Customer Reviews for

The House of the Scorpion

Average Rating 4.5
( 668 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(486)

4 Star

(119)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

the house of the scorpion

I am a 14 year old Peruvian who now comprehends the meaning of endurance. Matteo Alacrán, a clone, must embrace death, torture, hatred and treachery to prove he's not a brainless clone like others. This book takes you in Matteo or Matt's life starting when he's a y...
I am a 14 year old Peruvian who now comprehends the meaning of endurance. Matteo Alacrán, a clone, must embrace death, torture, hatred and treachery to prove he's not a brainless clone like others. This book takes you in Matteo or Matt's life starting when he's a young boy; you'll see the pain he undergoes and a bit of romance. The scenery takes place in future Mexico called Aztlán governed by El Patrón, a drug lord. I highly recommend this book to sci-fi lovers because this book is a real page turner.

posted by alvaro-lms on February 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The House of the Scorpion

This book was pretty exciting, but I thought the characters were shallow. I dont know, there was just something off. The plot was quite intersting, and the science was easy to understand.

posted by Anonymous on April 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 486 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 25
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    the house of the scorpion

    I am a 14 year old Peruvian who now comprehends the meaning of endurance. Matteo Alacrán, a clone, must embrace death, torture, hatred and treachery to prove he's not a brainless clone like others. This book takes you in Matteo or Matt's life starting when he's a young boy; you'll see the pain he undergoes and a bit of romance. The scenery takes place in future Mexico called Aztlán governed by El Patrón, a drug lord. I highly recommend this book to sci-fi lovers because this book is a real page turner.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2009

    The House of the Scorpion

    Have you ever dreamt of what the future may be like? You may picture it as a glorious world full of wonderful new inventions that make life easier to cope with. Or you may think of the future as being a place completely inhospitable to all life forms. In this book, the author's idea of the future is somewhere between the two. At the beginning, Matt (the main character) is born (or rather "harvested", as the book puts it). He lives in a shack in the middle of a poppy field on a farm that produces opium, a major drug made out of poppies. This farm is in a small country called Opium that is in between Mexico and the United States. He lives in this shack until he winds up at "The Big House," the mansion that is located on the plantation. He is rejected by all people there, and it is then that he realizes that he is not human. He goes on to meet a girl named Maria, a bodyguard named Tam-Lin, and a drug-lord named El Patron. While living in the Big House, he learns that he is the clone of El Patron. He lives the good life until El Patron starts to get sick, and needs a new heart. Matt is then called upon to be the donor for the new heart. Matt has to escape the Big House. He escapes the Big House and Opium, but is then enslaved by people in a city called Atzlan, and is forced to work for "the greater good of the people." Can Matt escape this new enslavement?

    There are several characters in this story. Matt is the main protagonist. He is an ever changing character, as he gets older. As a young boy living in the shack in the poppy field, he is lonely, and wants friends to play with. Once he starts living in the Big House, he gets into trouble a lot. He meets several friends, one of them a girl named Maria, who visits the Big House on certain occasions. She is Matt's best friend, but later in the story, she becomes a little more than just a friend. She is easily upset by many things, and is very gullible. Most of all, though, she wants to protect Matt from El Patron. El Patron is a drug lord who controls all of Opium, and has lived over seven lifetimes. He is also the main antagonist of the story. He creates Matt as a clone of himself. At first, Matt thinks that El Patron created him just because he was a kind old man, but later, he learns that El Patron's reason is far more sinister than he could ever imagine. El Patron has two bodyguards: Daft Donald, and Tam-Lin. Matt is given Tam-Lin as his bodyguard. Tam-Lin is a Scottish man who was picked up by El Patron in Scotland while he and Daft Donald were "breaking heads outside a soccer field." El Patron realized they were tough, so he hired them. Tam-Lin is a kind, good-natured man, but he has a secret past, one that Matt is determined to find out.

    This book is a wonderfully exciting and original glimpse into the future. It never gets dull, and you won't want to put it down until you've finished it. I would recommend it to anyone who is interested in the future, and of course, clones. But this book isn't all about the future. There are many parts of the book that include action, drama, and even a bit of romance. I personally found this book very rewarding to read. Nancy Farmer has done a wonderful job of blending excitement, sadness, and mystery into one single piece of literature. So, just to summarize, this is a wonderful book for anyone who is interested in great literature, and who wants to find a book that will make them want to keep reading.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2007

    FANTASTIC

    The House of the Scorpion has almost NOTHING TO DO WITH SCORPIANS!!! This book was simply amazing. A very suck-into kind of book. It's full of suspensful moments. The tables turn every-so-often but it was very clear. I would reccomend it to everyone.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    One of my favorite!

    Reccommend for the hunger games crowd

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Highly recommended!

    This a great book! It has action and adventure, little romance, and it'll keep you guessing. Nancy Farmer did it again. Oh, and there might be sequel, so look oit for that!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!

    The house of the scorpion by Nancy Farmer is the best book ever. It is filled of action and emotion which makes it impossible to put down. The house of the scorpion has lots of action but is not so fast passed that you cannot keep up with it. It also has some slow moving sad parts that make a difference so it does not get boring. If you have a fast moving action book that all it has is action than it will not be that go because there is nothing to look forward to. The house of the scorpion also is a little bit of a mystery. I love mysteries so that's a big plus. For people who do not like mysteries it is not a problem because it is just a side plot and does not take up much of the book. A character I really like is Tam Lin. He is a big tough guy but he is really understanding and can be really nice. SJ

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    i have read this book 8 times.

    it is great. it is not for only young people either. for all ages.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    This Book Changed My Life

    The House of the Scorpion, was able to move me in ways I never thought a book could. It took control over my life, and I could never find myself capable to put it down. It forces the reader to think, feel, and sympathize with the book¿s protagonist. This is a book that will change a child from a non-reader to a reader. The reader follows the life of young Matt Alacran, an orphan who lives with his foster mother, Celia. Although Matt is very nice, there is something wrong with him. Something unlike normal children. Matt is a clone. A genetic copy of the 142-year-old ¿El Patron¿. Throughout the book Matt meets many people, who treat him as an animal and as a mistake. In Matt¿s life he knows only three people who show him compassion: Celia, Tam Lin, Maria. Celia is Matt¿s foster mother who only wants the best for him, but is sometimes too defensive. Matt¿s body guard, Tam Lin, appears brutal and violent on the outside, but on the inside he is compassionate and understanding. And Maria, Matt¿s first crush. Although sometimes scornful, she builds a friendship with Matt and unlike the other children, she treats Matt like a person, not an animal. The only negative in the book was that it continued to get darker and more disturbing as the story progressed. And the author described the book so in depth, you would literally walk away from the book feeling upset and discouraged. In a way, the book was so good, it almost made the reader feel bad This book proves that Nancy Farmer is truly a Sci-Fi genius. I strongly recommend this book to all readers, both boys and girls. I have never read anything that can control a reader like this novel. The House of the Scorpion, will blow you away.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    amazing book!!!

    this is an amazing book! i was enticed by how good this book was.it had great climax andut rells a great story Bout a young boy trying to find out who he is!,!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2007

    When Scorpions Attack!

    The house of the Scorpions was awesome! It was a book about full of mystery surprises and EXCITEMENT. Matt the clone of El Patron was born out of a cow. They story was located in the land of opium. Matt was treated bad because he was a clone, he had few friends but his friends were Tam Lin, Maria, Celia and of course of El patron. When it came time for Matt to be killed he ran and his in the mountains. El patron was 147 years old he lived off of different body parts from clones except for this time. He died of liver failure. We read this book over summer, at first I did not want to read this book because it was long and looked boring. But you know what they say don¿t judge a book by its cover and boy were they RIGHT! After one chapter I was hooked. This book is great full of so many challenged for each main character. In the end, we thought this book was SUPER, DUPER, UBER!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    The house of the scorpion is a lovely story about a clone. A clo

    The house of the scorpion is a lovely story about a clone. A clone by the name of Matteo Alacran. His DNA came from a strong leader called EL Patron. Matt has a difficult time getting the fact that he is a clone. Also everyone for some reason hates clones. so Matt has to go through alot to survive and act like a human boy. i highly reccomend it to people who like suprises and twist endings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Omgeeeee

    I read this book already but ima get it again ! Very qood

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    AMAZING. Nuff said.

    This book is great because its not like other books. It has more depth to it and it was facinating figuring out exactly what is going on in the plot. This is one of those books I wish i had never read, just so i could read it again for the first time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read

    This book is an award winner for a reason. Chillingly in depth and captivating, this story of a young clone with thrill any fiction reader of any age. Someone else gave this book a review saying it's bloody and gory, they're exaggerating the details quite a bit. The blood and violence in this book is very mild, the only intensity in the book are the situations young Matteo encounters and handle's. Please note that this book is sold in the "Young Readers" section so you should know for a fact that any and all violence is mild or it would otherwise be sold in a more adult category. However, I do recommend this book for Teens as well as Adults, it is just THAT well written! Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2007

    A really awesome read

    This book was really good! It's science fiction, and it's incredibly deep. You find yourself wondering about some of the things in this book, and how creepy it would be if the world were like it...Like all books it had its rough spots (ending, meoderately slow start) but the plot really packed a lot (a new suprise almost every page flip). I would reccomend this book in a heartbeat!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2002

    this was a really good book! (can't u tell from the stars?)

    at first i thought this book was going to be a normal everyday science-fiction about some clone, but once you finish the book it's sorta more than that. It actually was really sad at the end, although i was glad i had read the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Hi

    Adam watches Brennan all day long

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Hey

    Maria and matt should get it .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Mr davidson and noah should hit it off

    Noah would be the one taking it and mr davidson would be giving it or what he could give xD

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Antonio cx

    PIZZA c;

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 486 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 25