Customer Reviews for

How Did I Get Here?: Finding Your Way to Renewed Hope and Happiness when Life and Love Take Unexpected Turns

Average Rating 4
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Awesome

    Great for anyone going through a major life change. I recommend it to many of my divorce clients. Explains why others sometimes disown you due to jealousy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2009

    Eh, not really for 'regular folk'?

    For anyone who wants to explore consequences of 'life change' or how to deal with transitions, or the whole 'death and rebirth' concept, I would recommend Melissa Gayle West's book about Trauma, or the older "Transitions" by Bridges. I found this book to be more "rah rah" and attemping to be inspiring, but I did not really feel connected to any of the stories that were presented to do so. Now, you don't necessarily have to feel connected to the stories or the people being used as examples of the concepts, but it seemed to me every time you entered into another alegory story, it was always about some kind of famous architect who never really wanted to be an architect, and is seeking, seeking, or some neurosurgeon who was thinking about the perfect summer home in his mind's eye, and just one day took a drive and took a wrong turn down a non-trodden path, AND THERE IT WAS, the perfect home. Right, I get it, we can't see how the path will unfold. We can't plan our way into happines, sometimes the universe knows best, yadda yadda. I suppose I had a problem reading about all of these people who in the eyes of society at least, have already been enormously successful, and now they're in some kind of mid-life crisis. Um, I haven't achieved my "First" dream yet, and don't know if my first dream is now applicable. So, taking a hundred thousand dollars gained from my first life as an internet millionaire, and switching my vocation to glass-blower isn't in my bag of tricks, requiring only the will and strngth to do so.

    In short, I felt very unconnected from this book. But still recommended if you can parse the concepts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2005

    How Did I Get Here?: Finding Your Way to Renewed Hope and Happiness when Life and Love Take Unexpected Turns

    This is a magnificent book for anyone interested in learning more about yourself and about how to be truly happy in life. As a psychologist in practice for twenty years, I find that most of the popular self-help books skim the surface of the challenges we all face and rehash what has already been said, but not HOW DID I GET HERE?!!! Barbara De Angelis has written a truly profound book that explores the process of change, challenge and transformation like no other book I have read. It is clear, easy to understand, but profound in its depth of understanding. I have already highly recommended this book to all of my patients, fellow therapists and friends.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2005

    How Did I Get Here?: Finding Your Way to Renewed Hope and Happiness when Life and Love Take Unexpected Turns

    When I began reading HOW DID I GET HERE? I never imagined it would save my marriage with my husband, but it did. I bought it because I was considering divorce after 16 years of marriage and had been asking myself How did I get here? for the past two years. As Barbara took me through the different chapters, I began to realize how much I had been sabotaging my relationship. My husband agreed to read the book too, and within a week our relationship felt better than it had in years.This book did what our counseling sessions didn't! Barbara explains that if we are turned off in our own life, we will be turned off to our partner, and this is EXACTLY what had happened to us.Now we feel like we have a whole new beginning, and I've given the book to at least seven couples I know. At least for my husband and me, her wisdom, heartfelt advice and techniques saved our marriage. THANK YOU BARBARA!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2005

    How Did I Get Here?: Finding Your Way to Renewed Hope and Happiness when Life and Love Take Unexpected Turns

    This book is a masterpiece! I'm still blown away from reading it.I just got it and could not put it down, and when I was done, I felt more peaceful and content than I had in such a long time. It is hard to describe how BArbara DeAngelis writes, but it is like she is speaking to you personally, like your best and most wise friend, and everything she says answers the questions you've been having about yourself and life. Barbara just spoke at our church last month and talked about this book, so I ordered it in advance. I have many of her books, but this is by far the best and most powerful. I marked the whole thing up already because there were so many amazing parts! I just e mailed all my friends and told them to get it immediately. This is perfect for anyone you know going through difficult times or just trying to figure themselves out, or anyone into spiritual books. My Mom just lost her best friend to cancer, and I just bought this book for her for Mothers Day. If you ever read this, thank you Barbara for this book that has already changed the way I look at everything and inspired me more than anything I've read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2005

    How Did I Get Here?: Finding Your Way to Renewed Hope and Happiness when Life and Love Take Unexpected Turns

    In a world full of mediocre, sloppily written books about life and love, How Did I Get Here? by Barbara De Angelis stands out like a diamond! This is by far the most beautifully written, compelling and honest book I have ever read by a self-help author or teacher. De Angelis doesn't preach--she skillfully reveals information in such a way that we really get what she is saying. She doesn't just throw out platitudes--she goes deep into a topic, like how we get stuck in our own suffering, why marriages really lose passion, why we can be unhappy and happy at the same time, and that we aren't crazy if we feel that way. Her explanations for these things are profound and simple at the same time. I kept finding myself thinking, 'This makes complete sense, ' as if somehow I already knew everything she was saying deep inside..except if I did, I'd forgotten it! Don't hesitate about buying this for yourself or anyone you know who is searching for more meaning and answers. How Did I Get Here? is everything a a good book is supposed to be, but not enough are--entertaining, enjoyable, inspiring, thought-provoking, meaningful, and life-changing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2005

    How Did I Get Here?: Finding Your Way to Renewed Hope and Happiness when Life and Love Take Unexpected Turns

    If you have been looking for an inspirational book that is not purely Christian, get Barbara's new book. This is the kind of book I have been waiting for --one that would give me spiritual insights but not preach to me or make me feel guilty for not being a strict Christian. HOW DID I GET HERE? is a truly spiritual and enlightening book, but it is for anyone of any faith, or even no faith. It is enlightening without being judgmental in any way. In fact, it is one of the most compassionate books I have read, and and an easy read at that. I tried reading Purpose Driven Life, but found it a little too 'bible-based', and simplistic.How did I get here? is real, honest, powerfully written, and deeply moving in many places. I actually cried a bunch of times which I don't normally do.I'm usually cynical about books that talk about spiritual rebirth, but I have to admit this is an accurate description when it comes to this book, and for the past few days, I do feel different in ways I didn't expect to. I'm betting this book will be the new Purpose Driven Life, but without the requirement to be familiar with the bible.I just leant it to a friend who loved Purpose Driven Life and is pretty seriously Christian, and he said he is loving How did I get here? , so I guess Barbara's book, while it doesn't turn off non-serious Christians, is still a powerful read for Christians. Now that's a feat...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1