Customer Reviews for

House of Odd (Odd Thomas Graphic Novel Series #3)

Average Rating 2.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Great addition to the history of Odd Thomas in a graphic novel format...

First off: This is a comic book. Many people seem to be unable to search out this clear fact before ordering and carry some weird bias against the medium. The story is on the short side when compared to a standard novel, but as a graphic novel it's a long read.

This ...
First off: This is a comic book. Many people seem to be unable to search out this clear fact before ordering and carry some weird bias against the medium. The story is on the short side when compared to a standard novel, but as a graphic novel it's a long read.

This takes Odd outside of his normal setting and removes him from his talents. There are no ghosts here. The only one that makes an appearance is Elvis and he is restricted from approaching the house Odd is in. There's a decent blend of humor and horror that fits with the rest of the Odd Thomas stories. Don't bother with it if you're blindly prejudiced against graphic novels though or under the misguided belief that graphic novels are automatically somehow less than prose.

posted by 11393745 on March 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I've been a huge Koontz fan from way back, but this graphic novel did nothing for me. Odd has been one of two of my favorite characters that hes done multiple books about. This is a pre-original Odd Thomas story, and had little of the Odd I've come to love. Maybe becau...
I've been a huge Koontz fan from way back, but this graphic novel did nothing for me. Odd has been one of two of my favorite characters that hes done multiple books about. This is a pre-original Odd Thomas story, and had little of the Odd I've come to love. Maybe because I'm not a graphic novel reader, it added to my disappointment. It was extremely short for the cost, and I read the entire thing in under an hour. I miss the witty banter of Odd, and throwing Elvis in felt like a gimmick throw in rather than the important character he's been in other Odd books. Wished I'd waited for the nivel coming out down the road. Koontz has been exploring different spiritual journeys over his writing, but this one dropped the ball entirely.

posted by catesalim on March 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Not recommended

    Graphics were terrible and the ebook was to expensive for such a short story.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    Not worth my time!

    I was disappointed! I guess I'm just too old for this kind of thing, I was expecting something totally different. I really enjoyed the Odd books, but this was nothing like them at all.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    ONLY REVIEW YOU NEED IS RIGHT HERE!!

    IF you like comic books then get it...(not really sure it's even a very good comic tho) IF you are expecting another great book in the ODD series then this is NOT it! I was a fool and bought it before reading and understanding what a graphic novel meant exactly. Read it in under an hour, didn't even like the drawings. Now forever in the future when I read about my sweet Odd and his adventures with Stormy, I will see them as these two cartoon characters as opposed to the real people I had imagined them to be.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Not recommending this book

    I chose this book for my Nook knowing I had enjoyed the series so far. However no where in the description did it tell me it was in comic book format. I was so surprised and so disappointed I called and when I explained I got by account credited. It was a mistake on the publishers part I guess not to let readers know they were buying a comic book. My one star rating is because of the format.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    Don't waste your money unless you like comic books. What a disap

    Don't waste your money unless you like comic books. What a disappointment.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    HUH?!?!?!

    I realize from the description & the other reader reviews that this is a comic book. I have read & enjoyed all the Odd Thomas series, so I thought I'd check out the sample to see if I might like it, too before I bought it.
    I would love to be able to tell you that I loved it. I'd love to be able to tell you that I hated it. I can't really say either, since all the sample contains is 10 pages...9 of which are title, copyright, table of contents & a couple of blank pages. This is not the author's fault, but how can a buyer know if they want to buy the whole book based on one lousy page?? B&N isn't going to refund my money if I don't like the book. I've complained numerous times to them about this very subject, but they keep on offering extremely limited samples, so I won't buy their book.
    Sorry, Mr. Koontz...NO royalties for you!
    SHAME on you, Barnes and Noble!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    House .....

    This is the worth book I ever encounter. Wasted money. Hope the others from the series are not like this one. It should be put up front that this is not a regular book so you are aware of what you buying.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Disappointed

    This was the biggest disappointment I have ever bought from my Nook!! Sure do wish there was a trade in place for books you didn't like. Strongly do not recommend this book!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Extreme Disappointment

    Like others I did not excercise due dilgence prior to hitting that "purchase" button so I share some blame in assisting Koontz in ghis fleecing of my purse. I read the description quickly, I took the term "graphic" to mean in a literary sense not in a literal one. A comic book? Really Koontz? This is how little you think of your fans, to dupe us in this fashion? I am no longer waiting for the new novel and am exceeding glas i did not preorder. I may purchase and read it but then again I may not! By the time it hits the market I will be on to other authors who are not out to scam their readers. One final comment, I have been a long time fan of Koontz because of a underlying quality in his books (hope, redemption, the essential goodness of everyday people) which I had also attributed to him in part--no more after this blatant money grubbing fiasco---Koontz when did you sell out your craft and your talent?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Love Mr. Koontz

    You people are ridiculously stupid. I am laughing so hard at these reviews because nobody knew it was a "comic book". Morons: it says "NOOK Comics" right under the picture......and not only that, it says "graphic novel" in the description. You all obviously do not read well.....ignorant hicks.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Odd thomas comic book

    This was a waste of $

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    Two Thumbs Down

    Cannot believe I wasted my money on this. If I wanted to read a comic book...wait! I do not want a comic book. What a horrible waste of money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Don't bother.

    Heads up, folks. "Graphic novel" is code for comic book. This is a miserable piece of drivel designed only to score a few bucks off unwitting customers. Shame on you, Mr. Koontz. You should be above this kind of schlock.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    A comic book-really?! I'm not seven years old!

    Hasty buying decision. VERY disappointed. Waste of money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Ugh!

    If i could score this in the negatives i would! Somehow i missed that this is a graphic novel........ not even remotely worth the money!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Did not care for this book.

    While characters are familiar, the graphic novel platform took away from the book as a whole. Distracting to read & not at all the Koontz novels I am used to.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    it's a graphic novel!

    I'm very disappointed. When I bought this book I missed that it was a graphic novel. I love Koontz books and thought this was a new installment of the Odd Series. I have NO interest in graphic novels and don't feel they are worth the money. If I want a picture book I'll borrow one of my children's!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    I missed the part where it said 'graphic novel' because I was so

    I missed the part where it said 'graphic novel' because I was so excited about a new Odd Thomas novel. You can't grasp the essence of Odd Thomas in a comic book format -- extremely disappointed. A failed experiment.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    Hey Dean! Why isn't this available for us Kindle users? I'd lik

    Hey Dean! Why isn't this available for us Kindle users? I'd like to read this despite the poor reviews. Get it on over to Amazon please!!!

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4