Customer Reviews for

How Angel Peterson Got His Name: And Other Outrageous Tales about Extreme Sports

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

My boy loved this book!

Paulsen's books are great! My sons are dyslexic, these books have been such motivation encouragement my youngest has gone from the lower 5% to the upper 97% in reading in just 1 semester, Thanks Gary!

posted by tldew on April 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The book I have been reading is how Angel Peterson got his name

The book I have been reading is how Angel Peterson got his name by Gary Paulson. This book was very interesting and it was steered towards younger age group but it contained thing for older audiences as well. This book was about this kid Angel Peterson and a group of hi...
The book I have been reading is how Angel Peterson got his name by Gary Paulson. This book was very interesting and it was steered towards younger age group but it contained thing for older audiences as well. This book was about this kid Angel Peterson and a group of his friends that try to break world records, make names for themselves, make money, and be able to get/talk to girls. They tried to break speed records and they tried stunts that other people have already done but they wanted to do better than them at it. They also tried to jump cars with bikes and other stupid stunts.
Now I would like to recommend this book to age groups that contain young kids and teenagers because this book in a way connects the two groups together. I found this book interesting because there are boys my age doing a bunch of stupid stuff that I myself probably would have or want to do like I want to jump cars with a mountain bike like they did although it will probably turn out very bad. However I think it would be fun.

posted by CheeseyBurrito110 on September 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    My boy loved this book!

    Paulsen's books are great! My sons are dyslexic, these books have been such motivation encouragement my youngest has gone from the lower 5% to the upper 97% in reading in just 1 semester, Thanks Gary!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    The book I have been reading is how Angel Peterson got his name

    The book I have been reading is how Angel Peterson got his name by Gary Paulson. This book was very interesting and it was steered towards younger age group but it contained thing for older audiences as well. This book was about this kid Angel Peterson and a group of his friends that try to break world records, make names for themselves, make money, and be able to get/talk to girls. They tried to break speed records and they tried stunts that other people have already done but they wanted to do better than them at it. They also tried to jump cars with bikes and other stupid stunts.
    Now I would like to recommend this book to age groups that contain young kids and teenagers because this book in a way connects the two groups together. I found this book interesting because there are boys my age doing a bunch of stupid stuff that I myself probably would have or want to do like I want to jump cars with a mountain bike like they did although it will probably turn out very bad. However I think it would be fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    good

    If you are looking for a book about adventure this is good.Its all so good for just reading.Worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2007

    really funny!

    How Angel Peterson Got His Name was a great book. This book tells what you could have done in the 1950¿s if you lived in the middle of nowhere. Like go to the Armey Surplus and buy an airplane or a battleship for $300. Or you could just buy clothing with bullet holes in them, or snow skies, or hangliders, and parachutes. And they used the things in the book to break records and to have fun. This book is extremely funny because it¿s based on a true story. This is a great book with action. I think anyone who likes quick books that make you laugh would really enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    How angle petterson got his name

    I have read this book and I think that it os halarious and I also like ot because I do like the auther gary palson. If u like this book u should read his other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    READ THIS NOW!!!!

    Awesomeness best book worth reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    S

    Luvd it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    this book awsome and funny

    The book how angle pertoson got his name. In chapter the miracle flight is a funny when this boy wanted to to buy this fighter kiant. Emil had to go to pick up some silk for his mom. When he walked in the hard ware store he saw this fighter khant hung up on the wall. He picked up the silk for his mom then returned home. But Emil was one of those people how is thate with a nicely. He raised his own money sow he could buy this fighter kiant. When he bout this kiant he want to home to clane of the wall he was going to put kiate on it. But when he trade to go to sleep he keep trying to figer out what was on his wall so he call up his friend to help him flay his karate where angle brock the world reaced on skies. Wharethe big fieled is we will meat ther earley mornig.then they meant in the big fieled then they fly the the keate but it touke him up in the sky.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2007

    Alex's review

    Have you ever wanted to set a world record? Have you ever wanted to do something crazy? The characters in Gary Paulsen's How Angel Peterson got his Name do just that. At the age of 13, Paulsen and his friends break the world record on skis, wrestle with a bear, jump through a hoop of fire, and more. The characters in the book have the same mind as young adult. It is a good choice for boys and some girls ages 11- 15 because they can relate to Gary Paulsen and his friends. This book is action packed and the fun never stops. Gary wants to tell his friends not to do the amazing stunts that they do because they might get hurt but he has the curiosity to keep his mouth shut. He wonders what will happen to Angel while breaking the record, what will happen to Orvis when he wrestles the bear? Breaking the world record of 74 miles an hour on skis isn¿t easy, especially when you live where there aren¿t any hills. Another thing, there wasn¿t safety gear. The trouble starts when they pass the record at 82 miles an hour. They hit a place with out snow and Angel flies off his skies. Later he told his friends that he heard the Angels sing. They were singing ¿Your Cheatin¿ Heart¿ by Hank Williams.¿ Orvis Orvison wasn¿t very popular and was always being beaten up at school. He also couldn¿t talk to girls. So he got the girls¿ attention by showing off. Whenever there were girls around he would always be two feet higher or jump five feet farther then his friends. At the carnival he saw a sign that said wrestle with a bear for one minute win $25. Orvis saw some girls and got in the ring with the bear. A New York Times Best Seller and a 2004 winner for the ALA Best Books for Young Adults, Paulsen¿s memoir about his childhood is not to be missed by middle school readers who want to read a book that will put a smile on their face. Teen readers will be able to find similarities between themselves and the characters in the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2007

    read it!

    Book review of How Angel Peterson Got His Name How Angel Peterson Got His Name is a book about a group of 12 year old boys doing crazy stunts and hilarious pranks. Each of these kids has a crazy and stupid dream or stunt that they want to accomplish. Even though they could end up dead if not very close to it, they still try. Gary Paulsen does a great gob describing all of these stunts and giving you a great picture of what is going on in the book. Although this book is chopped up into little stories each with a stupider and crazier stunt than the last, it¿s still funny and a great book to read. But since there are just a bunch of little stories that fit into one which sort of makes it easier to read because you¿re not having to keep track of one big story. Rather than just a bunch of little stories so if you don¿t like one story you can just read the next one and see if you like it. That¿s why I would recommend this book to struggling readers that don¿t like to read big books because they are ether hard to understand or that if you miss a part then you may have skipped an important part in knowing the story. Overall this is a great book with a crazy and outrageous changing plot full of surprising and funny twists along with all of the stupid stunts. In the end almost all the kids have gotten in trouble or hurt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2007

    yo skilly dogs dis is my outstanding review

    Pretty much all readers who have read this book say How Angel Peterson Got His Name by Gary Paulsen is a great quick read. It¿s a great book for reluctant and struggling readers. It¿s a good book for these people because number one it¿s a short book but long chapters which is good because it will make the reader read to the end of the chapter, number two it¿s a very funny book, and number three there¿s quite a bit of characters so there will be quite a bit of similarity between the reader and the characters. There isn¿t really a main character in this story it¿s all about a group of kids and the things they do for fun or to get girls to like them. Some of the kids will do anything to get girls attention. For example, a memorable scene is when, this one kid tries to wrestle a bear at the carnival, but the first few times he doesn¿t do it, but then he tries one more time and succeeds by getting tortured by the bear, because the objective is to stay in the rink for 1 minute. And then there was when the kids were really bored they decided to skateboard in the street and hold on to the back of the cars to go really fast. By the end of the book, readers are hung off with questions like what would happen if our world was just like this book, or what would happen if the people in our world were like the people in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2006

    a book for extreme sports fans !!

    i felt the book was difficult to follow because it jumped to different stories about angel and his friends and it was confusing to me. i liked how the book followed the seasons and their extreme sports adventures even though the stories were hard to beleive. this book would be good for a reader who likes or does extreme sports.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2005

    A must read for mothers of boys!!

    By far a great read aloud. The tales of dumb things boys do never stops. Gary Paulsen lived many of them. My girls and I loved this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2