Customer Reviews for

The House on Hope Street

Average Rating 4
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Great Quick Read

I thought this book was very interesting. It was my first read from this author and I find that she gives very realistic descriptions, taking me to another place when I read. This story made me cry, laugh, worry, and sympathize with Liz. I loved it and I am now looking...
I thought this book was very interesting. It was my first read from this author and I find that she gives very realistic descriptions, taking me to another place when I read. This story made me cry, laugh, worry, and sympathize with Liz. I loved it and I am now looking for another book to read from her. To those who have not read her books yet, I say give this one a shot and allow yourself to be brought into another place with its words. Once I started it, I finished it within 24 hours because I enjoyed it so much, I had to see what would happen next. I am glad I read this book and I hope others have the same experience with it that I did.

posted by Anonymous on May 24, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Eh ...

While I was able to read the entire book, I didn't think it was that great. I just kept waiting for the romance to blossum between the main characters, and it didn't happen until the VERY end. And then when it did happen, it didn't go anywhere, it just ended. It's jus...
While I was able to read the entire book, I didn't think it was that great. I just kept waiting for the romance to blossum between the main characters, and it didn't happen until the VERY end. And then when it did happen, it didn't go anywhere, it just ended. It's just if I read a romance, I like it when the romance begins in the beginning and just gets better. I like Danielle Steel, but I was not very impressed by this one. If you want GREAT romance, read some of Julie Garwood's historic writing ... They're AMAZING!

posted by Anonymous on June 20, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2007

    A Great Quick Read

    I thought this book was very interesting. It was my first read from this author and I find that she gives very realistic descriptions, taking me to another place when I read. This story made me cry, laugh, worry, and sympathize with Liz. I loved it and I am now looking for another book to read from her. To those who have not read her books yet, I say give this one a shot and allow yourself to be brought into another place with its words. Once I started it, I finished it within 24 hours because I enjoyed it so much, I had to see what would happen next. I am glad I read this book and I hope others have the same experience with it that I did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2002

    Courageous Heroine

    I am drawn to inspirational love stories and wished for more at the end of this novel. It was a quick read and enjoyable however not one of the best of Steel's work. A good book for a holiday at the beach or mountains.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2001

    THE BEST ADDRESS

    THE HOUSE ON HOPE STREET WAS AN EXCELLENT BOOK BECAUSE FOR STARTERS IT WAS VERY REALISTIC. BEING AN AVID DANIELLE STEEL FAN I KNOW HOW TO PICK A BOOK. I REALLY ENJOYED THE STORYLINE ESPECIALLY WHEN IT WAS PERTAINING TO THE CHILDREN AND ALTHOUGH THE BEGINNING WAS A BIT SHOCKING BEING A DANIELEE STEEL FAN YOU KNOW TO READ HER BOOKS YOU MUST TAKE THE BAD WITH THE GOOD. MS. STEEL IS LIKE A FINE WINE-SHE JUST KEEPS GETTING BETTER WITH AGE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2001

    Hope prevails

    The House on Hope Street is a fitting title for this book on hope, love and a family determined to weather the storm after a terrible tragedy tears their father and husband from them. Danielle Steel creates warm characters that you feel for, though it took her until almost the end to make a new romance for Liz, but the book is, as usual, par for Steel and perfectly enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2001

    Danielle does it again!

    The house on hope street is avery heart jerking story of what it would be like to lose someone you love and try to start all over with a heart that is lost and hurt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2000

    A Good Book

    I found this book to be depressing at first, and I hurt with Liz as she had to rearange her entire life . . .but then it is a real fact of life that these things happen sometimes, and we have to pick up the pieces and keep going on. You fall in love with the characters at once, and take them into your heart . . .It was another very good Danielle Steel book . . .Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2000

    Another Great Stoiry By Steel

    This was everything that one would expect from Danielle Steel. It was hard to put down and keeps the reader intersted. I wouldn't be surprised to see on televison as a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2000

    It will hit home to anyone who can relate

    The House on Hope Street was enjoyable reading since I do went through the same pain and aspects as the main character Liz Sutherland. Losing a love one is painful on all sides. Especially if there are children involved. Luckily Liz (like my mother)had a wonderful network of friends and family to help her through the bad times. And I was happy that she was able to move and find love again. Truly a book for someone grieving and needs inspiration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2000

    A good book for the beach!

    Danielle Steel has a way with words. She is able to take you into the character's life, you cry with the character, laugh with the character etc... When you are done reading her books, you feel like you made a friend. This book had me in tears with the first few pages. If you are looking for a deep emotional book, this is it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2000

    A Pleasant Read

    This book was a very nice read. It wasn't difficult or too long. Also, it held my interest. (My eyes tire easily) You may wonder though, how a mother of 5 could handle it all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2000

    good stuff

    great book with all stuff a person needed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1