Customer Reviews for

The House of Thunder

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wild Ride

Dean Koontz is the master of the twist, and this story had so many it nearly gave me whiplash. You're never sure what genre he's aiming for - horror, mystery, espionage thriller, love story, sci-fi -, but that's all part of the fun. Sure, there are the usual Koontz miss...
Dean Koontz is the master of the twist, and this story had so many it nearly gave me whiplash. You're never sure what genre he's aiming for - horror, mystery, espionage thriller, love story, sci-fi -, but that's all part of the fun. Sure, there are the usual Koontz missteps: a far-fetched denoument which strains believability to the breaking point and beyond, a corny love story, and a very dated Cold War sensibility. This early effort by Mr. Koontz wouldn't be out of place as the plot of a Twilight Zone episode. Worth reading, especially for Koontz fans.

posted by Anonymous on May 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

This is one of those mysteries where you have absolutely no idea what is going on until the very end. Is she imagining things because of her brain injury? Is she really seeing ghosts come back from the dead to take their revenge? Or is it all just an elaborate plot to s...
This is one of those mysteries where you have absolutely no idea what is going on until the very end. Is she imagining things because of her brain injury? Is she really seeing ghosts come back from the dead to take their revenge? Or is it all just an elaborate plot to send her crazy? I really enjoyed most this book and I would have loved to give it a higher mark. Sadly, though, it was let down by the ending, which seemed to be rushed and didn't really fit the rest of the story. It is as if the author ran out of inspiration at a certain point and just tacked on a stock ending. I was left with a feeling of dissapointment and anti-climax when I finished this novel. Such a shame.

posted by seldombites on February 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An intense read!

    this is one of my favorites from Dean. It had me from the start to the very last page. If you love koontz, you'll LOVE this book! I don't really ever get "scared" reading a book, but this definitely had me a bit frightened throughout the pages. I recommend you read this with someone else in the house! Overall, a fantastic read. Well done Koontz :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    Amazing!

    This book had me up ALL night! For one, I could not put it down, and for two, I was too scared to go to sleep! This book was absolutely fantastic! I recommend it to anyone who likes scary novels.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    A twist I never saw coming

    I have been a fan of this book for many years, I purchased it for my Nook so I would always have it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Another great book

    A must read! Love Koontz!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Great plot

    Loved this book. Entertaining

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Good read

    I couldn't put this book down. Had me guessing till the end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2004

    Dean Koontz does it again!

    Dean Koontz never fails. Once again he kept me on the edge of my seat throughout the entire novel. This story is full of twists and unexpected turns. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2004

    Unpredicatable

    One of the best Koontz novels I have ever read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2002

    Get the spelling right! That's Thornton!

    Hi! I have read many of Dean Koontz's books and enjoy his work. I have not read, The House of Thunder, but, now will put it on my list of books to read. Why? Because my name is Susan Thornton. The same as the main chartacter. In the "Annotation" and "From the Publisher" it is spelled incorrectly-Thorton. In "From the Critics" it is spelled correctly-Thornton. We have seen it spelled incorrectly before. We have never met a Thornton that spells it without the "n". I guess people can not get it right. It is an old English name, dating back many centuries, and people can not get the spelling right! I'm looking forward to reading the book.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2001

    Amazing introduction to Koontz

    This was a very good book. It kept me on my toes and I literally could not put it down. I finished this book in four days. It was a very odd story, told extrememly well. It was not predictable in the slightest. One of Koontz finest works. Superb!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2001

    My very first book and looks like everybody esles also. LOL

    This is my very first book of Dean Koontz and I got so hooked on to it that I was reading this book well into the morning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2001

    Koontz' Best Book

    This was the first of dean Koontz' books that I read. It got me hooked on his books. His endings are twisted and demented but I love them all the same. If you need to read a book for a class or for any reason I would suggest reading this one. You don't always expect his endings and the book will keep you turning the pages for hours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2000

    House of Thunder has twisted ending

    House of Thunder was the very first Dean Koontz I read. It took me a little while to get into, but the relationship between the characters got me involved. And the ending!! Oh man, it's totally out there. A lot of Koontz's endings are like that. But he makes everything, no matter how weird, believable, so you're never disappointed. I got hooked with House of Thunder 4 years ago and I've read almost every one of Koontz's books since.There hasn't been a single one that I haven't liked, but I have my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2000

    What book did the others read?!

    Okay...let's get one thing straight here: THE HOUSE OF THUNDER WAS AWESOME!! Yes, the topic of the novel might have strayed from the cliche's that most authors tend to flock to, but isn't that what makes an author fabulous!? YES! Koontz strayed from the formula! He was dangerous! He took the road less traveled by, and twisted our minds! It can't get any better than that! So what if the ending was not what you expected it to be!?? The beauty of his work is the fact that you cannot figure out the conclusion in the first two pages! Come on people! Live a little! The House of Thunder was magnificent!!!!!!!! READ IT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2