse with plenty of room for everyone. The oldest child, Andrea Perron is the author of this book, which relates the family's entirely unexpected and truly frightening experiences in a house with a long history of agony and death. Two former residents hung themselves - one from the rafters of the old barn. The final fate of many others is unknown but their continued presence eventually becomes obvious. Andrea relates how the massive property provides an unbounded playground for the children within the woods and crystal clear ambling streams. However, what begins as a paradise for the Perron family quickly transforms into a house of horrors as specters of formerly living souls roam the old house causing havoc. There are benign acts, such as a ghost that smells of flowers and fruit kissing the children goodnight in their beds, and a phantom youngster playing with unattended toys. Items move about, including chairs pulled from beneath innocent and unsuspecting mortals, and a female ghost who constantly picks up a broom to sweep the kitchen floor - benign but frightening, nonetheless. Doors slam shut, whispers are heard, shadows are seen and something has a habit of slamming into the front door in the middle of the night shaking everyone from their beds. When the malevolent spirit of the former mistress of the house begins to assert her control over Carolyn the constant barrage of paranormal activity from the other side becomes too much to bear. This repugnant spirit seems bent and determined on frightening Carolyn to her very core, approaching her in the night - her face misshapen, neck broken and horrible to behold - along with a gut wrenching stench in the air and threats of impending doom - primarily that she and her family would succumb to a vicious and unrelenting fiery death. Carolyn is left in a perpetual state of fear and shock as to how she could possibly protect her brood from the wiles of a nasty ghost over which she has absolutely no control. This is truly a book to be read with the lights on. Add to that Andrea Perron's wonderfully expressive writing and you will find yourself turning one page after another while she takes you through time in a profound and thought provoking way.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I don't typically like supernatural books, but I found this one

    I don't typically like supernatural books, but I found this one very enjoyable.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    This has been a truly enlightening story so far, and this is onl

    This has been a truly enlightening story so far, and this is only Volume 1. This is more than just a spooky nhaunted house story to read on a rainy night, it's a story about love, family and hope. When I first bought it, I admit it was out of love for scary true tories but I was happy to find more than that. Ms. Perron makes you think about your place in the universe, and how we all touch each other both on the physical side of things and when we pass over. This story is about strength, courage and the soul. .

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    House of Darkness a Chillingly True Tale

    Having lived in a few haunted locations, it is not much of a stretch to imagine a house brimming with spirits - more particularly a colonial farmhouse built in 1736.

    Roger and Carolyn Perron, along with their five young daughters thought they discovered their own Garden of Eden when they moved from the Cumberland, Rhode Island suburbs to a remote and natural area in Harrisville. They were excited to live in a fascinating old farmhouse with plenty of room for everyone.

    The oldest child, Andrea Perron is the author of this book, which relates the family's entirely unexpected and truly frightening experiences in a house with a long history of agony and death. Two former residents hung themselves - one from the rafters of the old barn. The final fate of many others is unknown but their continued presence eventually becomes obvious.

    Andrea relates how the massive property provides an unbounded playground for the children within the woods and crystal clear ambling streams. However, what begins as a paradise for the Perron family quickly transforms into a house of horrors as specters of formerly living souls roam the old house causing havoc.

    There are benign acts, such as a ghost that smells of flowers and fruit kissing the children goodnight in their beds, and a phantom youngster playing with unattended toys. Items move about, including chairs pulled from beneath innocent and unsuspecting mortals, and a female ghost who constantly picks up a broom to sweep the kitchen floor - benign but frightening, nonetheless. Doors slam shut, whispers are heard, shadows are seen and something has a habit of slamming into the front door in the middle of the night shaking everyone from their beds.

    When the malevolent spirit of the former mistress of the house begins to assert her control over Carolyn the constant barrage of paranormal activity from the other side becomes too much to bear. This repugnant spirit seems bent and determined on frightening Carolyn to her very core, approaching her in the night - her face misshapen, neck broken and horrible to behold - along with a gut wrenching stench in the air and threats of impending doom - primarily that she and her family would succumb to a vicious and unrelenting fiery death.

    Carolyn is left in a perpetual state of fear and shock as to how she could possibly protect her brood from the wiles of a nasty ghost over which she has absolutely no control.

    This is truly a book to be read with the lights on. Add to that Andrea Perron's wonderfully expressive writing and you will find yourself turning one page after another while she takes you through time in a profound and thought provoking way.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Enjoyed reading

    I liked this book. Look forward to seeing the movie.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Knowing it is a true story makes it even more horrifying! God Bless the Perron family! Can't wait to start Volume Two!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Lord Donkey Punch

    A very very good read i was truely happy with the poems , stories , and acounts of the tale

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Thus book was overall good. It keeps your attention, however the

    Thus book was overall good. It keeps your attention, however the beginning of the book takes to long to get to the story line. I personally went to see the movie  before I purchased the book, I know that it's impossible to fit every single encounter into the movie, but after reading the book I would have liked to see more of those things in the movie. I also think that the boom has a tendency to skip round. Little so you have to keep  up. The author died a great job by describing the supernatural ever s that took p,ace sometimes I felt like she also just had words to fill up the pages. I guess to really capture I. This book she added quotes from famous people, but in my opinion their were just to
    many of them. If she kept a lot of the rambling to a minimum the book could have been awesome. I wanted to purchase volume two. But I'm cautious because of the excessive rambling that has nothing to do with the story and excessive quotes.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Very good and a lot details and no jumping around? Veryvery good!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Andrea Perron: In review

    I feel it is necessary to note that a lot of these negative reviews are totally WRONG not to mention very unfair.

    This book is well written and comes from someone who has a unique writing style.

    Anyone who has experienced something seriously super natural will be able to identify with at least a few of the events described in this book.

    This book is more a diary of experiences, not a "story" or work of fiction. At least that is how I see it.

    Most people have no experience out side of their ordinary mundane predictable life. They look for a "story" and cannot accept anything supernatural in fact, or fiction.

    So, BOO!! To you. This book is well worth the reading, and obviously I enjoyed every page :)

    Oh, by the way my name is David; And I am from Indiana.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Highly Recommend it!

    Great book kept me interested. Hard to put it down because you want to see what's going to happen next. Well written and easy to keep up even though the story move around from one point in time to another. can't wait to start reading the second one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Very interesting

    I saw the movie The Conjuring and wanted to know more about the family that the movie was based on. I love ghost stories and this is unlike any I've heard before. What a horrific experience for this family. This book is very detailed, but it kept my intrest and me wanting to know wat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Looooooooooooove this book

    I loved this book it filled everything i was looking for in a horror novel. I couldnt take my eyes off my nook. The more i read the more i noticed that the pages where just flying bye.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2