Customer Reviews for

House of Mercy

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Erin Healy┬┐s House of Mercy (Thomas Nelson Publishers) follows a

    Erin Healy’s House of Mercy (Thomas Nelson Publishers) follows a young lady named Bethesda (Beth) whose family lives on a generationally cattle-ranch turned sanctuary to rehab troubled men. She dreams of becoming a vet, due to her easy intuition at healing animals, and is about to go off to vet school. One night she makes a quick decision that turns into a very foolish mistake. This mistake put’s her dream at stake as well as her family’s livelihood causing Beth’s relationships with her family take quite the toll. As she tries to right each wrong she continuously finds herself in more trouble and her decisions continue to have a domino effect. Mercy becomes personified and Beth discovers a spiritual gift. She starts to believe in this gift that she cannot control and follows Mercy to once again try to right her wrongs.


    House of Mercy turns even more tragic and the magnitude of consequence is made clear. While not all the tragedies that ensue are clearly due to Beth, it is argued that she is the cause. Her family ties continue to sever as she fights for control to fix her wrongs and she is given a task to complete that may fix almost everything. This request unravels a family secret and sets her directly on a journey toward mercy. She is given an ultimatum and flees the situation to begin her journey and attempt to fix her problems.


    Healy does a great job at keeping the reader on the edge of their seat; suspensefully relaying Beth’s journey. The story is heartbreakingly universal. Beth is constantly trying to fix things herself without relying on anyone else, including God. As she journeys to fulfill the request set out for her, and find her grandfather she is forced to learn to rely on Mercy or suffer even more consequences.


    The constant challenges that Healy’s character’s face and the extreme abruptness that it takes until they listen to God makes them incredibly relatable. House of Mercy exemplifies through Beth how decisions that may seem harmless sometimes carry negative consequences, but are not always a death sentence. Healy also quite realistically describes through Beth’s journey that the plan God lays out for us is not always easy; human pride often gets in the way of His Mercy. Beth must learn to relinquish control and let God use not only her but the people around her to turn her situation back on track. Healy also relates to the reader in the truth that these other vessels also may take some work before they are willing vessels, and that is sometimes quite the fight. Healy keeps it real; not all of the characters accept God’s mercy. The story ends on a suspenseful note, leaving room for some of the characters to change their minds.


    House of Mercy, released August 2012, is a riveting, fast-paced read with a redemptive lesson on what mercy truly means. It is available in paperback or e-book form and Healy includes at the end of the novel the story of when she read a real life wolf that inspired her story of Mercy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    This was an exceptionally good book! This is the 2nd bool of her

    This was an exceptionally good book! This is the 2nd bool of hers that i have read and already purchased another one for my nook.
    she is going on my favorite author's list. Read this book. Its very hard to put down! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Author: Erin Healy Published By: Thomas Nelson Age Recommended:5

    Author: Erin Healy
    Published By: Thomas Nelson
    Age Recommended:5 YA - Adult
    Reviewed By: Arlena Dean
    Book Blog For: GMTA
    Rating:


    Review:


    "House of Mercy" by Erin Healy not only mysterious, suspenseful, adventurous, supernatural, inspirational, but also a wonderful intriguing christian fiction. This setting was from the southern Colorado area with this author giving us a beautiful full descriptions of life on a ranch. The main character in this novel, Bethesda Borzios (Beth) who had wanted to be a Vet since she was a little girl, but one night she had gotten herself in a situation that changed her life forever..."because of her decision Beth's family is about to lose their home and ranch." You will soon find out find out that Beth's family also had issues of their own (that brother, Levi ... wow)! I loved how this author was able to 'show us God's mercy and grace,' that even in bad many times because of the choices we make ..God is their and does bring us through it all. As Beth goes on a journey to the mountains to find someone she didn't know had existed, her grandfather.

    While maturing...she learns to put her faith and trust in God. The "House of Mercy" will also offer to the reader some 'mystical wolf' that is entered into this story offering some 'supernatural element.' Now what is that about? The main question that will be answered: "Does Beth have enough faith to follow where God is leading her?" and "Can she trust a wolf?" Get ready because it really get interesting. Now, to really get the true fill for this novel I can only say you will have to pick up this novel to see how this author brings it all together. It is truly a excellent read.


    "House of Mercy" was a strong, well written read with characters that seemed to come to life as you read. Would I recommend this read? YES!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Beth has a gift of healing┬┐which is why she wants to become a ve

    Beth has a gift of healing—which is why she wants to become a vet and help her family run their fifth-generation cattle ranch. Her father’s dream of helping men in trouble and giving them a second chance is her dream too. But it only takes one foolish decision for Beth to destroy it all.Beth scrambles to redeem her mistake, pleading with God for help, even as a mystery complicates her life. The repercussions grow more unbearable—a lawsuit, a death, a divided family, and the looming loss of everything she cares about. Beth’s only hope is to find the grandfather she never knew and beg for his help. Confused, grieving, and determined to make amends, she embarks on a horseback journey across the mountains, guided by a wild, unpredictable wolf who may or may not be real.Set in the stunningly rugged terrain of Southern Colorado, House of Mercy follows Beth through the valley of the shadow of death into the unfathomable miracles of God’s goodness and mercy.
    This is my second Erin Healy book that I read and I was not disappointed. Healy describes her writing as supernatural suspense, and this book reflects that.  Just like in The Baker's Wife, Healy does a fantastic job setting up the story quickly and you are immersed from the first page of wanting to know what is going to happen to this person. Her characters and writing is so real. To the point that I was getting frustrated and disliked some personalities and had a breaking heart for others.
    Putting the fiction aspect aside, the spiritual asset was oh so rich. One part that grasped my heart was during one scene where Beth was having a little conversation with God about healing her grandfather. The gist of it was that God could've healed her grandfather Himself, but He was choosing to use Beth as a way to heal her grandfather, to show her what His mercy looks like. How many times do I miss this in my own life? Where God could so easily do something all by Himself, but instead chooses to do something by using me, to show me His character, grace, mercy and love? Still chewing, mulling and digesting this nugget that I believe is so profound.
    This is a fantastic read and I highly recommend it.
    Booksneeze sent me this complimentary book to review for them. Opinions of this book are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    House of Mercy by Erin Healy Beth Borzoi lives on a ranch and l

    House of Mercy by Erin Healy

    Beth Borzoi lives on a ranch and loves animals, especially horses. She aspires to be a vet. Because of a freak accident involving a wolf and another rancher’s valuable horse, her family will lose their ranch and ministry. Her father believes that her estranged grandfather, Garner Remke, holds the key to rescuing their ranch. Shortly before her father’s death, he urges Beth to search out Garner and bring him home. She goes in search of him on horseback, but is followed by a mysterious wolf, perhaps the same one that caused her catastrophic accident. She manages to find Garner, but he is fighting for his life and Beth must now try to save him from probable death.
    Erin Healy is one of my favorite Christian writers. This book had layers of plot that kept me reading, despite the fact that I am not a fan of Western novels. The author weaves a thread of the supernatural throughout this book, and I find myself still trying to grasp the symbolism. The book ended, but left me wanting to know more of what happened after the last page. I hope there will be a sequel as many questions were left unanswered. I intend to read as many as books as Erin Healy writes. She is an excellent writer and I highly recommend her works. My thanks to Booksneeze, which provided the free e-book for me and this is my honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    House of Mercy

    A book I never wanted to end...I felt like I was walking with my hand in Gods. Erin Healy has written a powerful book, and we experience good and evil.
    Bethesda Borzios has wanted to be a Vet since she was a little girl, but one night a wrong decision [or was it the right one] changes her life forever. Because of her decision her family is about to loose their home and ranch. Beth is determined to remedy what she has broke, but how.
    Does she have enough faith to follow where God is leading her? Can she trust a wolf? She does finally name the persistent wolf Mercy. When her brother Levi tells her he has sold her truck, she goes looking for it on the ranch. This leads to a series of events that eventually brings her to her Grandfather...maybe just in time. Here we meet evil head on, and will have to wonder who will be the winner.
    I see there is a sequel to the book coming next year...can't wait!!

    I received this book Publisher Thomas Nelson, and was not required to give a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Blazing B was a 6500 acre cattle ranch that was created when

    The Blazing B was a 6500 acre cattle ranch that was created when Abel
    Borzoi and Dr. Roy Davis merged their professional passions of ranching
    and psychiatry and expands Blazing B's purpose. It became and outreach
    to functional but wounded men who needed a home and a job, like Wally,
    who had been at the ranch for three years, since a stroke left his body
    unaffected but struck his brain with a short-term memory disorder. It
    was called anterograde amnesia, a forgetfulness of experiences but not
    skills. Those who know her, call her the horse whisperer, but those who
    don't know her as Beth Borzoi, Abel's daughter. Now studying to gain her
    veterinarian's license she works at understanding the spirits of the
    animals she works with, something her father feels she has a true
    calling for. It doesn't help that she is still suffering from a crush on
    her father's partner's son, Jacob who also works on the ranch. He's been
    the Blazing B's general operations manager for more than 5 years. While
    working late doing a favor for a friend, Phil who worked on the
    Kandinsky's ranch raising thoroughbreds and Morgans, she attempted to
    work on his horse's inflamed eye. After realizing this infection had
    gone on too long, she called for the Blazing B's vet. While waiting, she
    was offered a ride on one of the most prized Thoroughbred, Java, Java,
    Go Joe! Even though it was late, she knew that the horse could see far
    better than she did and when she gave him full and complete control of
    the reins, he raced faster than she ever dreamed possible, until she
    sensed a change in Joe's demeanor. Beth soon realizes that the horse is
    now running for his life and just out of the corner of her eye, she
    spots it, a gray wolf. Before she knows it the wolf has anticipated her
    moves and launches at her from the front, knocking her from the horse
    and taking down the Thoroughbred as well. Luckily for Beth, the horse
    missed landing on her but her arm is pinned beneath him. Now she awaits
    for the wolf's final attack on them both. WOW is all I can say as this
    novel, House of Mercy by Erin Healy opens up on some exciting action
    just within the first couple of chapters and already has the reader
    breathless on the edge of their seat, you just know it's only going to
    intensify. I love it when a novel engages me so much that I find myself
    literally holding my breath waiting for the outcome and this one has
    plenty to suit those who crave suspense and action! But how will this
    outcome now affect what Beth wanted for her life? Will she be able to
    continue to pursue her dream of caring for animals as a veterinarian or
    will the accident claim the life she dreamed of in ways she couldn't
    imagine? You'll have to pick up House of Mercy by Erin Healy to find
    out. I received this novel compliments of B & B Media Group for my
    honest opinion and LOVED every minute of it. It was engaging and taught
    the lessons of what happens when God's mercy is poured out on own lives
    even though we feel we don't deserve it. It also teaches us that no
    matter how long we find ourselves in the valley of the shadow of death,
    we will rise to the mountaintop someday and the view will be worth the
    wait. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    House of Mercy is one of those books where I became so absorbed

    House of Mercy is one of those books where I became so absorbed in the
    character's lives, so worked up over the unjust treatment Beth received
    (especially from her brother), that I could barely sit still while
    reading it due to my desire to reach down into its pages and make people
    behave! Erin Healy is a fabulous author, seeming to effortlessly combine
    a unique, fast-paced plot with suspense and elements of the
    supernatural. She excels at creating characters who pulse with life, who
    are set down in situations that immediately draw upon your sympathies
    and have you rooting for them to succeed. Beth is a character who broke
    my heart after she finds herself in dire circumstances, suffering from a
    horrible mistake with far-reaching consequences. However, not only was
    Beth a well-developed character, but the rest of the cast of characters
    who star in this novel were equally well-fleshed out (and I must say
    that the villain is ever so creepy, mostly due to her normal and
    respectable exterior caging the mind of a delusional killer!). What I
    loved most about this story is Erin's portrayal of God's mercy, and the
    profound truth that God is good. I love where Beth is asked "Why do
    you follow such a God?" and answers "because I believe he is
    good. Not because he gives me what I want, but just because he is. He
    doesn't owe me any other explanation". That, indeed, is truth to
    live by. The conclusion is true-to-life, providing resolution while
    reminding that in reality not everything works out perfectly, and while
    the story doesn't leave you hanging per se, I for one would love to see
    Beth return in a future novel. There's so much to like here, from the
    excellent characters and the enjoyable plot, to the miracles and the
    unique role of the wolf, to the faith that has been woven into the
    book's pages. I award this book 5 out of 5 stars. Book has been
    provided courtesy of the publisher, Thomas Nelson, and Rick Roberson of
    B & B Media Group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    Don't have the book yet

    Don't have the book yet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1