Customer Reviews for

The House of Power (Atherton Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Amazing!

    Atherton is a suspenseful book, which makes it a page turner. I highly recommended this book. Trust me. You will love it!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2013

    Amazing book with suspense around every turn!

    Amazing book with suspense around every turn!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Perfect Childrens Thriller

    I love these kinds of books! I will admit, it did look strange at first, however, once picked up, it will never be put back down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Breathtaking!

    "Atherton: The House of Power," by sensational author Patrick Carman, author of the "Land of Elyon" and "Skeleton Creek" series, is the first novel in the "Atherton" trilogy, which is truly unlike any other! Packed full of mystery and suspense that just keeps building up with each chapter, this book is full of unique characters and introduces a whole new world to readers! As an interactive activity, readers can log onto Atherton websites(unlockdrhardingsbrain.com and athertonseries.com) to enter in codes from the book, look at drawings, audio files, video segments, and discover exclusive information. Because this book was literally impossible to put down, I read it in just one sitting! It also constantly has the reader thinking about it! With a cliff-hanger ending that makes the reader excited to begin book two, "Ahterton: Rivers of Fire," "Atherton: The House of Power" is an amazing read that no one should miss out on! So, what are you waiting for? Do yourself a big favor and dive into this breathtaking and unique trilogy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    House of Power

    THIS WAS A GREAT BOOK!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    One of my favorite books

    The muraculous world of atherton is a winderfu place with edgar ad hid friends trying to find out the secrets of Atherton. Its a great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Favorite book

    I love this biok it keeps me up late at night just wondering wat will happen next :)#1

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Carrie Spellman for TeensReadToo.com

    Edgar knows that he should be working rather than climbing and swinging in the trees, but he just can't seem to help himself -- even if it does earn him a beating from Mr. Ratikan's stick. It would hardly be the first time and it isn't likely to be the last. He also knows he shouldn't be climbing the cliffs, but he has to. <BR/><BR/>Edgar's world is shaped sort of like a three-leveled top. The top level, the Highlands, are populated by the well-to-do people. They control the water for all of the other levels. If you fell off of the Highlands, and didn't die, you would land on the middle level, Tabletop, which is the level Edgar lives on. They are the workers who harvest food and raise animals. They receive water based on how well they feed the people above. If you fell off of Tabletop and weren't killed by the fall to the Flatlands, you would either be eaten by the monsters that live there, or die of starvation. If you could survive long enough to fall off of the Flatlands, you would fall off of the earth. <BR/><BR/>Edgar's father fell off of the middle level when Edgar was just a small boy. Edgar has one memory of him, though. The older he gets, the weaker the memory becomes, but he knows that it has to do with a book that he is supposed to find. It's hidden in the cliffs between the top and middle levels. So Edgar climbs, and searches, whenever he can. <BR/><BR/>In one day Edgar finds the book, climbs all the way to the Highlands (forbidden), and makes a friend (hopefully) there. The biggest discovery Edgar makes that day could be he most dangerous of all. The Highlands are sinking. If the cliffs keep shuddering, eventually the Highlands and Tabletop could be level with each other! That thought alone sends Edgar off on the adventure of a lifetime. <BR/><BR/>Edgar is off. He is on a search for answers, for the right questions, for his destiny. It's going to get far worse before it gets better. <BR/><BR/>This book is a fantastic mix of mad scientist, alternate worlds, and realistic people. Patrick Carman hasn't missed a trick in this one; believable characters, a fully imagined and realized world, and an absorbing plot. I had a hard time putting this book down. I can't wait to see what happens next! Though while you're waiting you should check out the very cool, interactive website www.athertonseries.com.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a great page turner for all ages. The characters are lif

    This is a great page turner for all ages. The characters are life-like and the descriptions of the setting are so realistic that I feel like I could just reach out and touch one of the fig trees in the grove.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Love it

    Love this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Awsome book

    This is AWSOME book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Oh my goodness

    I read this book over and over again. This book truely is a must have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    Atherton the House of Power is an unforgettable, original advent

    Atherton the House of Power is an unforgettable, original adventure book. This book left me staggering backwards in awe at how amazing the plot and dialogue is. I’ve never read anything like it! I rated this book five out of five dried figs, because that is the primary source of food in Atherton, very important to the people, because they trade most of it for their water. The books deserves the best rating because of how well written and designed it is. The book is about a boy who lives in a world that consists of three interesting levels. The highest is called the Highlands, for the wealthy and intelligent people. The middle is called tabletop, where the workers and animals live. Workers in tabletop farm animals like rabbits and sheep, and farm figs in return for water from the Highlands. The lowest level is very dangerous, where almost no one dares to travel. Edgar, the main character, is soon to be revealed as a rule breaker with a good cause. Throughout his adventure, he takes risks no human would ever consider, searching for clues about what is really going on. With ignorance to everything but water and figs, Edgar has much to learn about the world he lives in. The detail in the book is amazing, making you stay up late every night for just one more chapter! Here is an example of the creative detail, “… the rabbits sounded as if they’d gone to sleep. The sound persisted, like rocks scraping and sparking against each other.” Lastly, the carefully chosen wording in the story really adds to how the plot unravels itself, making the story more interesting, “Edgar listened deeply, placing his hands flat against the cliff. He could feel a vibration in the stones that made him jump back. Why was the wall shaking? It sounded to Edgar like the sound was coming from the rocks themselves… The cliff was slowly moving down, scraping against the earth of Tabletop and disappearing into the ground.” The world is changing, resulting in chaos and destruction, what will the people of tabletop do? What is to be the fate of Atherton? I highly recommend you buy this book to find out what happens.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Woo hoo!

    Awsomest book EVA!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    BEST BOOK EVER

    I love it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    AWESOMENESS

    Pretty much what the titel says

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    One of the Best books I have EVER read!

    Patrick Carman had really proved himself with this book! Everything from the people to the scenery is described in a way that makes it real. I have read this about 20 times and I can only garentee that if you liked this one, the next ones will only get better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Awesome Book!

    You go Patrick Carman! Best way to start the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    AMAZING

    I love the series just amazin good for an enjoying book for

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    Great

    A must read for young readers. Very good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3