Customer Reviews for

The House on Durrow Street

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2010

    Skip the sequel

    The story plodded along. I couldn't even finish it. A head-up, the author has introduced homosexuality into the main characters lives.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    I was torn between giving this book 3 stars and giving it 4. I'd

    I was torn between giving this book 3 stars and giving it 4. I'd really give it a 3.5, but I lean a bit toward the three because the beginning of this book is horribly slow compared to what I was expecting after finishing The Magicians and Mrs. Quent. However it did pick up around page 400 and then I couldn't put it down! Overall it was a good read and I understand why it took awhile to get to where it was going, but I wish it had moved along just a wee bit faster.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Take a trip with this book and never come back

    I can't believe no one has a review out for this. It is a fantastic book and this author is going places. You have to read "The Magicians and Mrs. Quent" first to enjoy this book to its fullest. It is a long read but so enjoyable, so much mystery. The reader is taken along with the characters on their journey of discovery. It is an alternate world. It sounds like London and Great Britain but here it is Invarnel and Altania. The king is ill, perhaps dying but he is still of a strong mind. He wants his daughter to rule after him and wants the aristocrats to recognize her as his successor. Mrs. Quent hears whispering and sees black storks in her home that is being remodelled, courtesy of her husband. He is still the myterious Mr. Quent.
    A man finds his magic - that of illusions, but at what cost?
    Mr. Rafferdy takes up his father's seat in the Assembly (the government) while his father fights a mysterious illness.
    All of these threads are woven together and there is so much more to learn as you follow their lives.
    I look forward to more from Galen Beckett and so will you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a terrific dark fantasy

    Saving her country Altania and having married the mage Mr. Quent, the witch Ivy and her sisters have been welcomed back by the aristocracy (see The Magicians and Mrs. Quent). She and her siblings establish a residence in the mysterious house inherited from their late father on Darrow Street.

    However, all is not quite idyllic in Ivy's world as she feels pulled by two conflicting natures. First she is a witch married to a magician and that is hard to ignore. Then there is her place in high society. Though both have some inclusiveness, mostly they are exclusive. All those woes come across as nothing compared with learning the secrets of The House on Durrow Street before raging rogue magicians cause further havoc throughout the land.

    This is a terrific dark fantasy in which magic feels genuine due mostly from the interesting eccentric support cast and the title abode. The heroine is a fabulous lead protagonist who readers will like and root for as she works the enigma of what she and her sisters inherited. Galen Beckett obviously had fun writing the second Mrs. Quent quirky fantasy.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Pharaohstar

    He wo up and went to the stream.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Please may I have more? Loved it!

    If you enjoy Victorian novels --- this is a must read! Add in a dash of sci-fi to the mix and you're good to go. Can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    AMAZING!!!!

    No words can describe how amazing this book is!!! I LOVED it!!! Better then the first one!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2