Customer Reviews for

The Housekeeper and the Professor

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A lovely book.

This is a beautiful story about the connections between people, the time they share together and the lovely life that results from both. A wonderful book to discuss, to share with others and to enjoy on your own.

posted by quietreader on February 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Intriguing idea, but did not engage me

This was a book club selection and I read it dutifully. I had hoped to be pulled in by the mathematical inquiry, but was not. And I just didn't care enough about the characters. I don't know if it's a question of translation. At times I could imagine that it was a more ...
This was a book club selection and I read it dutifully. I had hoped to be pulled in by the mathematical inquiry, but was not. And I just didn't care enough about the characters. I don't know if it's a question of translation. At times I could imagine that it was a more nuanced and elegant book in Japanese. Book club has not yet discussed it. It will be interesting to see the group's reaction.

posted by Brasseur on April 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    A great read, with an unusual premise

    I loved this book because I found the professor so endearing (perhaps because my father was also a math professor) and the loyalty shown to him by the housekeeper and her son was so touching. It was just a sweet, sweet story that provided food for thought about the fascinating possibilities inherent in numbers, the way that even the most different people can develop a bond, and the enormous role memory plays in our lives.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    A lovely book.

    This is a beautiful story about the connections between people, the time they share together and the lovely life that results from both. A wonderful book to discuss, to share with others and to enjoy on your own.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A serendipity

    This book is a serendipity, like a flower growing through a crack in the sidewalk. Ogawa's lowly housekeeper, broken math professor, and latchkey kid help readers explore what it means to be human - building community in the midst of loneliness, offering forgiveness in the midst of incivility, and finding hope in the midst of despair. It also introduces the wonderful worlds of math and baseball. It is a wonderful book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Pretty boring

    Disclaimer: I'm not a fan of math, but i was sure this was going to be more interesting given the possibilities of the relationships they set up. I couldn't have been more wrong, it was terribly boring. Do not waste your reading time!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    Intriguing idea, but did not engage me

    This was a book club selection and I read it dutifully. I had hoped to be pulled in by the mathematical inquiry, but was not. And I just didn't care enough about the characters. I don't know if it's a question of translation. At times I could imagine that it was a more nuanced and elegant book in Japanese. Book club has not yet discussed it. It will be interesting to see the group's reaction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    O

    Tarrible by audrey awsome

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    I loved this book!

    I have give it as a gift several times and will encourage my Book Club to read it. It is simple, touching and memorable!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    What a lovely book

    Such a beautiful story, it was a truly uplifting story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Nice

    Good book!!!!!!!!!!"""" Cool Sweet Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Liked it.

    Good book to discuss with a reading group. I just finished this book today. I'm not a math person so I couldn't get into much of the explanation and problem-solving details but even so the idea that the Professor could still communicate with the Housekeeper and her son Root in such a complicated fashion was very well-written and a wonderful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Result eight I mean

    .

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Elders Den

    •Dotstar•

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    A Beautiful, Heartwarming, Emotional, and Sincere Book

    This is one of the most, beautiful books I have ever read. It's sincere, and beautiful, and portrays people's emotions... BEAUTIFULLY. Written by Yoko Ogawa (my favorite author since childhood) - being a literary girl, as well as a math lover; this book was amazing. The end, was so beautiful, fresh, and emotional, and heartwarming; I cried. I recommend this to anyone who's looking for a good read. Though, those who are struggling with math, or do not comprehend math well - this may not be the read for you because in order for those to understand, and enjoy this book to an enjoyable level.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2011

    Beautiful, lovely and enchanting

    It has been a long time since I read a novel as beautifully humane and intelligent at The Housekeeper and the Professor. Everyone should read this book, if only to get a glimpse of what it means to live in the moment, and to do so with great grace and humility.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    Not for the math challenged.

    I understand that prime numbers are beautiful; however, that's about all I do undertand about them, and this isn't the venue I'd choose in order to learn more. Without the math problems, the book doesn't work, and with them, the book is too much work. Tiresome.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    The Housekeeper and the Professor is a wonderful read

    Yoko Ogawa's book is excellent.
    Stephen Snyder has done an outstanding job of translating this Japanese book into English without compromising the author's style and vision.

    I highly recommend this book. It is one easily read in a few hours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3