Customer Reviews for

The House on the Gulf

Average Rating 4.5
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Book Review for The House on The Gulf

Bran was always so good, so why was he acting so strange and sneaky now?" This thought runs through Britt's mind in The House on the Gulf by Margaret Petterson Haddix. Britt wants to know Bran's secret, and she needed to know. Will she ever find out?
In the sunny state...
Bran was always so good, so why was he acting so strange and sneaky now?" This thought runs through Britt's mind in The House on the Gulf by Margaret Petterson Haddix. Britt wants to know Bran's secret, and she needed to know. Will she ever find out?
In the sunny state of Florida, on a hot and blazing day, Britt finds out that she gets to 'house sit' an old couple's house for the summer, with her brother and mom, and now is bouncing with excitement. It's the prefect opportunity for her mother to get a scholarship to college, while her brother Bran works full time. The house belongs to the Marquises, but Bran is acting weird about the move. But strangely enough he seems perfectly happy to work in the summer but he won't even let his family touch the thermostat, and he insists Britt stays at home for the summer without meeting any neighbors. He suddenly doesn't trust Britt with anything in the house, and won't even let her sit out on the front porch. She decides to watch Bran closely, and soon finds out that the house that they're living in doesn't belong to the Marquises. This book is full of suspense. From the first page of the book, Haddix leaves you waiting for the exciting conclusion.
I enjoyed this book, although it was a little slow at first. Haddix uses a great technique of leaving cliff hangers from the first page. The suspense slowly grows, and it soon becomes a page turner. It is suspenseful at first, but then the "rising action" gets a little repetitive. But once you get to the climax you can't put it down. I would recommend it to preteens no younger than nine years old, and I would give it a four star rating.

posted by go-me on April 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Lover

Well i thought it was very interestng on how the brother told britt that the marquises are there grandparents:)

posted by Anonymous on February 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Book Review for The House on The Gulf

    Bran was always so good, so why was he acting so strange and sneaky now?" This thought runs through Britt's mind in The House on the Gulf by Margaret Petterson Haddix. Britt wants to know Bran's secret, and she needed to know. Will she ever find out?
    In the sunny state of Florida, on a hot and blazing day, Britt finds out that she gets to 'house sit' an old couple's house for the summer, with her brother and mom, and now is bouncing with excitement. It's the prefect opportunity for her mother to get a scholarship to college, while her brother Bran works full time. The house belongs to the Marquises, but Bran is acting weird about the move. But strangely enough he seems perfectly happy to work in the summer but he won't even let his family touch the thermostat, and he insists Britt stays at home for the summer without meeting any neighbors. He suddenly doesn't trust Britt with anything in the house, and won't even let her sit out on the front porch. She decides to watch Bran closely, and soon finds out that the house that they're living in doesn't belong to the Marquises. This book is full of suspense. From the first page of the book, Haddix leaves you waiting for the exciting conclusion.
    I enjoyed this book, although it was a little slow at first. Haddix uses a great technique of leaving cliff hangers from the first page. The suspense slowly grows, and it soon becomes a page turner. It is suspenseful at first, but then the "rising action" gets a little repetitive. But once you get to the climax you can't put it down. I would recommend it to preteens no younger than nine years old, and I would give it a four star rating.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Loved it!!

    A really great book: not kiddy, but not too grown- upy either! The plot takes many interesting and surprising twists! This is defanitely one of those books i read because it was by one of my favorite authors, and yet i loved it. You will, too! :)

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Is not a book just for adults!!!!!!!

    This book sounds like it would be for grown ups and kids would get bored with it but truthfully its not. Its all about how a girl named britt who is trying to figure out why her brither is acting so suspicius when he is house sitting the marquises house when supposidly the family is aloud to stay there while bran is house sitting. It is a really good book by margret peterson haddix and not only will kids love it but adults will too.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Great

    It is a pretty good book. I would recomend it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    U WOULD BE CRAZY IF U DIDNT LIKE THIS BOOK!!!

    this book is really good! Read it!!!!!! i dont care if you get it right now, or ask for it for your birthday, or put it on your list of things to do before you turn thirty, JUST READ THE DARN THING!!! :)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    Haddix Never Ceases To Amaze Me!

    The House on the Gulf kept me on the edge of my seat. I really enjoyed how Haddix kept all the information from you up to the end without making the book boring, while doings so.
    I figured that there was something off about the house Marquise's house and why Bran was acting so strangely, but till the end, I had to keep guessing. Britt and Bran's characters were easy to relate to. They had those curious and attitude-full personalities that also kept it interesting. From Britt was always trying to figure out what was off about Bran, and Bran keeping his secrets hidden in a closet, you really want to know what will happen next.
    It probably would've been better for Bran and the rest of the family if he would have at least told Britt his secret, yet it would've taken away from the plot. Though his plan was wrong, in more than just the moral way, you have to give him credit for trying to make amends for his mother.
    -A.G.F.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    An amazing book that i couldn't stop reading until i was finished. It had mystery, suspense and a lot of surprises along the way! I would definitly read it again and i probably end up reading it again sometime soon.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2009

    the house on the gulf was a myserious but breath taking novel.

    the house on the gulf was an amazing story of a young 16 year old boy bran and this mother and this little 12 year old sister brittany. disowned by their grandparents and anbanded by their father they barley made ends meet. but when bran finds a job "house sitting" he finds the opportinuty to get his mother back into a single moms college to get a scholorship. Brittany intianally finds something suspicious about her brothers actions, and slowly finds out that he had found their "grandparents" and how he never got a job taking care of the house not only does he find the truth about the conquenses of lying, but how wrong he was about trying to get revenve on the wrong people.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Lover

    Well i thought it was very interestng on how the brother told britt that the marquises are there grandparents:)

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Book review

    This was a spine-chilling page turner that is impossible to put down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Made me think.....

    One of the best books ever

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Very interseting

    I liked this book. Great plot and good story. Reccomned for somebody who just wants a good book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Great book!!!

    The House on the Gulf is a thrilling book aimed for a middle school age range about a mystery that twelve year old Britt is trying to solve. It is a page-turning mystery, and an awesome book!!! Loved it, and would recommend it to anyone!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Anonymous

    Pretty good book. Confused me about who was telling the story in the beggining because it kept switching off but the story got better and i totally got it in the end .not the best haddix book but it is still a great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    AWESOME!!!

    Best book i hav ever read i give it ten stars it is worth ur money any girls that like thriller books will love it im 11 and any girl my age will love it i love all margret petterson haddix books but this is the best one yet. You will love it. I promise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Haddix+has+done+it+again%21

    Margaret+Peterson+Haddix+always+seems+to+excite+me+with+her+books+and+I+absolutly+love+them.+She+has+done+it+again+with+this+book.+There+are+lots+of+twists+and+turns+and+you+can%27t+imagine+what+all+happens.+I+have+read+many+Haddix+books+and+enjoyed+every+one.++She+has+made+another+succssesful+book+that+has+swallowed+me+whole.+I+just+can%27t+seem+to+put+it+down.+I+reccomend+this+book+to+anyone+who+loves+mystery%2C+suspense%2C+and+a+good+book%21+

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    Kritter81

    It was so good totally rad. Way, to awesome to describe!!!!!! I would go to bed on spring break at 10:00p.m. ish. And would'nt really go to bed intill 11:30p.m. or 12:00a.m. It was so good it was so had to put the book down!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    good book

    this is a good book with an unexpected ending enjoy!!! *da talster*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    FANTASTIC!!!!! =]

    THIS BOOK IS AWESOME. IT IS SUSPENDING AND A LITTLE BIT SAD! YOU REALLY SHOULD READ IT COME ON YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO!!!!!! =D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    SUSPENSE ON EVERY PAGE!!!!!

    oK, THIS WAS MY FIRST BOOK FROM MARGARET PETERSON HADDIX, AND I MST ADMIT I LOVE THIS BOOK! IT REALLY MADE ME REALIZE THE IMPORTANCE OF FAMILY, AND THE MYSTERY AND SUSPENSE WAS WONDERFUL AND THRILLING! ALSO, I STAYED UP FOR THE NIGHT READING IT, BECAUSE I JUST COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN!
    READ THIS BOOk IF YOU LOVE A GOOD PAGE TURNER, A MYSTERY, AND SUSPENSE FROM FRONT COVER TO BACK=}

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6