Customer Reviews for

The House on Hope Street

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    Good book

    I have read a number of this authors books and have enjoyed them very much

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2007

    Great Book!!

    I am in high school and my grandpa passed this book down to me. I thought it was written well and its a sad yet cute romance story between Liz and Jack / Liz and Bill. I would recomend this book to almost anyone. Usually I dont read much but i finished this book so quickly, i couldnt put it down!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2007

    A Great Quick Read

    I thought this book was very interesting. It was my first read from this author and I find that she gives very realistic descriptions, taking me to another place when I read. This story made me cry, laugh, worry, and sympathize with Liz. I loved it and I am now looking for another book to read from her. To those who have not read her books yet, I say give this one a shot and allow yourself to be brought into another place with its words. Once I started it, I finished it within 24 hours because I enjoyed it so much, I had to see what would happen next. I am glad I read this book and I hope others have the same experience with it that I did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Danielle steels

    Love it





    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    Does everyone have to..

    Paraphrase the the entire book and ruin it for those of us contemplating its lpurchase?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2007

    ONE OF STEEL'S GREATEAST!

    When tragedy stricks, how do you get on with your life? in her 49th bestselling novel danille steel answers that quisgan. Life is good for liz and jack sutherland. They have a comfortible home in san francisco, a succisful familly law practice, and five children. But then, in a single momant tragedy strikes the sutherland familly. On chrismas eve, jack and liz freeze the assets of a husband of a client. The husband was doing some really irrisponsible things to his wife and kids. The next day is chrismas morning. Jack goes downtown to the office to do an errend. Phillip parker, the husband of the client is waiting in jacks office. He is crazy. He tells jack that he killed his wife and locked the kids in the bedroom with her. He shoots jack and then himself. How can liz go on without her husband, her partner, her best friend? how can she grieve when she must console her five devastated children, the youngest with spechil needs? then, just weeks before labor day, a pool accident sends liz's oldest son peter to the hospital, and brings a doctor named bill webstar into liz's life. Although bill has some strange ideas about marrige, familly, and children he grows atrracted to liz and heals her broken heart. But as the relationship between bill and liz moves from friendship, to romance, liz's three daughter's megan, annie and rachial, begen to resent bill. Can liz ever convince them that loving bill does not mean she loved jack less?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2007

    Eh ...

    While I was able to read the entire book, I didn't think it was that great. I just kept waiting for the romance to blossum between the main characters, and it didn't happen until the VERY end. And then when it did happen, it didn't go anywhere, it just ended. It's just if I read a romance, I like it when the romance begins in the beginning and just gets better. I like Danielle Steel, but I was not very impressed by this one. If you want GREAT romance, read some of Julie Garwood's historic writing ... They're AMAZING!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2006

    THIS BOOK IS HARD TO TOP!

    ATTORNEYS LIZ AND JACK SUTHERLAND HAVE A LOVELY HOME IN SAN FRANCISCO. WITH FIVE CHILDREN, THE YONGEST ONE WITH SPICHIAL NEEDS WHAT MORE CAN TWO PEPOLE WANT? BUT SUDDENLY LIZ'S LIFE FALLS APART. IT HAPPENS ON CHRISMAS MORNING. IT BEGANS LIKE ANY OTHER CHRISMAS MORNING. BUT FOR JACK IT IS A FIVE MINNITE ERREND TO THE OFFICE THAT ENDS IN TRAGEDY. JACK IS SHOT BY THE ESTRANGED HUSBAND OF A CLIENT HE AND LIZ WERE REPRISENTING. THE GUY WAS REFUSING TO SUPPORT HIS WIFE AND KIDS. THE DAY BEFORE JACK HAD ASKED THE JUDGE TO FREZZE THE GUY'S BUSNEAS. SUDDENLY LIZ IS FACED WITH AN UNBEARILE LOSS. SHE MUST CONSOLE HER FIVE DEVISTATED CHILDREN AND TRY TO GET ON WITH HER LIFE. THEN JUST WEEKS BEFORE LABOR DAY A POOL ACCIDENT LANDS LIZ'S OLDEST SON IN THE HOSPITAL AND DR. BILL WIBSTER COMES INTO HER LIFE. AS BILL HEALS LIZ'S SON HE BECOMES A FRIEND TO LIZ. BUT OVERTIME THERE RELASHINSHIP TURNS INTO SOMETHING MUCH MORE DEEPER. THE ONLY OBSTICALE LIZ HAS FOR HAVING A FEAUTIRE WITH BILL IS THE FACT THAT HER DAUGHTERS RESENT HIM. CAN LIZ EVER MAKE THEM UNDERSTAND THAT LOVING BILL DOES NOT MAKE HER MISS THERE FATHER ANY LESS?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2006

    DANILLE STEEL DOES NOT KNOW HOW NOT TO WRITE A BESTSELLER

    Danille Steel aurther of Ansawrd Prayers, The kiss, Journey, Irrsestable forces and other Highlay Acllamed novels tells a moving story about one woman's fight for survival when tragedy strikes. Everything is going well for Liz and Jack Sutherland. With a sucesful partner ship as lawyers and four children, the youngest one with spichial needs. what more can people ask for? Then without warning tragedy strikes. On this paticular christmas morning Jack goes to the office to do an errend. It just so happens that the Day before Liz and Jack had settled a very ugly case about a devarsed man who refused to support his wife and kids. The judge ordard the husband to pay his wife the money. The man is hiding in Jack's office when he arrives. then without warning He shoots him. Now Liz is faced with rasing her four children on her own. When an accident lands her older son in the hosptal Doctor Bill Webster walkes into liz's life. liz finds love again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2005

    A Mississippian

    The House on Hope Street was a good book, but I agree with the other comment made about her writting about those who make a good income. What about those who die serving our country or a police officer, they also get shot at? I think that it is stupid how she talks about selling the house, she makes a good living and she can support her kids. What about a solider or police officer who was the only one providing an income for their family? In conclusion, I do agree with the observation that Danielle Steel only writes about those who have a high income.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2004

    sad and in desperate need of characters with other careers

    This was a very sad, touching story. I admired Liz's ability to move on with her children. I just feel that Danielle Steel needs to vary her characters more. Her stories are always about doctors and especially lawyers. What about nurses, teachers, librarians, secretaries, garbage men, police officers and firefighters??? Doesn't life happen to these people too?? Not everyone 'summers' on Cape Cod or goes to Paris all the time. Get realistic, Ms. Steele!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2002

    Love comes to those who 'Hope'

    This book left me in tears and happy. It is wonderful that love can triumph through adversity. Great book, pick it up and you will be happy too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2002

    Courageous Heroine

    I am drawn to inspirational love stories and wished for more at the end of this novel. It was a quick read and enjoyable however not one of the best of Steel's work. A good book for a holiday at the beach or mountains.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2001

    wonderful

    What a book !!! I felt like I was in this book watching everything as it happened, feeling their pain as if it were happening to me. This book is very well written and does a wonderful job of showing how one woman can find the strenght she needs to survive in the face of tradegy, hope and love. I was kept on a roller coaster of emotions as this family delt with day to day struggles of losing a loved one. I could not put this book down and read it in one day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2001

    THE BEST DANIELLE STEELE BOOK YET!

    I JUST FINISHED READING THIS BOOK AND I HAVE TO SAY THAT THIS IS HER BEST BOOK YET! THIS IS MY NEW FAVORITE BOOK! I WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE WHO IS LOOKING FOR A GREAT, FAST PACED BOOK WITH A WONDERFUL STORY & WONDERFUL ENDING!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2001

    Definately A Great Book As Usual!!

    A wonderful story of hope and love and an insight into grieving as a widow...A one day read if you have the time...I found myself relating to the powerful questions Liz had about her struggles and the decisions that she made...definately a must read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2001

    THE BEST ADDRESS

    THE HOUSE ON HOPE STREET WAS AN EXCELLENT BOOK BECAUSE FOR STARTERS IT WAS VERY REALISTIC. BEING AN AVID DANIELLE STEEL FAN I KNOW HOW TO PICK A BOOK. I REALLY ENJOYED THE STORYLINE ESPECIALLY WHEN IT WAS PERTAINING TO THE CHILDREN AND ALTHOUGH THE BEGINNING WAS A BIT SHOCKING BEING A DANIELEE STEEL FAN YOU KNOW TO READ HER BOOKS YOU MUST TAKE THE BAD WITH THE GOOD. MS. STEEL IS LIKE A FINE WINE-SHE JUST KEEPS GETTING BETTER WITH AGE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2001

    It will hit home to anyone who can relate

    The House on Hope Street was enjoyable reading since I do went through the same pain and aspects as the main character Liz Sutherland. Losing a love one is painful on all sides. Especially if there are children involved. Luckily Liz (like my mother)had a wonderful network of friends and family to help her through the bad times. And I was happy that she was able to move and find love again. Truly a book for someone grieving and needs inspiration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2001

    A Wonderful Story Filled With Hope!!!!!

    This is a book that you will want to keep on reading until your reach the end. It grabs you from page one and keeps you on the edge of your seat until the very last page. It is a very heartfelt story of a tragedy that touches a family at one of the happiest times of the year, Christmas. It takes you through their pain, suffering, and recuperation of the loss. It is a very touching book. You can actually picture everything happening in the book. It is as if you are there with Liz's family. Excellent!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2001

    A Wonderful Book!

    How a wife and a mother of five puts the pieces together after her husband is murdered on Christmas morning. This book is an awesome book. It's all about courage and strength.This book will give you a wake up call to reality and help you realize what you do have instead of what you don't have. I cried throughout this book, so it's best to have kleenex at hand every time you pick up this book. Although this book has a turn to it when one of her children has a serious accident which almost causes her to lose him. through it all she remains strong and is admired by a man who falls in love with her. This book is awesome and if I could read it again I would. I encourage everyone to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3