Customer Reviews for

How Do I Love You?

Average Rating 4
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    A perfectly written book about unconditional love!

    My son LOVED this book & I highly recommend this one for any preschooler or young child (grades K-3). Right before I was done reading this to him he said, "I love you mommy!!" He really understood that no matter what I would love him anyway & it's an amazing way to help a child understand the meaning of unconditional love.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2002

    Sweet and touching - both parent and child will love it

    I'm surprised this book isn't more popular, it has all the makings of a classic. This book was given to my son for his second birthday. It is sweet and simple, about loving a child through their "best" and "worst" moments. The illustrations are darling, and the text is written in the first person ("I love you when you're good and I love you when...") so it's as if you're speaking to your child when you're reading it. My son laughs at the silly little boy in the illustrations and I love the simple message, it brings tears to my eyes every time! We are now buying it for a gift for my nephew.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2010

    Best Book Ever

    My only wish is that there was a "Read to Me" option on this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Fun to read! Feel good message!

    My granddaughter likes the rhyming flow of the text. Though sometimes I change it up a bit to fit her, since the pics are of a boy.
    The only part I don't like is that he wears his pants backwards. I believe in letting children choose how they dress, etc. but I'd hate to see her wearing her pants backwards after reading this.
    It's a great book though. Very good for kids to hear that they're accepted and loved by whomever is reading book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Great

    So lovely.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Love it

    My kids love this book, we read it or our recorded voices. Highly recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    It needs a Read to Me option.

    I would like for it to have a "Read to Me" choice on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Love this kids book

    My girls love it when I read this book to them at bedtime. This book is HIGHLY RECOMMEND!! Your kids will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    Cute

    My kids love this book. great pictures. great message.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    : )

    i love this book!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    For my nephew

    This was a great Valentine's Day gift for my nephew. My sister says he loves hearing it every night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    What a great book!

    I bought this book for my 3 year oldl grandson. Even though it is written from a parent's point of view (expressing their love for their child); it is definitely applicable to the close relationship that he and I share. I have been blessed to spend a lot of time with him. He LOVES when I read this to him. And, when given a choice of this book or one of his many others ... he chooses this every time. The last time I read it to him he said ... "Gramma, I LOVE you all those ways too!". I thought it was absolutely a priceless comment. I recommend this book highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    My Son Enjoyed

    I purchased this book for my son's Birthday and he enjoyed reading it to me. He reads it over and over again. It teaches children that no matter what they do they will always have the unconditional love of their parents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    My little one loves it

    I purchased this book as a Valentine's Day gift for my 23 month old and he totally loves it. He often will pick this book himself to read and loves to have it reread over and over. It's a short but very sweet and warm book, I always seem to get a hug at the end of it every time, so reading it 20 times in a row is worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2009

    Little Things

    I loved this book. It reminded me of the little things in life that some how, in our busy lives, we forget and take for granted. I gave this book as a gift to my girlfriend for Valentine's Day, who thought the same.

    Funny, I am 29 years old and have to remind myself to slow down and not let life go by, but to live it. This children's book, describes that perfectly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    Family favorite!!!

    This is part of our family bedtime routine. My 2-yo son absolutely loves this book. Like the other review, he thinks he's the boy in the book and he loves hearing that we love him. PK Hallinan was able to put into words how a parent feels about their child. We love reading the book because we do have the exact sentiments about him. The illustrations are fun to look at too, simple pictures that my son always has a story to tell about them. It's a classic in our family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2008

    How Do I Love You

    My son thinks he is the boy in this book. This might be in part because I like to insert his name in the title and question that is asked in the book: How do I love you ______? I like to end with I love you ____. We own the board book version and it is a bedtime favorite. Our family discovered P.K. Hallinan 'who does his own illustrations' when we purchased a copy of A Rainbow of Friends. Hallinan has written and illustrated several children¿s books another of his books, similar to How Do I Love You? 'though not quite as good' is ABC I Love You ¿ this book has a brother and sister in it, so I can read it to my son and daughter together, and they can both be in the story. :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2006

    A sweet story

    We love reading this book to my infant daughter. We have several titles from this author and have enjoyed them all. They all seem to have a good rhythm and rhyme, which makes reading and listening to them a pleasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2005

    Best book in my son's collection

    This book still brings tears to my eyes every time I read it to my son, especially after a very trying day. There's no more important lesson in life that I want to teach my children than that I love them no matter what, and this book details just how great that love is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2