Customer Reviews for

Hover (The Taking Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Oh. My. Alien. Goodness! This book was just un-freaking-believab

    Oh. My. Alien. Goodness! This book was just un-freaking-believable! Right from the moment that I finished reading the first installment in this series, Gravity, I couldn't wait to get my hands on Hover and see what was going to happen. To me Gravity was a phenomenal start to a series and I desperately wanted to see what was going to happen. In no way whatsoever did I think that Hover could surpass Gravity but it did. It completely stunned me and blew me away so much I think I may have landed on another planet. I had pretty high expectations for this book because of how much I adored the first one and it far exceeded anything I could have imagined.

    Ari has been taken from Earth and is on a whole new planet with the Ancients. But nothing is ever as she seems. Ari must be on her guard at all times. Can she really tryst the people on Loge? Ari imagined the planet to be peaceful but she discovers many hidden secrets that could threaten everything she could have ever imagined. And what is happening on Earth while she is away? One thing is for sure Ari needs to figure out who to trust and what to do to save the remains of two planets and two people. But there is one thing Ari knows.... no matter what things will never be the same.

    I finished Hover days ago and I am still just reeling over what happened. Melissa West is officially one of my favourite authors of all time. She is an absolute genius to come up with this story and execute it to the perfect, phenomenal extent that she has. I am just completely in awe of her for this series. If you had asked me a year ago what I would think about a series with aliens in it I would have been like "Aliens? NO WAY! I don't 'do' Sci-Fi books" but OMG Melissa West just completely changed my perception of alien books. I never thought I would like Alien books but The Taking is one of my favourite series of all time. I have developed such an author crush on Melissa and I am such a fangirl of hers. Her writing style is addictive and I could not put this book down at all. I am just completely blown away by this phenomenal series. I loved every single second of it.

    Melissa officially writes the best characters ever. I really loved Ari in Gravity. She was a great character to read about. Well Ari is even better in Hover. When looking at the person she was back at the beginning of Gravity and the person she is at the end of Hover you can really see how much she has grown as a character. She has had to deal with such a lot and she has grown from a girl trying to survive and make her family proud to a kick-ass woman who listens to her own instincts and follows her head and heart to do what is right not only for her own world but for the Aincents too. I absolutely love her.

    I was so confused about Jackson in the first book of this series. I liked him but then he was such an ass sometimes that I didn't really know what he was about. Well my mind is completely made up now! I am completely head-over-heels in love with Jackson. He is just so amazing. We see a totally different side to Jackson in this installment and you get to see just how much he has to deal with back on his home planet. This is one alien that I would move planets for!

    Hover is a phenomenal installment of The Taking Series. It completely stole my heart and my breath. I could not read this book fast enough. So much was happening and it had me freaking out through pretty much the entire second half. I just couldn't stop reading as I had to know what was going to happen. I went through pretty much every emotion possible while reading this book. I was happy, I was sad, I was angry. I was totally in love and swooning and then totally heartbroken wanting to just go into the foetal position and cry for hours. Hover literally has everything that you could possibly want in a book. Non-stop action that stops your heart and breath-taking romance. I loved every moment of it.

    Be warned if you are expecting something just like Gravity you will be shocked. Melissa completely pulled it out of the bag and there were so many twists and turns I thought I had whiplash. It kept me guessing right until the very end and just when I thought I had figured out what was going to happen BAM! It went in the total opposite direction to what I thought. So much more happens in this book than Gravity and it is way more intense and violent. It was possibly one of the best books I have ever read in my life. I need book 3 like right now... but until then I will just go and sit in a corner and rock back and forth like a crazy person and cry.

    This series is a must-read. Go read it now!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    :-) yes.

    Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2013

    Wow. What a sequel!!! I am seriously floored right now! I enjoye

    Wow. What a sequel!!! I am seriously floored right now! I enjoyed the first book as you saw above, but I LOVED this second one! It has everything I could ever want- romance, action, betrayal, and it's a SCI-FI! Woooo! I'm so glad I read these back to back- but... holy cliffhanger on this one! I can't believe I have to wait for Book 3! *pouts* I did NOT see that twist coming... well, I was suspicious, but never did I think that ending would actually happen!


    The book picks up right where Gravity left off, only this time we find Ari on Loge. I was definitely curious about the Ancients' home world, since we only learned bits and pieces about it in the last book. I loved being in this new setting and seeing the type of people the Ancients actually were! (They surprised the heck out of me that's for sure! Let's just say they are not as repressed of a people as I thought under Zeus's leadership...)


    Ari is healing from the neurotoxins that were released on Earth, designated to kill the Ancients and is dealing with her feelings concerning Jackson. She is unsure of him, feeling betrayed by his omission of important information, and now she is on a planet by herself with no allies to turn to. Where most people would be terrified into a stupor, Ari is as fierce and strong as ever. Then again- Ari has been raised and bred to be the next Commander. Her father has trained her to be the girl she needs to be, and while Ari may have seen that as harsh- she does end up realizing he did it for her own good. That's not to say Ari is a machine- she is human and she still has feelings. She has such compassion for others and will do whatever it takes to keep her loved ones safe from Zeus's growing threat.


    Zeus. UGH. Talk about EVIL. West did a great job creating such a villain- even his mannerisms scream 'DANGER!' He is ruthless and does not hesitate in putting Ari through torture to find out what he needs. So what do you do with the big bad? Make plans to eliminate him of course! Easier said than done! Zeus is no idiot. He is cunning, as well as intuitive. This will be no easy task for Ari. Thankfully, Jackson IS on her side and will do whatever is necessary to assist her- even betraying his grandfather. Yeah, didn't see THAT coming!


    As much as Ari tries to push Jackson away, she can't help but start to see how different he is than on Earth. Here, he is seen as a leader and yet remains protective of her, knowing what that could do for his reputation. I love that Ari isn't so quick to jump back in with him. He has to earn her trust back and the only way to do that is through his actions. We see so many different sides to Jackson in this book and it made me love him so much more than I already did. He is strong and determined, but there is a vulnerability to him that breaks my heart. His concern for his grandmother (Zeus's wife) is absolutely touching- he knows that she won't leave him and Zeus treats her horribly. He has to assume so many different personas- one minute he goes from being a hard, cold, unfeeling leader to a guy who has to push aside his feelings for the girl he loves because she just wants friendship. It's terribly frustrating for him and I loved that we got to see the many different layers of Jackson. Once Ari realizes the type of man he actually is and all the responsibilities he carries and the internal battles he wages to protect those he loves, it is then she starts to let him back into her heart again.


    "I pushed Jackson away, yet he continues to stand beside me, forever thinking I am better than I am, more capable than I am- stronger than I am. Some may think you choose to have feelings for another due to what you see in that person, their strengths and weaknesses. But I think it's also in how that person sees you. And Jackson Castello, right or wrong, sees me, really sees me. How can I push that away? How can I deny that while I see him as mysterious and difficult, I also see him as kind and generous and so much braver than he realizes? He isn't perfect. He is so far from perfect. But maybe it isn't about him being perfect... maybe it's about him being perfect for me."


    Their relationship progressed perfectly, and literally (at 91% to be exact) had me gasping for breath. Swooooooon!


    While most of our time is spent in Loge, Ari does have some communication with her friends and family on Earth. However, every time they communicated, I felt more and more uneasy about what was to come. Things are happening down on Earth that Ari is not privy to, and things are definitely not as they seem. Her friends Law and Gretchen, who she has known for years, are acting differently and she can't pinpoint what is going on. Is it just the stress over the impending war or is there something more going on?


    Some new characters are introduced in this novel that are quite significant. Emmy and Vill, being two of my favorites. Emmy is the Healer assigned to help Ari and yet she is so much more than meets the eye. When Ari thought she had no allies here, she couldn't have been more wrong. Emmy is proof of that- after building a rapport with Ari, Emmy trusts her enough to confide in her that Loge is dying and the Ancients need a new place to live. And Emmy thinks Ari will be the one to help lead them. Talk about responsibility! Vill, is actually Emmy's grandson as well as Jackson's roommate. He does not play a huge role in the book, but he offers Ari some sound advice- not just about Jackson, but also about her. He is a true friend to both of them and I hope we get to see him again in the next book!


    "You are a leader, Ari. You were born a leader and you will die a leader. It is who you are. Everyone who meets you knows it. And you know it, even if you question it. You react like a leader, thinking ahead of time so you know your actions are properly directed."

    ...



    "You'll find yourself again. Before you know it, you will be leading again. But you first need to see Jackson, really see him, for who he is, instead of what you thought he was or who you now believe him to be."


    As I said, there is a cliffhanger, and I cannot wait to get my hands on the third book, Collide, to find out what happens next for Ari, Jackson, and both the Ancients and humans!

    *Received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2013

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a re

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Entangled Publishing, LLC and Netgalley.)
    This is book 2 in the ‘The Taking’ series, and kicks off 3 weeks after the end of book 1 ‘Gravity’.
    **Warning - some unavoidable spoilers for book 1 ‘Gravity’.**
    Ari is slowly healing on the planet Loge after the neurotoxin that nearly killed her on Earth; she’s worried though, because in the past 3 weeks she’s yet to see another human.

    Jackson tries to reassure her, but things go from bad to worse when it seems that the people of Earth will never agree to co-habit with Zeus in charge, and Zeus just wants to eradicate the humans full stop.
    What has happened to the other humans who made it to Loge? What is Jackson hiding from Ari? And can Ari find a way to get rid of Zeus, before it’s too late?


    This was a great sequel, and although there wasn’t quite as much action as the first book, the tension made up for it.

    Ari continued to fight for what was right in this instalment, even when she felt like she was the only one fighting a losing battle. I totally got why Zeus scared her so much, and why she was mad at Jackson, but I really wished that she could have found it in herself to forgive him.

    I liked the storyline in this book, there wasn’t as much action as there was in the first, but the underlying tension was well-built. I liked that the imminent threats were different, and I liked how the story progressed. I also liked the romance between Ari and Jackson, even when she was making a stand against him.
    There were several small twists in the book that I didn’t see coming, and I liked the anticipation of what would happen next, especially with the poor communication between Earth and Loge.

    The ending to this was okay, but the cliff-hanger was so annoying! I really want to read the next book now!
    Overall; great second instalment in this sci-fi dystopian series.
    9 out of 10

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    The characters Gravity ended with Ari arriving in Loge.Now,in H

    The characters

    Gravity ended with Ari arriving in Loge.Now,in Hover, she is trying to accept the fact that she's half Ancient and that she lives in a different planet with the help from Jackson and Emmy,her healer.She's pretty lucky because she gets to live with Jackson and his cousin and Emmy's grandson,Vill.Zeus makes her join the RES and she starts training with the rest of the group.The bright side?Jackson is her trainer.

    Moreover,she has found a safe way to communicate with Earth without Zeus knowing about it but things back home are not the same.Law is the President of the United States until his mother recovers from a heart attack and he seems distant towards Ari.On Earth,they expect Zeus's next step which is declaring war but they can't let that happen.So they ask from Ari to kill Zeus once and for all.In the beginning she hesitates but when Zeus orders that one human will be executed every day in order to take over Earth,she's more than happy to oblige.

    Zeus is one crazy and paranoid person.He's getting older,weaker,starts losing control and he knows that.That's why he tortures Ari so that he can get as many information he can and find out weaknesses about humans.But at some point he crosses the line and the only to fight back is one: REVOLUTION

    But apart from Zeus and his evil destruction plan,there's also Ari and Jackson.Ari can't forgive him for all the things he kept from her in Gravity.She's not ready for a relationship with him and he agrees with that but wishes for more.But throughout the book Ari uncovers secrets and truths about Jackson and the cruel way he was raised that makes her realize that she can't live without him.

    Verdict

    Melissa West in Gravity introduces us to a new world.In Hover this world is about to change.Well hidden secrets,revelations,action packed and an unexpected cliffhanger that you won't see it coming makes Hover one of the best sequels I've read and I can't wait to read the final chapter of this story in Collide.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ¿Hover¿ è uno di quei libri che ho aspettato per tutto l¿anno, p

    “Hover” è uno di quei libri che ho aspettato per tutto l’anno, perché davvero, appena finito “Gravity” dovevo assolutamente sapere che cosa sarebbe successo. Le attese per un nuovo libro sono strazianti, soprattutto se si tratta di uno che hai amato davvero con tutto il cuore, come in questo caso. Sono felice di aver recensito il primo volume della “The Taking” serie durante il “Mese della Distopia” e di poter recensire “Hover” durante la “Settimana della Distopia”. Quando Heather Riccio cercava blogger interessati a recensire un eARC di questo libro non ho potuto proprio dire di no, non quando “Gravity” è stato una delle rivelazioni dell’anno. E vi posso dire che ho letteralmente adora questo secondo volume.




     




    Sulla Terra, la diciassettenne Ari Alexander le è stato insegnato di non sbirciare mai, ma se spera di sopravvivere alla vita sul suo nuovo pianeta, Loge, i suo occhi non devono mai chiudersi. Perché Zeus farà di tutto per salvare gli Ancients dal loro pianeta che sta morendo, e ha un piano.




    Migliaia di umani hanno attraversato lo spazio verso Loge dopo che una neurotossina velenosa è stata rilasciata nell’atmosfera terrestre, quasi uccidendoli tutti. Cercano rifugio nella speranza di trovare una nuova vita, ma sono diventati dei meri schiavi, addestrati per portare la guerra contro il loro pianeta natale. Questo è, a meno che Ari e Jackson non li fermino. Ma su Loge, niente è quello che sembra… e non ci si può fidare di nessuno.




     




    Ci sono vari motivi per cui ho adorato questo libro, e non so se sono in grado di scrivere una recensione decente, non dopo così poco tempo dalla fine della lettura, non dopo essermi resa conto che non solo “Hover” è straordinario, ma ha addirittura superato le aspettative che avevo su di lui. Uno di quei libri che iniziano in sordina e poi ti regalano mille emozioni, emozioni così forti e vivide che non puoi smettere di pensarci. Voglio dire una marea di cose su questo libro, ma sono certa che finirò per dimenticarmene la metà.




    Innanzitutto voglio ringraziare immensamente Melissa West per avermi risposto in maniera continuativa su Twitter, a qualunque scemenza scrivessi, facendomi quasi pensare di leggere il libro insieme a lei. Avere un tale riscontro con uno scrittore è davvero un’emozione senza precedenti.




    “Hover” inizia esattamente da dove “Gravity” ci aveva lasciato, Ari è su Loge e deve fare i conti con la sua guarigione, ma soprattutto deve acclimatarsi ad un nuovo paese di cui non può fidarsi di nessuno. Ari viene messa alla prova, è sempre lei che racconta la sua storia, ma in questo nuovo volume è sa sola con quello che prova e deve reagire in fretta. L’anima della leader e della stratega è sempre con lei e la porta ad essere la donna da cui tutti vanno per avere aiuto. Mentre i rapporti con Jackson si fanno tirati, il suo istinto per la sopravvivenza e tutto quello che ha sempre conosciuto la portano a scagliarsi contro Zeus, che in qualche modo non incarna solo il male, ma anche la pazzia di una guerra che si protrae da secoli. Ari è confusa, ma sa che in qualche modo deve farsi forza e sfruttare tutte le debolezze che riesce a individuare. I veri leader a volte sono soli, devono fare i conti con chi non c’è e prendere delle decisioni che non avrebbero mai creduto possibili. Mentre Ari impara a sue spese chi è e quello che deve fare, dalla narrazione esce anche il ritratto di un nuovo Jackson. E ragazzi posso assicurarvi che se lo avete amato in “Gravity” in “Hover” lo venererete. Se nel primo volume lo troviamo praticamente in incognito, che deve nascondere la sua vera natura nella quotidianità, qui lo troviamo in incognito nella stessa maniera, perché in qualche modo, per proteggersi, nasconde in una buca profondissima dentro di sé la sua reale natura. Il braccio destro di Zeus, ogni giorno deve mostrarsi un comandante, un guerriero, un uomo potente che non si lascia sconfiggere da niente, nonostante le sue reali paure e insicurezze che lo lasciano privo di stabilità, come un ramo trascinato dalla corrente. Incapace di smettere di pensare ad Ari, frenato nei suoi sentimenti dal freddo distacco della ragazza, continua a sostenerla e a proteggerla, anche se significa soccombere alla furia di Zeus.




    E se la componente romantica e passionale ha un ruolo importante e senza dubbio super emozionale, che lascia il lettore incredulo e assolutamente commosso, le scene nella camera di Jackson sono le più tenere, soprattutto quando lui dorme di schiena, alla fine ciò che conta è la parte di descrizione delle abitudini degli Ancients, del loro modo di pensare, di cosa sono e cosa vogliono. I membri del popolo, gli ultimi, i deboli, quelli che alla fine ci rimettono sempre:




    It didn’t seem possible that maybe there were bad and good within each group and that like with any war throughout history, the people—the everyday people—were the truly good ones and the ones to suffer the most.




     




    “L’Asino: Il popolo utile, paziente e bastonato” come diceva Gabriele Galantara, quel popolo che si piega al volere, o meglio alla pazzia, del suo leader e ne esce virtualmente distrutto. Loge sta morendo, tutti sono in pericolo, ognuno ha il suo tornaconto personale e Ari si fa portavoce del bisogno di sopravvivere oltre un governo centrale incapace di accogliere i reali bisogni dei suoi cittadini.




    Ci sono tre nuovi personaggi: Vill, Mami e Emmy, più legati di quello che si potrebbe immaginare all’inizio, che fanno la differenza nella lotta di Ari e la sosterranno come potranno. Riappaiono anche nostre vecchie conoscenze il padre di Ari, Low e Gretchen ma le cose non sono più come prima, qualcosa decisamente non quadra.




    Tra boschi che nascondono segreti, svelamenti che non avreste mai creduto Ari e Jackson dovranno fare i conti con il loro rapporto e su cosa è necessario fare. E la mia scena preferita rimane sempre la seconda sul ponte.




    Il particolare da non dimenticare? Una statuetta di legno.




    In un mix straordinario che unisce il puro sci-fi ad atmosfere distopiche, senza rinunciare alla romance più romantica e delicata, le lotte e le torture, segreti inimmaginabili “Hover” vi conquisterà dalla prima pagina e non sarete in grado di staccarvene. E il finale, al cardiopalma, vi lascerà con la voglia di averne ancora, ancora e ancora.




    Mentre io aspetto buona buona “Collide” il terzo volume della saga, voi attendete il 13 agosto e procuratevi questo libro, ve lo prometto non ve ne pentirete!




     




    Ringrazio immensamente Heather Riccio e Melissa West per avermi concesso la straordinaria opportunità di leggere in anteprima “Hover” in cambio della mia onesta opinione!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Review: 4 ½ out of 5 stars Contains possible spoilers from t

    Review: 4 ½ out of 5 stars




    Contains possible spoilers from the first book, Gravity.




    I thoroughly enjoyed the first book in The Taking series, Gravity so I was more than eager to read the sequel Hover and it certainly lived up to all of my expectations and kept me flipping through the pages wanting to know more.




    After the events at the end of the first book, Ari Alexander is now residing on the dying planet of Loge with the Ancients who she doesn’t trust and who don’t seem to trust her and Jackson Locke who saved her but also betrayed her in Gravity.




    Loge is a planet filled with secrets and many surprises and I found myself not knowing who could be trusted or relied upon, but the true villain was psychotic Zeus who was evil personified with his power hungry and extremely cruel ways. Is it bad that I love reading about evil characters and what makes them tick? Zeus’s knowledge and power exceeds what we seem to know so I’m curious to learn more about him; I found the way he quoted word meanings quite interesting. He was like a walking dictionary.




    I adored the main characters, Ari was so kick-butt awesome and selfless but she started to doubt her strength and abilities in this book and my heart broke for Jackson; what he has had to endure at the hands of his grandfather was heartbreaking. Both characters showed great development and the romance progressed at a believable pace, it definitely wasn’t at the forefront of the story but has left me wanting more.




    We get to meet some truly wonderful side characters such as Jackson’s family members Mami, Emmi and Vill. Each of them was loveable and written well. We only get small snippets of some of the characters we got to know in the first book such as Gretchen, Lawrence and Ari’s parents – I thought we’d see more from Law considering his relationship to Jackson.




    The plot flowed easily and focused on Ari finding a way to terminate Zeus and return the humans to their home planet. Gravity focused on Earth and finding a way to save Loge, Hover focussed more on Loge and Zeus’s plans to take over Earth and I see the third book taking us back to Ari’s home planet and dealing with the fallout of the brewing war. The cliff-hanger ending has left me completely stunned so I’m unsure in which direction it will go but I’m really intrigued.




    Certain events have left me with a lot more questions which I hope will be answered in the next book, Collide which has an anticipated 2014 release date – the wait is going to be just as brutal as that ending.




    Overall, Hover is written extremely well and is a great addition to The Taking series; the world-building continues to develop as do the characters. We get a perfect balance of action, romance and suspense that keeps you wanting more.




    Thank-you kindly to Entangled Publishing for the opportunity to read and review Hover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wow. So much happened in this book that I'm still trying to proc

    Wow. So much happened in this book that I'm still trying to process it all. I loved this book! Hover took all the thrills, romance, and surprises that made Gravity such an awesome read and did it ten times better. If you liked Gravity, you are going to absolutely loved this book.

    Ari becomes much stronger in this book. Though she faced, and took down, huge odds in book 1, she would also back down sometimes. In this book, that wasn't going to happen. Whether she wanted it or not, she was in the middle of it all and she refused to be kept in ignorance. And, when something needed to be done, she wasn't afraid to put her life on the line. She was one kick-ass heroine. I liked her even more than I already did in this book.

    We get to know Jackson a lot more in this book. In his home planet, he's in his element and also in the middle of all the ghosts that haunt him. In book 1, we see him as a charming, strong, clever, and determined spy turned rebel. In this book, we see him a leader who commands respect as the future ruler and a boy who has yet to overcome his past. That made me both respect and sympathize with his character more. Respect, because there wasn't any doubt that he was a true leader. Sympathize, because his past wasn't pretty and the way his grandfather treats him is horrendous. He becomes a much deeper character. And, of course, he was still unbearably sweet and utterly swoon-worthy. He was absolutely wonderful in this book and I adored him.

    The romance deepened in this book. It turned from deep affection and infatuation into real and obvious love. With Ari and Jackson having to face life threatening danger and planning a coupe together, they obviously get much closer. It was definitely sweet seeing them together. And I thought it was adorable how each would feel their troubles lessen when they were together. They were just a brilliant couple and I can't wait to see how things go for them in the next book.

    We see different sides of all the characters in this book, not just the main couple. The game had changed and all the characters had to change to stay in it. I enjoyed seeing the new depth to all the characters.

    The plot went at breakneck speed and it was a roller coaster. There were twists and turns and I never knew what to expect. Secrets, surprises, thrills. It all had me riveted and completely on the edge of my seat. And it. Was. Awesome. That ending...I kind of wanted to throw my Kindle across the room. I mean, holy cliffhanger! I kept trying to turn the page in the vain hope that there was more, but no. Oh my goodness did it make my jaw drop and have me already anxious for the next book. Please let it come out soon because I don't know if I can physically handle the suspense of dying to know what happens next!

    Hover was absolutely amazing! If book 1 was good, than this book was out of this world (pun intended). It was a keep-you-on-the-edge-of-your-seat amazingly awesome book that had thrills, romance, surprises, and one hell of an ending. Fans of Gravity, I have no doubt that you will love this book. And, for those who haven't yet started the series, you definitely need to get on that because it's totally epic.

    *I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was so psyched when I found out I won an eARC of Hover from En

    I was so psyched when I found out I won an eARC of Hover from Entangled! Needless to say, I started it immediately. Like the moment I received it. Hover, if you can imagine, is even better than Gravity! I gave both books 5 stars but I wish there was a way I could differentiate. Because this one is just mind-blowing. It's very different from Gravity, of course, since the entire book takes place on Loge, not Earth. And I loved the new setting, Loge sounds absolutely amazing. Well, not the situation of course, but the general stuff.
    Ari is now on Loge, being taken care of by an old woman called Emmy, who is more than she seems. Jackson is with her too, but she's trying to keep her distance from him on account of the huge secrets he kept from her. But Ari and Jackson need each other, and she figures that out over the course of the novel. The situation in both Loge and Earth is deteriorating fast, and the leaders on Earth give Ari an ultimatum. Kill Zeus, or everything will end. Ari doesn't know if she can trust Jackson, since he's Zeus's grandson after all, but he's with her every step of the way.
    Ari is definitely one of my favourite female protagonists. She kind of reminds me of Alex from Jennifer Armentrout's Covenant series, because of her toughness, courage, and kindness. Ari has always been taught to be strong, but she doesn't know if she can be who her father wants her to be - a commander. Because she cares too much. Ari's determined to save Earth as well as the humans on Loge, and all the Logeans who have stood against Zeus. So that's quite a huge burden on her. Plus, she's becoming more Ancient and less human by the minute. She has Logean abilities, and learns to enhance them. I loved how much Ari grows in this book. She becomes so much wiser, and more than anything, she learns to trust.
    Jackson is so completely different from the one we see in Gravity! After all, he's not Jackson Locke anymore. He's the grandson of Zeus, the leader of Loge. He's pretty damn important on Loge, and Ari sees that really quickly. We see a lot of different sides of Jackson in Hover - sides you'd never think he had. Jackson is incredibly protective of Ari, he's strong and on the right track, he's got a great mind, and he can be vulnerable too. That last side just about broke me into pieces, guys. Jackson, open and hurt and vulnerable? Yeah. But it made me admire him so much more because of his ability to hold it together on the surface. He'll do anything to stop the war, and that includes assassinating his grandfather. But it's a lot harder than he thought, and the people he loves are in danger.
    One new character that really had an impact on me is Vill. He's Jackson's roommate, and an incredible artist. He's a genius, too. He's the one who installs a safe communication link with Earth so that Ari and Jackson can talk to the President and the other leaders to come up with a plan. Vill is a lot wiser than he looks. Emmy is his grandmother, so he's obviously inherited her intellect and thought process. I can't wait to get to know him more in Collide, since he intrigued me so much in this.
    One thing that tied me all up in knots is the ending. Cliffhanger warning! I can't stand not knowing what's going to happen! It's definitely epic, no doubt about that. And totally unexpected. And I should shut up now before I give away anything. Anyway, this book totally blew me away with its action and surprises and danger and romance. Ari and Jackson have some major sparks! I loved those scenes. And Zeus is one evil guy! He's the kind of villain you love to hate. Like Voldemort. This guy has no remorse. I shudder to think of what Ari and Jackson go through at his hands...
    So in case you haven't caught on yet, I LOVED this. So much that I want to re-read it immediately. It's building up to a huge climax in Collide, which I hope lives up to my expectations of it after reading this! Melissa West created such an amazing sequel with this one. I love her writing and I love her characters. I don't want to let go of them! We really get to know them in Hover, and they buried their way into my heart. Ari and Jackson have made their way to my favourite YA couples list! Not that I actually have a list, but you know what I mean. They're incredible together. And I can't wait to see how their relationship develops in Collide, as well as how everything plays out.
    *Thank you to Heather Riccio for providing an eARC for review*
    Rating: 5/5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    I got to start by saying that I'm blown away by this book. I do


    I got to start by saying that I'm blown away by this book. I don't exactly know what it is and I'm sorry to say that its not mind blowing good, even though it is good but its just addictive. There's something about it. I had a couple chances to pick up another book that I've been waiting for but for some reason it kept me reading. To me that says a lot about a book. If I get bored with something I will easily put it down but not this one. I had to find out what was going to happen.

    "Do I think that you are brave enough to try to kill him? Absolutely. So I think you'll survive?" He signs. "No one ever has.""

    Alright so the book starts off 3 weeks after Gravity with Ari on Loge and fighting to save her planet, Earth. Hover takes up deeper into the customs and obstacles that Ari has to face in order to save her planet. At least what's left of it. From the leader going crazy, Jackson hiding things from her, and not everyone is accepting of all the humans on their planets. Its a read that keeps you interested and invested into its characters.

     I just love how easy it was to read this novel. There was plenty of action and mystery to amp up the book but also enough tender moments to satisfy my romantic side. I really fell in love with Jackson all over again and even more then before. Hover really showed a side of Jackson that we didn't get to see before, and what I saw I liked. He wasn't as put together as we thought and to see him struggle really portrayed him as more human then anything else. 

    "I want you. In every way. In any way I can get you. And if that means being your friend, then that's what I'll be."

    Ari and Jacksons relationship really developed in this second book leaving me wondering what's going to happen in the next. I cant tell you what happens at the ending but lets just say I will be getting the next one. I GOT TO FIND OUT WHATS GOING TO HAPPEN! I love the ending of these books because it gives you enough to be satisfied but yet the cliffhanger makes you beg for the next book... I'm begging here.. Can I be the first to get #3!!! Begging here!!! ... =)

    Overall it was a good follow-up novel with lots of mystery and just enough romance. I recommend it to any one who likes sci-fi teen reads and just want to get lost in a different world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    jklHover (The Taking #2) blew my mind! I mean, just wow. I read

    jklHover (The Taking #2) blew my mind! I mean, just wow. I read Gravity and it quickly became one of my favorite books so I was really excited about reading Hover. I waited patiently so when I finally got to reading it I as all built up from book 1 ready to dive into book 2. Melissa, did not disappoint in this one. The world she creates is so beautifully described not just the places but the people. When you read it, it completely takes you over enveloping your mind everything around you disappears and you are completely sucked into the pages in between this beautiful cover. The plot was well built and the subplots supported the story so the flow was perfect.

    I read other reviewers so I looked for those things that other reviewers found lacking but I saw none of that. There was a beginning and an end and so much development. I learned so much about Loge and the characters. Oh Jackson, his struggles tugged at my heart, he tried to play so many different rolls trying to please everyone. We all know that we do that but it's not possible. His relationship with Ari was very realistic, I mean after everything we know about Ari and where she grew up and her life it made complete sense that she hesitates in her relationship.

    Ari has such a fierce personality. Everything she does and feels is intensified. Her loyalty and the way she loves is magnificent. I love the fact that, unlike some other books, she isn't a stupid girl who forgives and forgets easily and gives into her heart. She is very cautious which I think every girl should be cautious with their heart. There is nothing about Ari that bothers me or I don't like.

    Zeus(I say that with disgust) he is such a...okay maybe I can't really write what I want to call him but he is the worst but the best villain if I ever did read one. But there was that one time...I won't tell you, you'll have to read it for yourself. The supporting characters, loved them! My favorite was definitely Emmy. I have love for that women. She sort of reminds me of my grandma.

    The twist, what good is a book if there isn't a twist? Something that you don't see coming, something that will make your heart beat erratically, something that will make you gasp. Yes, yes, and yes. The twist had all of those things and I am going to be impatiently waiting for the next book. Yes, it's one of those. I would recommend Hover, but read Gravity first they are both excellent. Really you don't know what you're missing. The best sci-fi book I have read this yea

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    So I was so excited to read this...also so nervous. Gravity was

    So I was so excited to read this...also so nervous. Gravity was an awesomely amazing book and the ending, well let’s just say whoa. I’ve been waiting for Hover for a while and yes it made me nervous to pick it up but I’m happy to say I was not disappointed. The book absolutely played puppeteer with my heart strings but that’s because I am so heavily invested in the characters. This is one of those series that I think doesn’t get enough love. Everyone should read it! I don’t think you have to be a sci-fi lover either. 

    Jackson, oh Jackson. I had a feeling about who he was from the beginning so I could never be mad at him. Plus despite everything you can tell how sweet Jackson really is. Plus I love the way he is with Ari, even if she is mad at him and trying to push him away. He is always standing beside her and being support. He has a lot of things that are revealed about him in this book. He has always been a guy that keeps his cards close to his chest but we see some cracks. Things he doesn’t want Ari to know to protect her. Some of it is horrid and some of it just makes you love him even more. Seriously can you tell I love to drool over Jackson. Total book boyfriend.

    Ari is such a tough cookie but is not always perfect. She still had a tendency to act before thinking but we really start to see her realize this and try to be more reserved. She knows her weaknesses and is always trying to improve them. I really like her as the main character and find her easy to connect to. Although I do get frustrated with her where Jackson is concerned but you know, she feels a little betrayed. She is pretty amazing in this book I have to say. 

    Zeus is one scary dude. Which is probably why he is named Zeus. I love how much detail is put into his villainy ways. Down to the way he treats and manipulates people. When Jackson describes how he will talk towards the window so you can’t see his face, I thought it was such a great detail.. I mean Melissa really points out to us not only his villainous but his intelligence. That this isn’t some guy you just walk in and throw him out the window and say, hooray the world is saved! It’s a lot more complex than that. Zeus is more complex than that, there might have once been a person there but he has long been corroded by power.

    We get a whole new squad of characters as the book takes place on Loge. Vil is one of my absolute favorite additions. He’s got this terrific intelligent mind that never stops turning. So he uses outs like creating sculptures and doing awesome techie things. He also has wisdom beyond his years. I also like Mami, Emmy and Madison a lot too. Emmy at first kind of comes off as someone I wasn’t going to like but I finally embraced her. We also see appearances from some characters from the other books. Like Law and Ari’s dad...seriously though what is up with Law? I’m not going to say more.

    The plot kept me intrigued the entire time, since we on a new planet it was almost like having a first book in a second book. It’s a whole different place to learn about, which it’s easy to see the two are going to collide in book 3. I thought that is well thought out and planned. Of course this book was a little more stressful. We are talking about a buildup to war here. Wow and let me tell you about the ending....well I can’t but wow. Melissa has me once again on the edge of my seat demanding that book 3 be in my mailbox tomorrow. 

    This series continues to be one of my favorites and I really hope you pick it up if you haven’t already.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    Plot: I have been waiting to read this book since I finished

    Plot:




    I have been waiting to read this book since I finished GRAVITY. And I was sooooo happy to get an e-ARC of it!!




    Ari is now on Loge, and she has to face what happened back on Earth, what's happening on Loge now, and trying to figure out her and Jackson out. All before everything comes crashing down.




    Everything went pretty fast, there wasn't really a pause in the action, which I didn't mind at all. And at first, I was like...where's the romance? But it comes just at the end, and there's plenty for the rest of book, I promise. ;)




    Characters:




    I won a contest last year sometime, and I got a chance to be in Melissa's book. And I was! Reading about me was amazing, and even though I wasn't in it very much, it was still awesome.




    I love Ari, at first she's all tough, and then you see her scared and weak scared, seeing how human she really is. I don't like heroines who act tough all the time, I like them where they can be weak and scared too. And Ari is a perfect example! I thought I could relate to her a lot, besides being with aliens and all that...




    Jackson was a mystery to both me and Ari. She couldn't figure him out, and towards the end, we finally really get Jackson, so the mystery was finally solved, and I felt like I could understand Jackson better.




    With all the other characters, and the villian, Zeus, it was an awesome cast of characters, and I can't wait to read more about them in COLLIDE!




    Romance:




    As I said before, there wasn't a lot of romance up until the end, and it was enough for the entire book. Jackson and Ari are a tough couple, being complete oppsisties, but together, they are amazing! I hope they get married in the near future...




    Writing:




    It's written in the present tense, which is now my favorite tense, since I'm writing in it. It used to bother me, but now I love it, and the writing is awesome! I can't wait to read more!




    Rating:




    4.5 stars! I'm anxiously waiting for COLLIDE, the ending of HOVER will kill you. I cried.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Thank you to Heather of Entangled Teens, for providing this ARC!

    Thank you to Heather of Entangled Teens, for providing this ARC! 
    This book was out-of-this-world amazing! I think I may have become a fan of Melissa West. From start to finish not a single page dire. Hover is the second installment to The Taking series, with Gravity being the first book. And although I have not read Gravity everything still makes sense. Melissa West made sure to present her readers with adequate details, from the previous book, allowing those who have not read the first, to understand the overall direction of the plot.   
    Ari Alexander awoken on a planet that is not her own, the planet of Loge; with her life – her family and friends on Earth. After Neurotoxin was released into the Earth’s atmosphere, humans have no choice but to seek sanctuary with the Logeans. But where Zeus rule – a man everyone fears, the planet of loge is no safe haven. It is up to Ari and Jackson – the boy she once trusted, to make things right … even if it means risking their lives. Who can be trusted? How will a seventeen-year-old be the one to save Earth and Loge from destruction? Only one way to find out, GET IT!
    Gah, a few hours after putting down this book and I am still feeling exhilarated. There is nothing disappointing about Hover. Everything moved with such fluidity, it felt as if I was watching a major motion picture. 
    It was refreshing that the people accepted Ari for what she is capable of; especially the men. They – well some of them – were accepting of Ari’s role as a born leader, someone capable of commanding. I am so use to the men in YA/NA novels always believing their leading ladies to be a damsel-in-distress, it is nice to read about a strong female protagonist being acknowledged and not shamed for being able to fight for herself. And with it all, she stills hold on to her humane touch; her weakness; her fears; these are the factors that kept her realistic as a character. This has to be the first read, where I feel the female out shines the male protagonist. It feels as if Jackson is only a minor character, and there is nothing wrong with that. I will be looking forward to their relationship in book three!
    Zeus. You cannot help but feel intimidated by him. Even as I was reading, it was as if I were in Ari’s shoes, standing there before him, having him feed on my thoughts. I wanted to coward away. Each scene with him left an eerie impression. And for once, I am glad that I am not living in his world. 
    NOOOO THE ENDING! I was so immersed with the action; I did not know I was already on the last page. Darn cliffhanger … A good one at that. There is no uncertainty now that I will be keeping an eye out for the third book. Fans of The Taking series will not be let down.
    In need of a good book to throw yourself in? Read HOVER. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT follow-up, liked it better than the 1st!

    **NOTE: Because of the way Gravity ended this can't be a spoiler-free review. If you haven't read Gravity, STOP READING NOW**

    Ok, so first off the cover. Gracious the covers for Gravity (The Taking #1) and Hover are stunning. LOVE space pics so I love these covers.

    Now onto the good stuff...

    All right. So Ari is stuck on Loge in the hospital. Her only contact has been with the healers (her fav is Emmy) and Jackson. She has no clue what's happened to the other humans or what is taking place on Earth. Add to that as a new Ancient she now has to be evaluated by Loge's top healers and placed into one of the four "work" sectors, which means she could end up being a spy against her own planet if she's placed as an RES. Likelihood of this: HIGH. She was training to be the Commander on Earth after all.

    Enter Zeus, all around bad dude, leader of Loge, and Jackson's grandfather. Feared by Loge, and hated by Jackson, Zeus believes Ari has information that will help him invade Earth and subjugate it.

    Ari is still having trust issues with Jackson. He failed to tell her who he really was and so now she questions nearly everything he tells her, and though she is still attracted to him, she can't forget that he lied to her.

    Jackson, now back on home turf, is both the same and different. His feelings for Ari haven't changed, but back on his planet he doesn't have to hide his identity--or his abilities--and has a large leadership role with the RESs (Logean spies) that reveals a whole other side of him.

    I loved seeing Jackson back home. While there was always a bit of a question about his true motives on Earth, on Loge you get to see Jackson. Both the good and the bad and the heartbreaking. He becomes a much more rounded, like-able/sympathetic character. And I REALLY liked him in this book. Ari grows tremendously in Hover. Once, only concerned with Earth and humans--the black and white of things--Ari begins to see the shades of gray, and her relationship with Jackson changes because of this.

    With help from some wonderful secondary characters, Ari comes up with a plan that she hopes will not only save the humans stuck on Loge, but the Logeans destined to perish along with their planet.

    Will it work? I DON'T KNOW BECAUSE IT WAS A CLIFFHANGER ENDING THAT KIIIIIIIIILLED!!

    However, I still highly recommend. It was a fabulous follow-up to a great debut.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    4.5 stars

    This book takes place mainly on Loge - the planet where the Ancients live. We learned that it was dying in the last book which is a shame because Triad (the city) is described as something beautiful....well the parts that's still alive. Anyway after what happened in the last book, Ari is taken to Loge in order to survive. But it's almost not worth it. Zeus is hell bent on figuring out Ari, she doesn't know who to trust there, and her feelings for Jackson are compromised.

    Zeus is still the all around bad guy. He's planning on using the refugees to his advantage. In this book my hatred for him has grown. He's done so many horrible things.

    There was some new characters that play a vital role in helping Ari. It's up to her to help humans and the Ancients. Which I think she is the great choice to do the job. She's having tug-of-war feelings for Jackson. She can't get over the fact that he lied to her for a while. Finally she had a moment and realized that she was being silly. Can I say hello chapter 26?!?

    I thought it was great and I can't wait until the next book comes out especially on what happened at the end. I would say I saw it coming, but alas I did not think that would happen. Awesomeness.

    *A big thanks to the publisher for the eARC*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2