Customer Reviews for

The House of the Scorpion

Average Rating 4.5
( 668 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(486)

4 Star

(119)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

the house of the scorpion

I am a 14 year old Peruvian who now comprehends the meaning of endurance. Matteo Alacrán, a clone, must embrace death, torture, hatred and treachery to prove he's not a brainless clone like others. This book takes you in Matteo or Matt's life starting when he's a y...
I am a 14 year old Peruvian who now comprehends the meaning of endurance. Matteo Alacrán, a clone, must embrace death, torture, hatred and treachery to prove he's not a brainless clone like others. This book takes you in Matteo or Matt's life starting when he's a young boy; you'll see the pain he undergoes and a bit of romance. The scenery takes place in future Mexico called Aztlán governed by El Patrón, a drug lord. I highly recommend this book to sci-fi lovers because this book is a real page turner.

posted by alvaro-lms on February 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The House of the Scorpion

This book was pretty exciting, but I thought the characters were shallow. I dont know, there was just something off. The plot was quite intersting, and the science was easy to understand.

posted by Anonymous on April 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The House of the Scorpion

    The book I'm about to talk about is a three time honor award winner by Nancy Farmer. That's right I'm talking about "The House of the Scorpion". This book is one of the best books I have ever read (I'm not just saying that either). Matt (the main character of the book; also the clone) has to go through horrible torture throughout the book. He goes from hidden to hated to loved and back to hated. Celia (Matt's best friend whom he calls his mom) is the only person that cares at all about Matt. That is until he meets Maria. Maria (Matt's girlfriend) is a young, beautiful girl, without a care in the world until she meets Matt and she falls in "love" with him. Then there's Tam-Lin (Matt's "body guard") who is one of Matt's best friends. Last, but not least, El Patròn (the ruler of the opium empire) he is also known as the "villain" of the book. El Patròn is the real Matteo alacràn.

    He "lent" Matt to Celia who raised him up for 7 years. Then some kids discover him and they take him to their house after he jumps on some glass and cuts up his feet. They discover that Matt is a clone and then everyone starts mistreating him except Celia and Maria. This is where the roller coaster starts all aboard. They lock Matt up in a room and they torture him for about 4 months. Then El Patròn finds him and fires the slave that was mistreating him and torturing him, and makes her into an ejite (an ejite is someone or something that has a chip implanted in their brain so they do what they're told and only when they're told to do it). Matt, from then on, is treated like a prince.

    Matt gets anything he wants when he wants it. Everyone is forced to be nice to him (they're still not nice unless El Patròn is around) and he gets his own personal body guard. Matt discovers that El Patròn only made him to sacrifice him for his organs. Then Matt runs away and makes it to the next country over. El Patròn dies because he doesn't have the organs that he needs. Matt gets caught by the boarder guard and gets put in an orphanage. They make him eat food that's usually fed to animals. They make him work all day. If he disobeys, they punish him by beating him until he bleeds; sometimes putting him in the nurse's office. He escapes and makes it to a hospital ran by Maria's mom and he gets fed right until he's healed up. He then finds Maria once again. Maria and her mom ask Matt for a favor that risks his life. He does it and makes it past the life risking part. He discovers that Tam-Lin died. Then he becomes the ruler of the opium and shuts down/destroys the opium empire, just like Maria's mom asked.

    If you want to read the full story, I suggest reading the book. There is a lot more that I haven't told you about. This is one of the best books I have ever read in my enire life. If you wait another day to read this book you will regret it for a long time. Once you read this book you will thank yourself for the rest of your life!

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Highly Recommended - Good Read

    House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer was definitely one of the best books I have ever read. This book will lure in even the most inactive of readers. All of the characters engross you with their stories and tug at your emotions, keeping you turning pages to find out what happens to them. For those who visualize when they read, there are many descriptive passages that pull you right in the settings. The entire novel is filled with symbolism and themes that pull at the heart strings. With an extremely unexpected ending, House of the Scorpion is sure to have something for every reader.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    I started out reading this book because I had to for summer scho

    I started out reading this book because I had to for summer school; I wouldn't have chosen this book because I have a certain taste for books. Once I started this book I couldn't stop. I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. It speaks of friendship in a sea of hatred and danger. I would read this book over and over again if I could. It is worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    The House of the Scorpion has almost NOTHING TO DO WITH SCORPIAN

    The House of the Scorpion has almost NOTHING TO DO WITH SCORPIANS!!! This book was simply amazing. A very suck-into kind of book. It's full of suspensful moments. The tables turn every-so-often but it was very clear. I would reccomend it to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Pretty good

    Very good book... I do Reccomend :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    Readers beware: You will not be able to put this book down once you start it! Nancy Farmer¿s award winning novel The House of the Scorpion is an inspiring tale of friendship, survival, and hope. It is an excellent read, you will be up all night running through the pages. We are sucked into the book right from page one where the main character, Matt, is in a petri dish. We see him grow from a boy to a teenager, but most consider him as a monster - except for El Patron, the lord of Opium. El Patron loves Matt as he loves himself, because Matt is himself. The House of the Scorpion is a really powerful and hopeful story that guesses a pretty good picture of what the future could bring. Even if you are not a fantasy/science-fiction fan I think you will love this book. Farmer¿s great writing makes Matt so real. She lets the reader go totally inside Matt¿s life we feel his joy, his pain, his fears, his confusion, his longings. He's the kid in all of us trying to do his best and find his place in a world that often makes no sense. This novel is probably best for ages of 11 and up. You should be warned that it is a depressing and sad story and may not appeal to you if you are `weak-hearted`. Overall it was a great read, The House of the Scorpion has it all: science fiction based on good science, adventure, friendship, suspense, intrigue, mystery, murder and a hint of romance. Don¿t miss it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Matt is not the original Matteo Alacrán. His DNA came from El Pa

    Matt is not the original Matteo Alacrán. His DNA came from El Patrón, a powerful drug lord. Matt’s first cell was split, divided, and later
    grown in the womb of a cow. These differences made Matt revolting in the eyes of all, but El Patrón. Matt is given everything imaginable
    by El Patrón, however is this being done out of the well being of Matt or El Patrón? Matt believes he has all he could ever want, although
    could those who hate Matt be willing to kill him? As Matt grows older it reveals more secrets to his existence. Also, uncovering that the
    home he once thought was a safe haven turns to be his worst nightmare! Even supposing Matt escapes Alacrán Estate would he find
    the good heroes that could save him from the vile enemies?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Hi

    Hello

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Swaag

    Yeet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2014

    Cooper Thomas House of the Scorpion Book Review House of the

    Cooper Thomas House of the Scorpion Book Review
    House of the Scorpion, by Nancy Farmer, is set in a future country called Opium. Living there was a boy named Matteo Alacran who always thought human, until the Big House found him. They said he was a horrible animal and shunned him. They put him in a room filled with sawdust and gave him rotten food. Until they found out who he was. He was the clone of their leader, El Patron, so he was not to be harmed. He was then raised like a real boy. He became efficient at playing music and made a friend. It was only until later that he found out what he was being used for: spare parts. When El Patron got sick, he counted on his clones to give him what he needed. And at the moment, El Patron was very sick. Will Matt try to escape and let El Patron die, or will he stay loyal to his master?
    Some strengths of this book are the action and suspense, plus the development of the characters. A weakness of this book is that some parts of it are hard to get through. One part that I thought was tough to read through was when Matt was in the cabin in the poppy fields with Celia. Another part was when the eejit teacher was giving Matt the same lesson over and over again.
    Overall, House of the Scorpion is a good book. I liked the story and the characters, although some parts of the book were boring. The characters were all believable. Nancy Farmer did an excellent job writing this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Ima

    Ima touch my self with austin ear jmtil a zebra falls out my lung

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Amazing read

    Nancy farmer is an amazing author, great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    so far

    So far what i have read of thus book is really good i would tell you but for you lazy people who dont like to read and want to be read to,too bad need to learn how to do stuff yourself . Nobady is goingto be there for you in your normal life and at your job interviews so here some advice GROW UP

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    MITCHELL BROWN

    The House of the Scorpion is such an amazing book I can't stop rereading. I recomend this book to all people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Good YA read

    Read this in elementary school. Interesting plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    " The House of the Scorpion" by Nancy Farmer - 380 pag

    " The House of the Scorpion" by Nancy Farmer - 380 pages Review by Angel Garcia

    This book is a three time honor award winner. It is about a clone named Matt. He is the clone of a man named Matteo Alacran who is also known as El Patron or The Boss. El Patron has the clone made so that he can take his organs so that he can continue living. El Patron is a powerful, rich man. He is the 142 year old drug lord of a opium empire and is the villain in the story. When El Patron gets sick, Matt is called upon to be his heart donor. When Matt realizes why he was "harvested", he escapes to a place called Aztlan and is forced to work in a plankton plantation. El Patron dies because he didnt get the organs he needed to live. Matt eventually escapes to a hospital and goes back to the opium plantation and destroys it. The main characters of the story are Matt- the clone, Maria- Matts girlfriend, Tam lin- Matts bodyguard, and El Patron. The story is set in the future, but the exact date is unspecified. It takes place between the borders of Mexico, and the United States, but their names have changed. I recommend this book to anyone who likes sci fi books. It is intriguing and its easy to get sucked in to the story. The plot has many surprises and it keeps you interested. There is also a bit of romance between Matt and Maria. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    This review is helpful.

    This review is bettter than ur anus. If u agree type Obamaphone and see wut happens. Dont eat Skittlez on Mexican Mondayz cuz 10000000000000 kangarros will steal all ur food and cause death in next five dayz. Bye ur bi!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    This is one of my favorite books of all time. Matt is a clone,

    This is one of my favorite books of all time. Matt is a clone, or DNA replica, of a powerful drug lord "El Patron", who lives in a country called Opium, lying between the U.S. and Aztlan in the future. Almost everyone in the Alacran family hates and prejudices him, with the exception of a handful of people who care about him. He soon learns that escape is his only way of surviving the power hungry Alacrans. In my opinion, the beginning half or so of the book is excellent, however the plot seemed sort of rushed in the next half when Matt makes it past the border of Opium and Aztlan. Otherwise, this is a great book I recommend to anyone who loves adventure and sci-fi.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Unlike any other book!

    The House of the Scorpion is a book like no other. The main character of the book is a boy named Matt Alacran. Matt's adventures are far more interesting and unique than other characters. This book was filled with detail that it seems as if you are actually there. Not only are the details amazing but so it the plot of the story. The plot is about a boy that finds out he is a clone of a very old and powerful drug lord. But that is not the only thing that makes Matt special it is also that he has intelligence. All clones have their intelligence blunted because of the law, whereas Matt wasn't because the actual Matt is powerful enough to not use the rule. This causes Matt many problems such as neglect and hatred from others. Although his life is very difficult he finds comfort in some people. These things are what make the book so unique and interesting. If I were to be able to find one bad thing about the book, it would be that the last section of the book and particularly the ending are not so good. Before this section begins the book was phenomenal but afterwards it began to go downhill. The ending in particular was a big let down because in my opinion it could have been much better. Other than that this book is something that everyone should take the time to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    Highly Recommended - One of the best books I have ever read!!!

    Let me first say that this was great read. Overall, I give the book four stars out of five stars because it truly is a great book for any audience. The book is about a young clone named Matt. Matt learns how to adapt and overcome anything that comes his way. Children will learn that just becuase your different in some way it doesnt mean that you can't be anything you want to be. This book kept my attention throughout and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6