BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The House of Silk: A Sherlock Holmes Novel

Average Rating 4
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Wonderful read. Do not wait to read this book!

    I loved this novel, it read like the real Conan Doyle.. Just wonderful. The story developed slowly, but to better savor it... This is Conan Doyle with universal human conditions akin to Charles Dickens. The novel is very well constructed.. it is a beauty...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Fabulous. I couldn't put it down. Horowitz not only captured t

    Fabulous. I couldn't put it down. Horowitz not only captured the essence and feel of Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson I think he outdid Doyle. I've read all of the originals, seen all the movies and TV series, Horowitz really stays true to the characters and all of their quirks, mannerisms, and idiosyncracies. I hope he writes some more Sherlock Holmes mysteries.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Channels Sir Arthur's spirit

    Horowitz truly captures the spirit of Doyle. I found my self forgetting that this is a contemporary recreation, and found myself once again swept away by the exploits of fictions greatest dectective. I hope Horowitz will continue to bring the Sherlockian world back to life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Excellent

    Loved it. If your a fan of Sherlock Holmes, you won't be disappointed. I was hesitant about it, thinking no one could capture the true essence of SH, but happy to say, it does. Read it in one sitting. Looking forward to more books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2014

    Subtle and surprising

    Subtle and surprising

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Wonderful read

    Excellent - a wonderful pageturner with fantastic imagery that adheres nicely to Doyle's original characters/world.



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Highly recommend this book

    If you love anything Sherlock Holmes you will love this book....the authors description of details made you think you were right there with the sleuths. I want more please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Anonymous

    Well done, old chap! Sir Arthur would be pleased.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Very true to originals

    Horowitz has done a masterful job of capturing these late, great characters. He couples that with his already masterul abillity at pacing and is able to produce a truly wonderful book. Though the end mught not be up to some people's expectations, I did think it was satisfactory and it gave me quite a grin and a chuckle. If you liked the old ones you will like this one too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    If You Love Mysteries, You Won't Be Disappointed

    This book would appeal to anyone who loves a good mystery, not just Sherlock Holmes fans. The author has done a masterful job in that I often felt like I was reading Arthur Conan Doyle. He portrays the atmosphere of Victorian London and the characters of Holmes and Watson extremely well. The suspense builds to a satisfying ending, and I was able to solve only a part of the mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It will be loved by readers from young adults to adults alike.

    Reviewed by Author Anna del C. Dye. for Readers Favorite

    This is a delightful tale worthy of the original master. It is a story about Sherlock Holmes in the case of "The House of Silk". It is well-told, entertaining, and full of Arthur Conan Doyle’s flavor. The tale is done from John Watson’s point of view. He does a great job of retelling it to us. I listened to the audio book. The voice of Derek Jacobi was perfect for the character of Watson. His voice is clear, timely, and full of feeling which makes the tale come alive.

    Watson chooses to spend some time with Sherlock Holmes at his apartment while his wife Mary visits friends in another town. Soon the respectable owner of an art gallery comes to visit with a tale of bandits and gunfire. Because of this battle, the art gallery owner thinks he is sought out for revenge by a man who is soon found dead. The case could have finished there, but many other turns and macabre details come to the expert eyes of Holmes. In a matter of just days, he finds himself in America and with a tale of his own. Holmes’ brother begs him to stop nosing about the House of Silks, but this only fires his desires to find out who they are. Of course, the death of a young orphan hanging over his head won’t let him stop until it is almost too late. Believing that Holmes has gunned down the sister of the dead orphan, the whole police force turns against him and off spins a case that already has too many twisted threads.

    I found this tale an awesome tribute to the true master of Sherlock Holmes. It is a must have and a great asset to any library of classic works like A. C. Doyle’s. You will find that this tale takes you back to old London when the evildoer fears to attract the eye of the world’s best detective. It will be loved by readers from young adults to adults alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    Well done!

    Excellent story in the tradition of the originals. The author does a great job of Incorporating the language and mood of those earlier stories. You just can't beat a good Sherlock Holmes mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    A great Sherlock Holmes story!!

    If I hadn't been a fan for a long time of Sherlock Holmes, and was unfamiliar with all of Aurthur Conan Doyle's work, I would have thought this was an original story by Doyle. Horowitz did a magnificent job in the flow of the mystery and the style of the writing. He also did an excellent job with telling the story through Watson's pen and recollection. I have read other authors' Sherlock Holmes stories and this was by far the best one. This was a fun book to read and did not disappoint! Hope to see more by him that would again receive the "nod of approval" by the Doyle Estate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    Great Book! Thoroughly enjoyed it.

    In the tradition of the originals. Fans will appreciate the story and the style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    What can I say...Love Sherlock Holmes.

    Love everything about this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    Awesome reading

    Love the book...I felt like I was reading a novel written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle himself. Holmes and Watson "sounded" as they do in Doyle's stories. Only I thought it was a little to dark for Holmes, but he did have a few that were dark too.

    I'm ready for another Holmes story by Horowitz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Loved it!!

    This book was great! I am a devotee of all things to do with Sherlock Holmes & this book was a wonderful addition to my collection!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Wonderful!

    The House of Silk truly felt like it could have come from the pen of Arthur Conan Doyle. The plot and mystery are well conceived and engaging. The subject matter is as dark or darker than anything Doyle tackled, but the character voices are so genuine and the tone so spot-on that I never felt I was reading an "imitation." I sincerely hope Mr. Horowitz will revisit Holmes and Watson again and again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Highly recommended.

    Excellent book. Very well written. Would recommend to anyone...even those who are not Sherlock Holmes fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    Excellent Read

    The only things I "collect" are Sherlock Holmes stories and this is an excellent addition to my library. Horowitz remains faithful to the style and language of Conan Doyle. This, coupled with a fascinating story, make this book a must read for the serious Sherlock Holmes fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3