Customer Reviews for

The House of Silk: A Sherlock Holmes Novel

Average Rating 4
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Terrific pastiche!

    Holmes and Watson solve an ugly crime - or two or three - outwitting truly depraved criminals and bringing to light a corruption so secret and powerful that even Mycroft warns Sherlock from it -- and cannot come to their aid. It's a sound, consistent story, and each character rings true. Watson's references to his other adventures with Holmes are both relevant and revealing -- we're brought into the reflections of an older Watson, whose profound respect and love of Holmes remain unchanged, as does his rueful expressions of his own limitations and his not infrequent irritation with his great friend. They are the best kind of friends -- brothers by choice. I'm a huge fan of mysteries, of London, of Holmes and Holmes pastiche. This is a great example of each. I had a pretty strong sense early on in the story where and what the conspiracy involved -- but a terrific twist at the end caught me totally by surprise. I hope Horowitz chooses to do more. Fans of Victorian/Edwardian England, Holmes and Watson, and solid old-fashioned mysteries would enjoy this.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    Loved it!

    Brilliantly done and very well written. As a die-hard Sherlock fan, I can be picky about books like these, but I found this one to be a perfect mix of Sherlock+great plot+fast pace.
    Definitely recommend and hope he will do more.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Elementary

    Maybe it’s a coming trend. First the Gershwin estate authorizes a Broadway version of “Porgy & Bess,” in an attempt to milk its assets. Then the Arthur Conan Doyle estate authorizes for the first time a Sherlock Holmes novel. Another similar event and we might just be enjoying a fad.

    Be that as it may, this novel is based on one of the many unpublished adventures of the famous detective, with Watson, now retired, recalling one last case a year after Holmes’ death. It begins when a London art dealer visits Baker Street and tells Holmes and Watson about his confrontation in the United States with a Boston gang which has murdered a customer of his and which he believes followed him back to England. From this flows an intriguing tale far afield from the original surmise.

    The writing flows like an original Sherlock Holmes tale, and the logic and analysis reflect the virtuosity and great mind of the singular detective. Too often attempts to recreate classics fail or end up being something else. Such is not the case with this novel, and it is recommended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Wonderful read. Do not wait to read this book!

    I loved this novel, it read like the real Conan Doyle.. Just wonderful. The story developed slowly, but to better savor it... This is Conan Doyle with universal human conditions akin to Charles Dickens. The novel is very well constructed.. it is a beauty...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Fabulous. I couldn't put it down. Horowitz not only captured t

    Fabulous. I couldn't put it down. Horowitz not only captured the essence and feel of Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson I think he outdid Doyle. I've read all of the originals, seen all the movies and TV series, Horowitz really stays true to the characters and all of their quirks, mannerisms, and idiosyncracies. I hope he writes some more Sherlock Holmes mysteries.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Very enjoyable Sherlock Holmes novel. As good as many of the original Conan Doyle mysteries. Hopefully, more novels by Anothony Horowitz will follow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Channels Sir Arthur's spirit

    Horowitz truly captures the spirit of Doyle. I found my self forgetting that this is a contemporary recreation, and found myself once again swept away by the exploits of fictions greatest dectective. I hope Horowitz will continue to bring the Sherlockian world back to life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Excellent

    Loved it. If your a fan of Sherlock Holmes, you won't be disappointed. I was hesitant about it, thinking no one could capture the true essence of SH, but happy to say, it does. Read it in one sitting. Looking forward to more books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Good r T Good to be back with Holmes &Watson again

    For the fan of Sherlock Holmes and Victorian London this was an enjoyable & quick read,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2014

    Subtle and surprising

    Subtle and surprising

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Finding a new Sherlock Holmes novel is akin to learning that the

    Finding a new Sherlock Holmes novel is akin to learning that there is one more Cherry Popsicle left in a box you thought was empty.  For a moment, life could not be better.  When the novel lives up to the expectations of such a famous detective, with a “modern” crime, the elation increases exponentially.  Mr. Horowitz has earned his place among “The Baker Street Irregulars” and displays not only his talent as a writer but as one who seems to channel Sir Author Conan Doyle’s most famous Personal Detective.  
    The story, narrated and “written” by Dr. Watson, is set in the 1890’s and the listener is informed that the tale is so horrific and of such danger to The Government that it must not be told “perhaps for 100 years!”  Hence, this “new” Sherlock Holmes story is actually placed early in the career of Baker Street’s most famous resident.  When a gentleman, Edmund Carstairs, visits Mr. Holmes to request help in his being menaced by a stranger who has the markings of a gang member from Boston, where Mr. Carstairs had recently visited as part of his fine arts business.  Of course, the simple task of discovering who and why this stranger is shadowing a respectable London businessman is but the very tip of a morass of evil, entwining all levels of a very stratified society and ends with a body count that would equal a wild-west shootout.  In the course of solving this mystery, Holmes is: warned to stay away from the case by his brother, Mycroft, is assaulted, drugged, arrested and yet manages to be unsurprised by any event that occurs while solving the crime in an “obvious,” for Holmes, resolution.
    The crime is a contemporary one to any era but one not addressed in mysteries until the last 10-15 years.  Because of the heinous nature of the crime, according to the aged Watson as he pens the account of the adventure, its publishing must be delayed.  It serves as a commentary on the present age that such crimes continue to be perpetrated and little is there to be done to actually halt its being continued. The reality that such crimes are now being exposed brings little comfort to its victims.  
    Mr. Horowitz does a superb job of bringing a story that is 125 years “old” into today. I hope he will allow Mr. Watson to remember further untold mysteries solved by Mr. Holmes.  Learning about Victorian London, The Baker Street Irregulars, Inspector Lestroud and the trappings of 221b Baker Street are too dear to be absent from the world for long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Wonderful read

    Excellent - a wonderful pageturner with fantastic imagery that adheres nicely to Doyle's original characters/world.



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Highly recommend this book

    If you love anything Sherlock Holmes you will love this book....the authors description of details made you think you were right there with the sleuths. I want more please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    PC not withstanding

    the book overall matched the original's flair. Watson's bent on social engenerring and sense of justice reflected a more recent authoring that I felt detracted from the narrative. That being said, the book was otherwise excellent. Would I purchase another? Yes. Would the author again pull out the soap box? Probably. If you like the SH stories though, you will be glad that you read this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    worth it

    Very good. So glad I tried it.I was skeptical but really enjoyed it. I would read more if he writes them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    i am not much for writing reviews, but i just finished this nove

    i am not much for writing reviews, but i just finished this novel and i must recommend it for Holmes and Watson fans. like many of you, i have consistently searched for new stories and re-read the Canon every year. there are several "nice" works out there, but this is far and away the closest thing to the original that i have come across. and, funnily enough, what makes it work is that the author didn't try to mimic the original voice, like so many do, or sprinkle in quotes from Canon works,usually in the most awkward places. this is an older, world-weary Watson re-telling a difficult, painful story and it worked for me. i must admit to being a big fan of the authors tv work, and i see his deft touch in the dialogue and descriptions found here. its not doyle, and no modern work really can be, but if you love Holmes and Watson, it is a wonderful trip to a well-loved destination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Anonymous

    Well done, old chap! Sir Arthur would be pleased.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Very true to originals

    Horowitz has done a masterful job of capturing these late, great characters. He couples that with his already masterul abillity at pacing and is able to produce a truly wonderful book. Though the end mught not be up to some people's expectations, I did think it was satisfactory and it gave me quite a grin and a chuckle. If you liked the old ones you will like this one too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    horrible book! stay away from it! true sherlock fans would like

    horrible book! stay away from it! true sherlock fans would like it ok until the end which was very diappointing...so dont even bother wasting your money on this

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    If You Love Mysteries, You Won't Be Disappointed

    This book would appeal to anyone who loves a good mystery, not just Sherlock Holmes fans. The author has done a masterful job in that I often felt like I was reading Arthur Conan Doyle. He portrays the atmosphere of Victorian London and the characters of Holmes and Watson extremely well. The suspense builds to a satisfying ending, and I was able to solve only a part of the mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5