Customer Reviews for

The Housing Boom and Bust: Revised Edition

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    A Clear Look At A National Nightmare

    Sowell provides a glimpse into the wonderful world of redistributive politics. You'll be amazed, confused and angry at what your politicians, media, and lenders have done. Sadly, the ultimate fault lies within ourselves: the public swallowed the false promise of free money, cheap housing and endless prosperity hook, line, and sinker.

    Don't be fooled by pseudo-intellectuals peddling personal attacks on this website and others. This is a book you should read, especially in light of the various Ponzi-like boondoggles that our government has pursued since the sub-prime meltdown. Our economy and banking system are still in grave danger. The hour is late, but read this for the sake of your children and grandchildren.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

       

       

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    " This book explains the housing boom/bust more clearly &am

    " This book explains the housing boom/bust more clearly & accurately than you're likely to find elsewhere. An easier read than some of Sowell's other work (That's not meant as a criticism... the man is truly brilliant)."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    This is a very well written book by the conservative economist Thomas Sowell. That being said, I noticed a little bit of bias in the last two chapters of the book.

    What is worth mentioning, from the last chapter, the author felt it necessary, and justifiably, to compare the New Deal to that of the Great Recession in the last chapter. I felt the author leaned continuosly on the right in his explanation of why Herbert Hoover initiated policies that helped the economy recover from the crash of 1929 and how the New Deal did not really help the economy recover. And when the economy did recover it was because of World War II not completely the New Deal. This drew skepticism.

    I do like the fact that as an economist, he explained the situation clearly, you do not have to take an economics class or be an economist to understand the information from within the book.

    With all the said, even though there was some bias, there is more than enough information within the book that explains the why and how of the situation that will be surely be in the history books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Not the usual "blame the previous administration" here

    Not the usual "blame the previous administration" here. This author goes looking for unintended economic consequences in all his books. Finds some chilling ones for this books conclusion. If you want a different viewpoint, a different opinion from the "liberal press consensus" view, here it is. Don't look for flattering opinions of Chris Dodd or Barney Frank . Apparently they pressed hard to lower credit standards BEFORE the housing collapse. Denied all afterwards. Only one reporter asked then about it and she got the bluster treatment. Don't ask me, READ THE BOOK. I had to put it down several times because I got so upset. Have been unemployed for 2 years and I am 63 years old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    Thanks for the truth!

    If you really need the truth, Thomas Sowell has it. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    Sowell hit the nail on the head

    Sowell addresses high housing costs, how political correctness in lending practices created an artificial supply and demand, which increased housing prices for everyone. The only thing I wish he had touched on was the realtors' roles in this. They aided and abetted the sharp increase in housing prices by encouraging buyers to bid early and often and over the asking price of a house. I experienced this firsthand. They are almost as guilty as Barney Frank, who I wish had been held accountable somehow. I can't believe anyone votes for that clown. He couldn't run a lemonade stand but he's on the finance committee. What a joke. At least we have Thomas Sowell to educate us on these things.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    THOMAS SOWELL TEACHES THE READER THAT ACTUAL MEASURED RESULTS MATTER. ELOQUENT LANGUAGE CAN BE MORE PERSUASIVE BUT, ALL TOO OFTEN, MAY HAVE LITTLE TO BACK IT UP.

    Thomas Sowell encourages the reader to evaluate the actual results of adopted governmental policy. He highlights the lack of incentive on the part of politicians to take responsibility for the unanticipated adverse consequences of previously adopted policies. He describes how political incentives lead those in government to incorrectly publicly blame others outside of government, often successfully. This leads to calls for "more regulation," resulting in misplaced expectations that government could, in some way, solve a crisis for which it was responsible, and which it did not have the insight or desire to prevent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Greed Has No Bounds

    This was an excellent read and I've recommended it to many others. It should be on the MUST reading list for every member of the Senate and Congress. Thomas Sowell clearly defines the path to the housing bust. He meticulously shows who all the players were and the role each played in the build-up of the housing fantasy. It is particularly important to note the role of government in this fiasco. While many want to blame the banks and mortgage companies for bad lending practices, and they were guilty, don't overlook that our government used strong arm tactics to insist that just about any breathing sole who asked for a loan could get one. Take a close look at Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac and the shape they're now in. Mr. Sowell makes a good case for what happens when we stop using common sense and move away from sound lending/business practices.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2