Customer Reviews for

How Evan Broke His Head and Other Secrets

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Another home run

After reading "The Art of Racing in the Rain" by Garth Stein, I was hoping to find the same quality book since it was by the same author. It was all that I expected.
I bought copies for all the men in a group I meet with because it deals with issues we face in enterta...
After reading "The Art of Racing in the Rain" by Garth Stein, I was hoping to find the same quality book since it was by the same author. It was all that I expected.
I bought copies for all the men in a group I meet with because it deals with issues we face in entertaining way. From the start it is easy to identify with the main character, Evan, and to be caught up with him in his struggle to differentiate himself while still trying to stay connected to the people he loves.

posted by tobishouse on April 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Waiting

I loved 'The Art of Racing in the Rain' and the reviewers of this book raved about it. The other reviewers said that it was so good that they couldn't put it down. I kept reading it hoping to get to the good part. It never became a good book. The characters were not lik...
I loved 'The Art of Racing in the Rain' and the reviewers of this book raved about it. The other reviewers said that it was so good that they couldn't put it down. I kept reading it hoping to get to the good part. It never became a good book. The characters were not likeable. The author tries to keep the reader interested by revealing family secrets which are not that interesting. I regret buying this book.

posted by 9137344 on June 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Waiting

    I loved 'The Art of Racing in the Rain' and the reviewers of this book raved about it. The other reviewers said that it was so good that they couldn't put it down. I kept reading it hoping to get to the good part. It never became a good book. The characters were not likeable. The author tries to keep the reader interested by revealing family secrets which are not that interesting. I regret buying this book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another home run

    After reading "The Art of Racing in the Rain" by Garth Stein, I was hoping to find the same quality book since it was by the same author. It was all that I expected.
    I bought copies for all the men in a group I meet with because it deals with issues we face in entertaining way. From the start it is easy to identify with the main character, Evan, and to be caught up with him in his struggle to differentiate himself while still trying to stay connected to the people he loves.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I just don't understand how every book written by Garth Stein ca

    I just don't understand how every book written by Garth Stein can be so captivating. They all have completely different plots and themes, yet they are all so great. I love this author and everything he writes. This book, like his others The Art of Racing in the Rain and Raven Stole the Moon, is wonderful. The story is told is a way that keeps you interested. I could not put it down. Evan is extremely likable and relatable. Read this book, you won't be disappointed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Garth sure knows how to write

    I've been a fan of Garth's work since "The Art of Racing in the Rain", and he doesn't disappoint here either. this was a very good read; the writing style is crisp and clear, imagery is impeccable and its a darn good story. Don't be surprised if you find yourself yelling at the character sometimes, though. it's just a sign of a good book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Perceptions do affect us!

    Another Garth Stein book and such a great read. Garth can bring out the real feelings and emotions of people in such wonderful lines. His books are uplifting but also show you how sometimes we just get the wrong idea about things and how our perceptions can affect us. I will buy every book he writes I think.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    I just couldn't sleep untill i finished it.

    It has been a long time since I've read a book of this caliber. Stein has a way of making the reader want to hear the commentary from the main character on every conversation just to see if they interpreted it correctly. I have never related to a character more. I even caught myself saying lines in my head before I even read them. A downright enjoyable read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2005

    Unlikely hero

    Trust Mr. Stein to find a hero in the most unlikely suspect - always sincere but never too serious. I got the book from my ex wife and expected to hate it - found myself staying up two full nights to finish it. A wonderfully warm, funny and intelligent commentary on parenting, parents and finding meaning in our everyday struggles, large and small without avoiding the darker sides of life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    Great Book

    very hard to put down. love this authors writing style.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    Excellent

    I finished this book and hoped Mr. Stein would write a sequal. That's always a good sign. Seriously, this book was well-written, and it made you worry about the charcters, and what happened to them. Excellent, excellent story, everyone should read and enjoy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2005

    Finally, a book for people who love to read

    I loved this book so much, I'm buying extra copies to give to friends. This is a complicated, wonderfully written, very human story that will stay with you long after you read the last page. A definite must-have for people who love to read. But don't rely on me¿buy it for yourself. You won't be disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    H.mm

    Dosent sound like a good book:(

    1 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    Coming from "Racing", not disappointed

    I jumped into this book fresh off The Art of Racing in the Rain, as I'm sure many others have done. It's a great story with a lot of relationships that break and mend and break again. Although I found the main character, Evan, to be sufficiently likable, his character was not different enough from the main character of "Racing" for me to fully identify with him. This is a situation where the order the books are read affects one's appreciation of them, though it's the reverse of the order of publication.

    I also want to commend Garth Stein for tackling the difficult subject of epilepsy. I learned a lot about it and appreciated his in-depth treatment of the topic.

    Mr. Stein's mastery of suspense also deserves notice. Sometimes a character is on the verge of drastically changing something huge in his life, and that sense of tension is maintained for pages and pages, while you're urging him to take action and do the right thing for once.

    I definitely enjoyed it, and I look forward to reading more Garth Stein books in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    Another winner from Garth Stein

    Once again Garth Stein has put together an interesting cast of characters, with a compelling story line. He really captures the essence of parenthood but not in a schmaltzy, boring way. Great book for vacation reading.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    This book was wonderful!

    This book was wonderful!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Grate read. Shows how a man can cope with life.

    One man life turns upside down. A son dropped on him that he was never allowed to see and a love lost. He finds that he can cope with a teenage boy and a new girl friend. A warm and well written story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Easy, entertaining read

    Picked this book out of the crowd because of the cover and
    the title. It ended up being a good book that drew me in.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3