Customer Reviews for

Hover

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 36 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    jklHover (The Taking #2) blew my mind! I mean, just wow. I read

    jklHover (The Taking #2) blew my mind! I mean, just wow. I read Gravity and it quickly became one of my favorite books so I was really excited about reading Hover. I waited patiently so when I finally got to reading it I as all built up from book 1 ready to dive into book 2. Melissa, did not disappoint in this one. The world she creates is so beautifully described not just the places but the people. When you read it, it completely takes you over enveloping your mind everything around you disappears and you are completely sucked into the pages in between this beautiful cover. The plot was well built and the subplots supported the story so the flow was perfect.

    I read other reviewers so I looked for those things that other reviewers found lacking but I saw none of that. There was a beginning and an end and so much development. I learned so much about Loge and the characters. Oh Jackson, his struggles tugged at my heart, he tried to play so many different rolls trying to please everyone. We all know that we do that but it's not possible. His relationship with Ari was very realistic, I mean after everything we know about Ari and where she grew up and her life it made complete sense that she hesitates in her relationship.

    Ari has such a fierce personality. Everything she does and feels is intensified. Her loyalty and the way she loves is magnificent. I love the fact that, unlike some other books, she isn't a stupid girl who forgives and forgets easily and gives into her heart. She is very cautious which I think every girl should be cautious with their heart. There is nothing about Ari that bothers me or I don't like.

    Zeus(I say that with disgust) he is such a...okay maybe I can't really write what I want to call him but he is the worst but the best villain if I ever did read one. But there was that one time...I won't tell you, you'll have to read it for yourself. The supporting characters, loved them! My favorite was definitely Emmy. I have love for that women. She sort of reminds me of my grandma.

    The twist, what good is a book if there isn't a twist? Something that you don't see coming, something that will make your heart beat erratically, something that will make you gasp. Yes, yes, and yes. The twist had all of those things and I am going to be impatiently waiting for the next book. Yes, it's one of those. I would recommend Hover, but read Gravity first they are both excellent. Really you don't know what you're missing. The best sci-fi book I have read this yea

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 Stars! There are two scenes in HOVER that I loved. The first

    4.5 Stars!
    There are two scenes in HOVER that I loved. The first involves Jackson's "dream" and the other involves water. You're welcome.

    The rest of the book had me on the edge of my seat with my heart in my throat and I loved every.minute.of.it!

    I wanted to high five Ari for her strength, the way she stands up to the uber creepy Zeus was amazing! Her stubbornness makes her brave, but it also makes her all kinds of stupid where Jackson is concerned. I mean, I get it, I do, Jackson lied and lying is not cool on any planet. HOWEVER, he lied in order to protect her and the fact that it takes Ari so.very.long to realize this made me want to grab her by the shoulders and scream, "YOU DON'T KNOW EVERYTHING ARI! NOW GET OVER YOURSELF GIRL BEFORE IT'S TOO LATE, BECAUSE REASONS!!!" *deep breath*

    And then there is Jackson. Excuse me while I check all the trees in my neighborhood to see which one will transport me to Loge because I.AM.READY! If GRAVITY was Ari's story, HOVER is Jackson's. We get a glimpse into who and what has influenced his character as well as his ideals. Ari gets a better look at Jackson too, and what she sees will have her rethinking all of her feelings for him. (It may also leave her breathless, for reasons.)

    Once again Ari and Jackson will have to find a way to work together if they hope to put a stop to whatever Zeus has planned. It won't be easy, opposition greets them at every turn and the sacrifices may prove too great. But the fast paced, heart thumping action leads up to an ending that will leave you stunned, dumbfounded and anxious for the next book, which I TOTALLY NEED LIKE YESTERDAY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    Hover by Melissa West is the 2nd book in her The Taking series.

    Hover by Melissa West is the 2nd book in her The Taking series. When we last left off in Gravity; Ari, our heroine was taken (with many other humans effected) to the planet Loge for healing from poison released by the human leaders of Earth. Jackson, our hero, was the one who rescued Ari, but at the end of Gravity we learned he is an Ancient from Loge. Hover picks up with Ari almost fully healed, and learning more about Zeus, the leader of Loge, as well as her new surroundings.

    Ari is still with Jackson, but she doesn’t totally trust him, since he betrayed her by not telling her about Zeus being his grandfather. Ari absorbs everything around her, the city surroundings, the healers ability, and the powers she has. Ari was already a tough kick-ass heroine, but being on this planet, she finds she must learn to control her anger, hide her mind (they can hear her thoughts), and try not to show her antagonism, especially towards Zeus. Zeus, as the leader of Loge, is truly the villain in this story. He tortures anyone to make them do what he wants, including his grandson Jackson, and wife Mami; and will not hesitate to take any lives. What was nice about this story is that we got another side to the story, as in Gravity it was mostly about Earth and their battle against Zeus. In Hover, the focus is on Loge and Zeus, allowing us a look into this planet, and into their leader’s unstable sanity.

    Ari is determined to go back to Earth, and allow the Loge residents to join her, as the planet is dying. But she is torn between strange vibes she gets from her friends and leaders on Earth. They want her to kill Zeus, and do it fast. Zeus wants to come to earth and totally take over. But whatever those messages are from earth, Ari only sees the evil in Zeus, and uses her strength to fight his mind torture.

    This is an action packed story, with Ari finally allowing herself to trust Jackson, and they make a wonderful couple, despite all the horrors they must endure. Together they work to find a way to rescue the citizens of Loge, and create a rebellion to fight Zeus. Other then them rebuilding their romance, the majority of the story was about finding a way to stop and kill Zeus. West creates some wonderful characters in Hover, such as Vill, Mami, Emmy, just to name a few. Other then brief appearances, we did not see too much of the characters we met in Gravity (whom are still on earth), except Cybil who was great to see. As much as I liked Jackson, Ari was the lead all the way, and she was even stronger in Hover. There were many surprises and twists during the last third of the book, and another open ending, leaving us anxiously awaiting the next book, Collide.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    So I was so excited to read this...also so nervous. Gravity was

    So I was so excited to read this...also so nervous. Gravity was an awesomely amazing book and the ending, well let’s just say whoa. I’ve been waiting for Hover for a while and yes it made me nervous to pick it up but I’m happy to say I was not disappointed. The book absolutely played puppeteer with my heart strings but that’s because I am so heavily invested in the characters. This is one of those series that I think doesn’t get enough love. Everyone should read it! I don’t think you have to be a sci-fi lover either. 

    Jackson, oh Jackson. I had a feeling about who he was from the beginning so I could never be mad at him. Plus despite everything you can tell how sweet Jackson really is. Plus I love the way he is with Ari, even if she is mad at him and trying to push him away. He is always standing beside her and being support. He has a lot of things that are revealed about him in this book. He has always been a guy that keeps his cards close to his chest but we see some cracks. Things he doesn’t want Ari to know to protect her. Some of it is horrid and some of it just makes you love him even more. Seriously can you tell I love to drool over Jackson. Total book boyfriend.

    Ari is such a tough cookie but is not always perfect. She still had a tendency to act before thinking but we really start to see her realize this and try to be more reserved. She knows her weaknesses and is always trying to improve them. I really like her as the main character and find her easy to connect to. Although I do get frustrated with her where Jackson is concerned but you know, she feels a little betrayed. She is pretty amazing in this book I have to say. 

    Zeus is one scary dude. Which is probably why he is named Zeus. I love how much detail is put into his villainy ways. Down to the way he treats and manipulates people. When Jackson describes how he will talk towards the window so you can’t see his face, I thought it was such a great detail.. I mean Melissa really points out to us not only his villainous but his intelligence. That this isn’t some guy you just walk in and throw him out the window and say, hooray the world is saved! It’s a lot more complex than that. Zeus is more complex than that, there might have once been a person there but he has long been corroded by power.

    We get a whole new squad of characters as the book takes place on Loge. Vil is one of my absolute favorite additions. He’s got this terrific intelligent mind that never stops turning. So he uses outs like creating sculptures and doing awesome techie things. He also has wisdom beyond his years. I also like Mami, Emmy and Madison a lot too. Emmy at first kind of comes off as someone I wasn’t going to like but I finally embraced her. We also see appearances from some characters from the other books. Like Law and Ari’s dad...seriously though what is up with Law? I’m not going to say more.

    The plot kept me intrigued the entire time, since we on a new planet it was almost like having a first book in a second book. It’s a whole different place to learn about, which it’s easy to see the two are going to collide in book 3. I thought that is well thought out and planned. Of course this book was a little more stressful. We are talking about a buildup to war here. Wow and let me tell you about the ending....well I can’t but wow. Melissa has me once again on the edge of my seat demanding that book 3 be in my mailbox tomorrow. 

    This series continues to be one of my favorites and I really hope you pick it up if you haven’t already.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    Hover is book two of The Taking series and brings you back into

    Hover is book two of The Taking series and brings you back into the world of Ari and Jackson.  If you recall, book one left off with thousands of humans being forced to cross over to Loge because of the poisonous neurotoxin that was released.  The crossover was supposed to become but it turns out, they aren’t much better off on Loge as Zeus has plans for everyone, including Ari and Jackson.  

    Through conversations with her father and those now in power on Earth, Ari and Jackson have found out that Zeus is planning something horrible and they need Ari to step up to the plate try to kill him…that’s right – she is supposed to kill him. No pressure there…considering as an Ancient he is able to sense what she is feeling and thinking.  I’m not going to reveal anything here but she definitely has her work cut out for her. 

    Ari is adapting to the newness of realizing she is part Ancient and what that means.  On top of that, she has to do this in a world that seems somewhat foreign.  She is also not really sure she can trust Jackson as he is not the boy she knew on Earth.  It is definitely true that there is a lot she doesn’t know about Jackson but I thought that as Ari learned more about who he is on Loge, she came to realize he really was more than just “the boy” she knew on Earth.  He carried a lot of weight on his shoulders and seeing Ari learn about all the things he had to deal with and manage was important because it gave her a different perspective of who he really is.  

    At the same time, she is also trying to understand what she is dealing with in Zeus.  He is definitely an evil guy and really willing to do anything that will benefit him…anything.  All in all, I can honestly say Zeus is one of those characters that make you want to climb in the book and beat the crap out of them.  The things he did made me ragey and I really hoped that Ari was going to be successful in her mission.

    Jackson remains as swoony as ever.  Yes, he hasn’t always told Ari everything but he had his reasons.  Ari wouldn’t be who she is if she just automatically forgave him but I am happy that she eventually gets past her issues.  Jackson is doing what he can to help and protect Ari while on Loge.  He knows that Zeus has his eyes on her and feels threatened by her and he does what he can to offer her some protection.  He clearly loves Ari and is patiently waiting for her to get over her anger.  Also, All I have to say is thank you for the shower scene Ms. West….definitely one of my favorites.  
    I know I mentioned the word swoony before…here are some of my favorite lines:

    He glances up sideways, his hair once again shadowing his eyes. “What can I say? For me, it has always been you…”

    Still my first thought every day for the rest of my life…will be you.”

    This book introduced us to some new characters in Emmy, Vill, and Mami who in my opinion were great additions to the story.  They all added some great layers to the story as well as helped reveal a bit about Jackson.  I missed Gretchen and Law in this one - there were some glimpses of both and based on the ending I have a lot of questions as to what the heck has been happening on Earth as well as with these two.  

    Similar to book one, this book ends with a cliffhanger so if your heart can’t take it, you may want to hold off until book three is complete.  If it doesn’t bother you so much, definitely go out and get this one and if you haven’t started this series, get moving on Gravity so that you can jump right into Hover once you finish as this comes out on August 13th.  This series is a great mix of action and romance with a little bit of mystery.  If you like the science fiction and dystopian genres you will definitely enjoy this series.    

    Thank you to the author and Entangled Publishing for the ARC.
    This review can be found on my blog Fic Fare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    The Taking series by Melissa West is a MUST for your Summer read

    The Taking series by Melissa West is a MUST for your Summer reading list. These books pack aciton, emotion, and romance with a hefty punch! Gravity is still my favorite out of the first two books in this series, but Hover was awesome! Melissa did a great job creating a new and exciting Sci-Fi world. Each character is likeable, and thoughtfully fleshed out. One of my favorite aspects of Hover was the villan, Zeus. He was a very interesting character and added a great creep-factor to Hover. Ari and Jackson work to rebuild their relationship after events in Gravity left Ari doubtful and confused. The subtle moments that transpire between them throughout this book, build up to one awesome and enjoyable scene that makes the whole book, in my opinion. I can't wait to get my hands on Collide, the third book in this series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    I really enjoyed Hover. It is action-packed, never has a dull mo

    I really enjoyed Hover. It is action-packed, never has a dull moment, provides interesting and vital information about Loge, its history and its citizens and reveals a lot about Jackson. The relationship and romance between Ari and Jackson is developed further over the course of the book and is for the most part convincing.

    Hover constantly surprised me. I never knew who knew what and who was on what team, who had what agenda and ulterior motive, who would betray whom and who was trustworthy. This makes for a very suspenseful atmosphere where you know everything can change in an instant.

    Despite all this I have a few problems with Hover. Ari acclimates to her new surroundings and new abilities unbelievably fast, learns certain things too quickly and suffers hardly any psychological trauma whatsoever as far as I can tell. This does not mesh with my idea of a human 17-year-old. I get that she was trained to endure and be a strong fighter and leader and all that but even with that in mind it all seemed to easy and effortless.
    Also I wouldn't have minded for most of the events in the book to be drawn out a bit with more details thrown in there but I get that it was probably a pacing decision and that the rapid pacing of Hover probably wouldn't have been able to be maintained if everything was more drawn out.

    Gravity left me with a lot of questions about Loge, Jackson and Zeus, that were mostly answered in Hover. Hover's cliffhanger left me with equally as many questions about what happened on earth and how everything will turn out in the end.
    At this point I am very much looking forward to reading Collide!

    ________________

    My copy of Hover was provided by the publisher via NetGalley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    Plot: I have been waiting to read this book since I finished

    Plot:




    I have been waiting to read this book since I finished GRAVITY. And I was sooooo happy to get an e-ARC of it!!




    Ari is now on Loge, and she has to face what happened back on Earth, what's happening on Loge now, and trying to figure out her and Jackson out. All before everything comes crashing down.




    Everything went pretty fast, there wasn't really a pause in the action, which I didn't mind at all. And at first, I was like...where's the romance? But it comes just at the end, and there's plenty for the rest of book, I promise. ;)




    Characters:




    I won a contest last year sometime, and I got a chance to be in Melissa's book. And I was! Reading about me was amazing, and even though I wasn't in it very much, it was still awesome.




    I love Ari, at first she's all tough, and then you see her scared and weak scared, seeing how human she really is. I don't like heroines who act tough all the time, I like them where they can be weak and scared too. And Ari is a perfect example! I thought I could relate to her a lot, besides being with aliens and all that...




    Jackson was a mystery to both me and Ari. She couldn't figure him out, and towards the end, we finally really get Jackson, so the mystery was finally solved, and I felt like I could understand Jackson better.




    With all the other characters, and the villian, Zeus, it was an awesome cast of characters, and I can't wait to read more about them in COLLIDE!




    Romance:




    As I said before, there wasn't a lot of romance up until the end, and it was enough for the entire book. Jackson and Ari are a tough couple, being complete oppsisties, but together, they are amazing! I hope they get married in the near future...




    Writing:




    It's written in the present tense, which is now my favorite tense, since I'm writing in it. It used to bother me, but now I love it, and the writing is awesome! I can't wait to read more!




    Rating:




    4.5 stars! I'm anxiously waiting for COLLIDE, the ending of HOVER will kill you. I cried.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Thank you to Heather of Entangled Teens, for providing this ARC!

    Thank you to Heather of Entangled Teens, for providing this ARC! 
    This book was out-of-this-world amazing! I think I may have become a fan of Melissa West. From start to finish not a single page dire. Hover is the second installment to The Taking series, with Gravity being the first book. And although I have not read Gravity everything still makes sense. Melissa West made sure to present her readers with adequate details, from the previous book, allowing those who have not read the first, to understand the overall direction of the plot.   
    Ari Alexander awoken on a planet that is not her own, the planet of Loge; with her life – her family and friends on Earth. After Neurotoxin was released into the Earth’s atmosphere, humans have no choice but to seek sanctuary with the Logeans. But where Zeus rule – a man everyone fears, the planet of loge is no safe haven. It is up to Ari and Jackson – the boy she once trusted, to make things right … even if it means risking their lives. Who can be trusted? How will a seventeen-year-old be the one to save Earth and Loge from destruction? Only one way to find out, GET IT!
    Gah, a few hours after putting down this book and I am still feeling exhilarated. There is nothing disappointing about Hover. Everything moved with such fluidity, it felt as if I was watching a major motion picture. 
    It was refreshing that the people accepted Ari for what she is capable of; especially the men. They – well some of them – were accepting of Ari’s role as a born leader, someone capable of commanding. I am so use to the men in YA/NA novels always believing their leading ladies to be a damsel-in-distress, it is nice to read about a strong female protagonist being acknowledged and not shamed for being able to fight for herself. And with it all, she stills hold on to her humane touch; her weakness; her fears; these are the factors that kept her realistic as a character. This has to be the first read, where I feel the female out shines the male protagonist. It feels as if Jackson is only a minor character, and there is nothing wrong with that. I will be looking forward to their relationship in book three!
    Zeus. You cannot help but feel intimidated by him. Even as I was reading, it was as if I were in Ari’s shoes, standing there before him, having him feed on my thoughts. I wanted to coward away. Each scene with him left an eerie impression. And for once, I am glad that I am not living in his world. 
    NOOOO THE ENDING! I was so immersed with the action; I did not know I was already on the last page. Darn cliffhanger … A good one at that. There is no uncertainty now that I will be keeping an eye out for the third book. Fans of The Taking series will not be let down.
    In need of a good book to throw yourself in? Read HOVER. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT follow-up, liked it better than the 1st!

    **NOTE: Because of the way Gravity ended this can't be a spoiler-free review. If you haven't read Gravity, STOP READING NOW**

    Ok, so first off the cover. Gracious the covers for Gravity (The Taking #1) and Hover are stunning. LOVE space pics so I love these covers.

    Now onto the good stuff...

    All right. So Ari is stuck on Loge in the hospital. Her only contact has been with the healers (her fav is Emmy) and Jackson. She has no clue what's happened to the other humans or what is taking place on Earth. Add to that as a new Ancient she now has to be evaluated by Loge's top healers and placed into one of the four "work" sectors, which means she could end up being a spy against her own planet if she's placed as an RES. Likelihood of this: HIGH. She was training to be the Commander on Earth after all.

    Enter Zeus, all around bad dude, leader of Loge, and Jackson's grandfather. Feared by Loge, and hated by Jackson, Zeus believes Ari has information that will help him invade Earth and subjugate it.

    Ari is still having trust issues with Jackson. He failed to tell her who he really was and so now she questions nearly everything he tells her, and though she is still attracted to him, she can't forget that he lied to her.

    Jackson, now back on home turf, is both the same and different. His feelings for Ari haven't changed, but back on his planet he doesn't have to hide his identity--or his abilities--and has a large leadership role with the RESs (Logean spies) that reveals a whole other side of him.

    I loved seeing Jackson back home. While there was always a bit of a question about his true motives on Earth, on Loge you get to see Jackson. Both the good and the bad and the heartbreaking. He becomes a much more rounded, like-able/sympathetic character. And I REALLY liked him in this book. Ari grows tremendously in Hover. Once, only concerned with Earth and humans--the black and white of things--Ari begins to see the shades of gray, and her relationship with Jackson changes because of this.

    With help from some wonderful secondary characters, Ari comes up with a plan that she hopes will not only save the humans stuck on Loge, but the Logeans destined to perish along with their planet.

    Will it work? I DON'T KNOW BECAUSE IT WAS A CLIFFHANGER ENDING THAT KIIIIIIIIILLED!!

    However, I still highly recommend. It was a fabulous follow-up to a great debut.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    4.5 stars

    This book takes place mainly on Loge - the planet where the Ancients live. We learned that it was dying in the last book which is a shame because Triad (the city) is described as something beautiful....well the parts that's still alive. Anyway after what happened in the last book, Ari is taken to Loge in order to survive. But it's almost not worth it. Zeus is hell bent on figuring out Ari, she doesn't know who to trust there, and her feelings for Jackson are compromised.

    Zeus is still the all around bad guy. He's planning on using the refugees to his advantage. In this book my hatred for him has grown. He's done so many horrible things.

    There was some new characters that play a vital role in helping Ari. It's up to her to help humans and the Ancients. Which I think she is the great choice to do the job. She's having tug-of-war feelings for Jackson. She can't get over the fact that he lied to her for a while. Finally she had a moment and realized that she was being silly. Can I say hello chapter 26?!?

    I thought it was great and I can't wait until the next book comes out especially on what happened at the end. I would say I saw it coming, but alas I did not think that would happen. Awesomeness.

    *A big thanks to the publisher for the eARC*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 36 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2