BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The House of the Spirits

Average Rating 4.5
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    A beautifully-written book, involving four generations, revealin

    A beautifully-written book, involving four generations, revealing vivid historical, personal, and spiritual lives in South America. The stories are sometimes hard to believe but feel very real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    My introduction to Isabel Allende...

    I love stories about sisters. I didn't expect this to be kind of bizarre, though. Still, I loved it because Ms Allende is a wonderful story-teller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    Flat Belly Diet

    Very good road map for getting flat(belly)and fit. We tried the recipes and they are very good and healthy. I can almost see my belly getting smaller.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An enchanting tale of love, honor, jealousy, and tradition.

    This novel is the enchanting tale of love, honor, jealousy, tradition, and much, much more. The House of Spirits follows three generations of a family torn apart by the rage of a hardened father but kept together through the forgiveness of a loving granddaughter. Because the story is told through a few different perspectives the reader is able to get insight and a better understanding of the different characters that would otherwise be neglected. Overall I found the book to be incredibly captivating and I would recommend it to all of my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Beautifully Moving Tale of Love and Loss

    Isabel Allende does an admirable job of combining realism and imagination in House of the Spirits. Chronicling the rise and fall of the de Valle and Trueba families, the book shows the repercussions of revenge and the beauty of redemption. By using Alba and Estaban as narrators, Allende is able to give both sides of the story a voice, and blurs the lines between protagonist and antagonist. The reader is appalled by Estaban's brutality but also has compassion on him in his brokenness. Allende's writing captures all the emotions of the story; her passion is tangible and her writing style is a work of art in itself. This novel is a must read for anyone who loves literature and is interested in South American history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2005

    Amazing

    'The House of the Spirits' I like this book because when you read the title you automaticly think of a scary book. This book is not scary and it is not a mystery. This is to me a very great book that I would recommend to people who enjoy Magical Realism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2005

    Incredible!

    I had to read this book for school I can honestly say its the only book i have ever read in its entirety for an assigment. It is a very good story with very powerful characters. The only part that I didn't like was that it was similar to One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez so I felt like the work wasn't very original. Aside from that I really enjoyed reading it and i recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2003

    Beautiful and magical

    This is a story of the Trueba family and later, their involvement in the Chilean socialist 'revolution.' Allende is the neice of Salvador Allende, so the writing can be quite personal, one of the major strengths of this book. This book is compared to 'One Hundred Years of Solitude,' and with just cause. Marquez's and Allende's sentence structure is the same, lots of descriptive power packed into minimal space and breath: 'His old cook had left because her husband had been accidentally shot, and her only son, who was doing his military service in a village in the South, had been hanged from a post with his guts wrapped around his neck, the people's revenge for his having carried out the orders of his superiors'(Allende, 395). There are also magical elements...Clara is made immune to fear due to Nana's constant attempts to scare her out of muteness; the females communes with spirits; there is a gene for green hair in the del Valle family, etc. Allende herself seems to refer to the similarites between her book and 'Solitude'. In that book, Marquez's characters all have similar names, making for a great deal of confusion. Allende alludes: 'Her mother wanted to call her Clara, but her grandmother did not believe in repeating names, because it created confusion in her notebooks that bore witness to life'(262). Allende's characters are also similar to Marquez's; an uncle who tinkers with science and alchemy, revolutionary children, etc. But Allende's characters are more fully developed and change throughout the book. They are not trapped by their own quirky descriptions. This book is always well written, at times beautifully so. The only thing preventing me from giving it five stars is that sometimes my attention waned, and its politics could at times be heavy-handed. But it never took long for the story to grab hold of me again. A must-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2003

    Almost Real

    I don't really read a lot, so this book seemed like a challenge just to finish. But after getting into it, reading it was easy - it has a great flow. Its not the kind of book for you if you love dialogue - its limited in this book to the things that just must be said. Also, there should be a character everyone can relate to. Good Stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2002

    A great, amusing book, but flawed nonetheless

    Although I found this book to be very good and an endearing portrayal of the strangeness of families, I cannot give it a perfect five because it seemed that the author just threw together the ending at the last moment, just to tie in a few loose ends and to throw in some random, modern-day events in history. Overall the characterization was great, but the character of Blanca annoyed me to no end. Why did she think she loved Pedro again...?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2002

    Complex

    This is a great book. Definitely for those who are into emotional stories. You get tears at the romances that could never be. However, has anybody noticed that Alba, Blanca's child, spent her childhood reading at the age of five, and could read her Uncle Marco's book? Then she grows up and becomes close to her grandmother. Her grandmother(Clara) tells Alba the stories that Clara had learned from Uncle Marco's book. Pretty ironic isn't it? Only read the book one time and it hit me. For those new readers, see if you can spot it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2000

    A Touching Tale that Captured my Heart

    I don't often take book recommendations from friends because I think literary enjoyment is entirely too subjective, but I am thrilled that I went against my own advice this time. House of Spririts was an invigorating narrative of the heart and soul, the imagination and intellect, and what it really means to tell a story. I would recommend this to anyone interested in pleasure reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2000

    Outstanding

    I read this book as part of an application project for Honors 9 Geography.As I read this book it took some time to get in to it but as I got father the book gave me all I needed to know about where the setting was and what type of clymate it was around it was very easy to find quotes for my project on the five themes of geography.I truly enjoyed how the author revealed tid bits of information on what was going to happen next, I could not put the book down.Going into the book I knew knothing on Chile and its culture as I neared the end of the book I felt as it was my world as well.I trully would recomend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2