Customer Reviews for

The House of Silk: A Sherlock Holmes Novel

Average Rating 4
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Terrific pastiche!

    Holmes and Watson solve an ugly crime - or two or three - outwitting truly depraved criminals and bringing to light a corruption so secret and powerful that even Mycroft warns Sherlock from it -- and cannot come to their aid. It's a sound, consistent story, and each character rings true. Watson's references to his other adventures with Holmes are both relevant and revealing -- we're brought into the reflections of an older Watson, whose profound respect and love of Holmes remain unchanged, as does his rueful expressions of his own limitations and his not infrequent irritation with his great friend. They are the best kind of friends -- brothers by choice. I'm a huge fan of mysteries, of London, of Holmes and Holmes pastiche. This is a great example of each. I had a pretty strong sense early on in the story where and what the conspiracy involved -- but a terrific twist at the end caught me totally by surprise. I hope Horowitz chooses to do more. Fans of Victorian/Edwardian England, Holmes and Watson, and solid old-fashioned mysteries would enjoy this.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    Loved it!

    Brilliantly done and very well written. As a die-hard Sherlock fan, I can be picky about books like these, but I found this one to be a perfect mix of Sherlock+great plot+fast pace.
    Definitely recommend and hope he will do more.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Elementary

    Maybe it’s a coming trend. First the Gershwin estate authorizes a Broadway version of “Porgy & Bess,” in an attempt to milk its assets. Then the Arthur Conan Doyle estate authorizes for the first time a Sherlock Holmes novel. Another similar event and we might just be enjoying a fad.

    Be that as it may, this novel is based on one of the many unpublished adventures of the famous detective, with Watson, now retired, recalling one last case a year after Holmes’ death. It begins when a London art dealer visits Baker Street and tells Holmes and Watson about his confrontation in the United States with a Boston gang which has murdered a customer of his and which he believes followed him back to England. From this flows an intriguing tale far afield from the original surmise.

    The writing flows like an original Sherlock Holmes tale, and the logic and analysis reflect the virtuosity and great mind of the singular detective. Too often attempts to recreate classics fail or end up being something else. Such is not the case with this novel, and it is recommended.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Very enjoyable Sherlock Holmes novel. As good as many of the original Conan Doyle mysteries. Hopefully, more novels by Anothony Horowitz will follow.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Good r T Good to be back with Holmes &Watson again

    For the fan of Sherlock Holmes and Victorian London this was an enjoyable & quick read,

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    PC not withstanding

    the book overall matched the original's flair. Watson's bent on social engenerring and sense of justice reflected a more recent authoring that I felt detracted from the narrative. That being said, the book was otherwise excellent. Would I purchase another? Yes. Would the author again pull out the soap box? Probably. If you like the SH stories though, you will be glad that you read this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    worth it

    Very good. So glad I tried it.I was skeptical but really enjoyed it. I would read more if he writes them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    i am not much for writing reviews, but i just finished this nove

    i am not much for writing reviews, but i just finished this novel and i must recommend it for Holmes and Watson fans. like many of you, i have consistently searched for new stories and re-read the Canon every year. there are several "nice" works out there, but this is far and away the closest thing to the original that i have come across. and, funnily enough, what makes it work is that the author didn't try to mimic the original voice, like so many do, or sprinkle in quotes from Canon works,usually in the most awkward places. this is an older, world-weary Watson re-telling a difficult, painful story and it worked for me. i must admit to being a big fan of the authors tv work, and i see his deft touch in the dialogue and descriptions found here. its not doyle, and no modern work really can be, but if you love Holmes and Watson, it is a wonderful trip to a well-loved destination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Good book

    I found this book enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    A worthwhile Sherlock Holmes patische. I think Doyle would approve.

    In all, I really enjoyed this visit to Victorian London and the world of Sherlock Holmes. Horowitz definitely captured the flavor and tempo of the Holmes canon stories, while occasionally falling into the same problems I find with the A.C. Doyle originals.

    There are two mysteries in this novel that intersect. The first one is very typical Holmes material and is satisfyingly creepy at first and then neatly concluded at the end of the book. The middle of the novel splits off into a second investigation that is very dark and foreboding, and at times, a little contrived.

    Anyone writing a serious Holmes story, as this obviously is an attempt to do, is bound by the history and established timelines of the Doyle works. This makes for plotting problems that sometime get in the way of the story. Also there are things that authors want to do with the familiar characters just for the coolness factor that hopefully, Holmes buffs would appreciate. Unfortunately this may go right over the heads of someone who is less a student of the stories. Both of these problems crop up here.

    There is a meeting between two well-known characters in this story that never happened or was even referred to in the Doyle works. Since the history is very clear on this, the author went way out on a limb to make this work and be believable. I think the author was going after this coolness factor, but in my opinion he tried way too hard. The whole episode is dropped right into the middle of the fast moving story with the result that the narrative comes to a screeching halt. I could see no point to the whole thing as it is never referred to again, and doesn't really affect the outcome of either mystery. A person unfamiliar with the written Sherlock Holmes material would be even more confused with this episode as he wouldn't even understand the "coolness" factor which seems to be the only reason it exists.

    That being said, I definitely recommend this work to anyone who has read the originals stories, and the casual reader as well. For the most part, it delivers on all the promises a Holmes novel should be expected to make. Holmes is brilliant, Watson is steady and a good right hand, even if he is usually in the dark as to where things are going, and the villians are cunning in their plots and admiring of the Great Detective when they are caught.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    its good, not great

    This book is a very old fashion setting. It is a book full of mystery. As you read you will uncover secrets that will leave you in shock. This book is very interesting if you are a fan of detective work. I hope you enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1