Customer Reviews for

House of Secrets

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

An amazing look into lives we like to pretend don't exsist

These book was grafic and detailed. It is not for the faint at heart. It is a sad look into the life of a controling cultish man and the people he controled.
There were times that I was so disgusted that I didn't want to read anymore but yet it had captivated me and ...
These book was grafic and detailed. It is not for the faint at heart. It is a sad look into the life of a controling cultish man and the people he controled.
There were times that I was so disgusted that I didn't want to read anymore but yet it had captivated me and I had to go on.

posted by MNgirl69 on July 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

full of lies and the most untrue True crime

This book is more fiction than Garfield. People who read this book, enjoy the fiction of it, but don't judge people and think all that stuff happened. Someone wrote it to sell books, not to tell the real story of what happened. The parts about the Children and how scr...
This book is more fiction than Garfield. People who read this book, enjoy the fiction of it, but don't judge people and think all that stuff happened. Someone wrote it to sell books, not to tell the real story of what happened. The parts about the Children and how screwed up they are now...... not true at all!! The mother,,,,, is innocent and did not do all the horrible things this book says. She is only guilty of trying to keep her children safe and guilty of being scared of her husband.

posted by Anonymous on January 20, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An amazing look into lives we like to pretend don't exsist

    These book was grafic and detailed. It is not for the faint at heart. It is a sad look into the life of a controling cultish man and the people he controled.
    There were times that I was so disgusted that I didn't want to read anymore but yet it had captivated me and I had to go on.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    Neighbor...

    My family still lives across the street (wales)... I have a couple of stories that I would like to share, but was never asked...

    PS: The pond has a nickname that I don't think I should share...

    Higgins

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    true story

    I am willie sextons neighbor it was true that the father was a sicko i fell sorry for the children they was at there fathers mercy just to survive.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2006

    I am the brother of Estella who lived with them

    I lived with the family and whent to the police about one year befor things got the way it did. The police treated my complaint like as if I was trying to get them in trouble. Nothing was done just after I did this Willie was ordered by his father to burn the house witch he did.It did not burn completly and was rebuilt. I lived with them for two years and was never ask any questions about what I seen, Eddie ordered a hit on me for going to the police. I changed my name and whent on the road driving truck for a large co. I lived out of my truck for several years and stayed on the move so that I could not be found by them. Now that I am retired I move a lot to keep from being found and killed. This is no way for any one to live this book dose not begine to tell what whent on in this house.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2005

    Sad but true

    I live only 8 miles where the Sexton's lived in Massillon (Jackson Twp), Ohio. The house still stands but people move and out on a regular basis. The pond in front of the house has a strange green slim on it all the time. You can only wonder what is in that pond, from what i read I can only image. Not only is the book gross but when you drive past the house on Wales Road you can feel the erieness.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    I could not put this book down! Wonderfully disturbing. Some peo

    I could not put this book down! Wonderfully disturbing. Some people are so sick! I see one review standing up for the family. Obviously someone close to the family. You would have to be crazy to believe these people were innocent!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Horrible but Facinating!

    This is a really sick book. It is very detailed and really grabs your attention. Its horrid what these kids had to go threw. I just hope these kids have moved on and dont carry on the abuse. You may think these kids are to blame but they grew up like that. They were manipulated and didnt think the things they were doing were wrong. Its hard to feel bad for the mother, Yeah Im sure she was afraid of her husband but to let all that go on..I feel she is just as guilty. The real hard-breaker is that Joel Good got trapped in this. They should have just let him go back to florida. Sick story of incest, abuse and murder. I highy recommend this book for people that love True Crime.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2007

    full of lies and the most untrue True crime

    This book is more fiction than Garfield. People who read this book, enjoy the fiction of it, but don't judge people and think all that stuff happened. Someone wrote it to sell books, not to tell the real story of what happened. The parts about the Children and how screwed up they are now...... not true at all!! The mother,,,,, is innocent and did not do all the horrible things this book says. She is only guilty of trying to keep her children safe and guilty of being scared of her husband.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    THIS BOOK IS A MUST READ

    THIS BOOK WAS VERY WELL WRITTEN BY LOWELL Cauffiel and very well detailed. It very sad what the children went through as well as becoming vitims to there father

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend

    If you like True Crime books, this is a good read. I was disgusted with the way this father controlled his family and the perverse mind he had. It's almost unbelievable that people can commit such crime against their own children and make them think it's ok-normal. I can't believe that women like his wife stood by and allowed him to violate the children, she should have been forbidden to have children! I am giving this review after years later of reading this book, it is a book that has never left my mind. I value my family, my children, perhaps that is why.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Disturbing and fascinating view into the Sexton family!

    This was a true crime novel depicting the crime and trial of Eddie Lee Sexton, the head of "America's Most Dysfunctional Family". It was a detailed and shocking description of the crimes of the Sexton family, which included many different forms of incest (he fathered three of his own grandchildren!), abuse, and murder. Eventually convicted for ordering the murder of his infant grandson and son-in-law, the crimes this man committed to his own family are absolutely beyond comprehension. I read this book incredibly fast, kept hooked by the disturbing and graphic details. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for gaudy entertainment (made harsher by the fact that it is a true story) that can rival any horror movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2009

    Definitely Intriguing

    I have to admit I am a loyal Ann Rule fan! I only read true crime, because they truly catch my attention. Lowell really did a wonderful job getting into the mindset of a complete and total dysfuctional family on this one. I really enjoyed reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    An Amazing book!!

    This book was sooooo good! I didn't want to ever put it down. I don't think i have ever read a book so fast! It was full of twists and turns. READ IT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    A can't put down book of real life and crime

    Never boring, kept me reading! Tastefully done without leaving out the awe or edge of events happening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    From the Author

    I felt it important to respond to the slanderous review here that House of Secrets was a work of 'fiction' and contained numerous lies. As stated in the preface, everything in the book is taken from police and court records and hundreds of hours of taped interviews with key participants. My investigation took three years on this case and there's not a single sentence of 'fictionalization' in the work. Unfortunately, for those impacted by the Sexton crimes, it is all true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2007

    A sickening story, but a good read

    I live close to where this happened. The name 'Sexton' still makes most residents' hair stand on end in the area. This is a compelling read that you cannot put down. Equally as horrifying is the atrocious spelling in most of the reviews of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2006

    Haunting!

    Engrossing- i read about 6 books evry 12 days and this i finished in 1 1/2 days -, it is disturbing but also very real. I know this goes on every day in someones house and that is whats more scary then the book--read it- learn something- this book will haunt you in your dreams.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2005

    Unbeliveable

    I cant believe how some people can do the things that this family did. I was so appaled at the mother and father!! i wonder what has happened to the family since the father went to jail?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2005

    very disturbing family

    this book was very disturbing and also sick of how the father would have the nerve to sleep with his own daughter and have a baby with her I thought that was very sick. And most of all what is even more sick is that sherry married her father and had his baby the he had her later kill little skipper because he was crying. The mother was no better because she knew what was going on and never did anything about it. Eddie (the father)also had sherry's brothers beat up Joel Goode and kill him. This book when I first read it I could not put it down Ann Rule did a very good job of writing this book Thanks Ann

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2004

    Unbelievable

    I could not put this book down. This is by far one of the best true crime stories I have read. It is unbelievable what kind of sick people are in this world. Must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3