Customer Reviews for

The House of the Scorpion

Average Rating 4.5
( 627 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(452)

4 Star

(114)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

the house of the scorpion

I am a 14 year old Peruvian who now comprehends the meaning of endurance. Matteo Alacrán, a clone, must embrace death, torture, hatred and treachery to prove he's not a brainless clone like others. This book takes you in Matteo or Matt's life starting when he's a y...
I am a 14 year old Peruvian who now comprehends the meaning of endurance. Matteo Alacrán, a clone, must embrace death, torture, hatred and treachery to prove he's not a brainless clone like others. This book takes you in Matteo or Matt's life starting when he's a young boy; you'll see the pain he undergoes and a bit of romance. The scenery takes place in future Mexico called Aztlán governed by El Patrón, a drug lord. I highly recommend this book to sci-fi lovers because this book is a real page turner.

posted by alvaro-lms on February 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The House of the Scorpion

This book was pretty exciting, but I thought the characters were shallow. I dont know, there was just something off. The plot was quite intersting, and the science was easy to understand.

posted by Anonymous on April 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    The House of the Scorpion

    This book was pretty exciting, but I thought the characters were shallow. I dont know, there was just something off. The plot was quite intersting, and the science was easy to understand.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    I have to read it for school!

    Is it a good book? I have to read it for school!!!

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2007

    This book was very interesting!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    In the House of the Scorpion the main character has a lot of trouble figuring out who he really is and has to go though a lot of different obstacles. He finds out who is on his side and how evil people can really be, he runs into action, drama and a big adventure to find the only person who loves him for him. I though that this book had its ups and downs and was very interesting at the end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Fairly Decent Title The story is about a clone, Matt, who jus

    A Fairly Decent Title

    The story is about a clone, Matt, who just wants to be accepted. But because he's a clone everyone treats him inferior. Also because he's the clone of a Drug Lord with the same name, the family household he grow's up with see him as a threat to their future inheritance. But it's not all bad for Matt because he slowly finds friendship in the few people who accepts him as an equal. But time is running out for Matt when he discovers his purpose is merely to provide compatible organs to his Drug Lord "father". The theme of nature vs nurture is prevalent in this story. Because Matt the Drug Lord is a ruthless, selfish old man who uses people for his own ends does that mean Matt the clone will turn out the same? Or does environmental factors like the friends he make shape his destiny differently? Also the book touches on a debatable topic on whether clones are considered humans and should be afforded human rights. The book is an interesting SciFi drama that provides a nice distraction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Great Book if You Like Realistic Science Fiction!

    This book takes place in a futuristic "utopia" where a young boy named Matteo Alacran. Matt was harvested in a lab by El Patron, a powerful drug lord who owns the country Opium. The book is about Matt's adventures trying to figure out who and what he is and what he has to do in order to save himself and the others around him. Not only was the story of the book good, but the way it is written is excellent. However, to fully enjoy this book you have to really like science fiction. It will have you question life itself and then give you answers. a definite must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Okay...

    I had to read this book in english class last year. It wasnt the best- its kind of hard to get into but it gets good when the story picks up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A coming of age for the new age

    As far as being a book of science fiction, this work of fiction fell a little short. Whatever it was that I expected from this book, I did not fully receive. Although The House of the Scorpion is a good book to read in terms of plot, the buzz behind the cloning and harvesting of people was lacking. But, this story can be a great teaching tool. What are your thoughts about cloning? Would a clone be considered human, with emotions; beliefs; a soul? Here is a protagonist who asks himself these very questions. Matt both internally and externally searches for self identity and a sense of belonging. This novel is good to read once, maybe twice, but again, I believe this to be more a story of self discovery than a what-if-this-technology-really-existed tale. Still, This is one book that I happily have on my shelf. --FTD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    Decent, But Not Award Worthy

    I was expecting this book to blow me away, instead it left me in the dust. Many parts were grotesque, and others fairly interesting. It takes place of course in the desert and the setting just makes the story tedious. It's not a book I will read again, thought might lend to a friend and see if they like it or not. The House of the Scorpion just didn't have enough--it didn't have enough of anything as in interesting events or twists and turns to hold my attention.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2007

    The avid reader

    I believe human cloning is wrong, so the future presented was disturbing to me.The thing is, everyone says this is a good read, and it is, if you're ok with cloning. I really like how Matt has to battle with his emotions, but I just can't stand the cloning. Also, the future she did was like all sad and drug. What? Is the world gonna all be destroyed? She isn't very cheerful about it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2005

    Matt Alacran was not born he was harvested inside of a cow

    Nancy Farmer, the author of this book had a good imagination. I liked how the book took place on the border between the U.S. and Mexico ( mexico is called aztalan in the book). I also liked that the book took place 100 in the future. Another thing I liked about the book was that the main character was a clone, because I think that is a cool idea. The things I didn't like was that the charaters feelings were very repetative in the book, they always had the same feelings and worries. I also thought the book was written very repetatively. The same thing would happen preety much every day, the characters would do the same activities. I liked the plot and setting of this book but I didn't think it was very well written I give it 3 stars!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2004

    An Exciting and Adventurous Book

    This book is exciting and adventurous. It is adventurous because some kids get put in a jail, and they try to get out. Two of them get out and one is hurt so the other one takes him to his house and helps him. It is exciting when skeletons have a dead party, but some people put cameras out that are used to make the skeletons disappear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2