Customer Reviews for

How Few Remain (Prequel to The Great War Series)

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2000

    Too Much Turtledove

    I became a fan of Turtledove's after reading 'The Guns of the South,' and while the notion of a southern victory in the Civil War is a chilling one to comtemplate in reality, (think pre-Mandela South Africa, with no America to urge them towards decency) Turtledove succeeds in making the case from the South's perspective. He even renders Robert E. Lee as a great man who would have freed the slaves. This second try at the South Winning The War Between the States fails on several levels. First, it postulates pure idiocy on the part of the northern leaders. Would you declare war on a neighboring nation and not put your own troops on alert? Or fail to even try to protect your capital from attack? Or spend the entire war bogged down trying to invade one city along a border stretching thousands of miles? Or possess a new technology like the Gatling gun that you don't use in your biggest battle? Or fail to protect your nation's Mint from a military raid? Even more incredulous, why are the only capable, decent, statesmanlike leaders all on the Southern side? And, like all of Turtledoves interminable multi-book series, there are too many characters, which makes the story line drag and loose focus. Finally, while Turtledove is perhaps trying to capture the spirit of the times, his overdrawn picture of Mark Twain reduces him to little more than a cardboard racist, eagerly spewing the word 'nigger' as many times as the author thinks he can get away with it. Turtledove is in love with the word 'nigger,' even stooping to having Nazi's (who I thought spoke German and referred to blacks as 'schwartzes') using the term in his World War series when it fits neither the historical reality nor the character. Someone should tell Turtledove that an author has an implied contract with the readers which includes informing them up front how many books you intend to drag them through in order to complete a story. The book fails largely because it is not a complete story; rather, it is an overlong chapter in a serial that stretches infinitely into the unseen future. I am through with four and five and six book series that never seem to end. Especially from another boring, 'n word' loving Southern apologist. Enough already. The South lost. The nation and the world are better for it. Get over it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Like

    Like that minor people in book have major parts in later books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    GREAT READ!

    Offers a great look at what could have been.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very well told story by my personal opinion, yes some parts are

    Very well told story by my personal opinion, yes some parts are a little drawn out for my attention span, I am going to have to go back and reread the book again to get things I might have missed. But all in all I highly recommend this book to those who 1 like Harry Turtledove, and 2 love to read Alternate histories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    A good read

    If you liked harry turtledove great war, american empire, and settling accounts series here is your chance to read about the seconed mexican war talked about several times during the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Good book

    It stats off a great series of something that might have happened. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    One good book!

    This book is about an alternate history book that takes place during the Civil War.An alternate history is a book about a change from the past or present and what exactly it did. about the Civil war, how the union didn't find the south's battle plans and that has an effect of the world and the war. This affect causes the battle to have a different outcome.I thought this book was pretty good. I would recommend this book to people who like alternate history books. The only thing I disliked about this book was the fact that it takes a while for the story to actually pick up in the book.This book was really good. I would have people at the age of 12-30.This book takes a while to get the story out but once it does it starts to get better.This is a really detailed book! I recommend this book for the ages of 12-30 because you have to be interested in the subject.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not very good prequel

    This book is not a good prequel, read all of the other 10 books! This prequel is boring and I quickly lost interest. This is Harry Turtledove's worst book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Boring

    The plot moves very slow, and ponderous. I managed to get through the whole book, in the hopes that it would pick up toward the end. Maybe it did somewhat, but by then I was bored to tears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2006

    Excellent Book

    I like the whole book in general. Turtledove's work is interesting on how he twisted the whole story line from 1862 onward. I wonder how the heck the US even elected Blaine when they did hate Republicans, normal political propaganda it seems. I would have given the book a 5 if it wasn't for the many sex scenes I seen in the book, seriously, even a few of the romance novels I read didn't have that much in there

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2004

    Best Trilogy Ever

    How Few Remain is an excellent book written by the master of Alternative History, Harry Turtledove. The book is the first in the series that includes A Walk in Hell, Breakthrough, and The Center Cannot Hold, etc. The whole series is great and a must read for any and all fans of Alternative History or those who have wondered what may have happened if the South won the Civil War.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2003

    Book 1 of a great Alternate History series

    Harry Turtledove has made me a Alternate History Fan after reading this great book. the book sucks you into a harsh world of feuding powers and constant action. this book got me hooked and i bought the remaining books of the series the next day. this book goes into the three book series called The Great War, which is followed by the three book series American Empire, and i have heard another three book series will follow that called: Settling Accounts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2003

    Moving Would Have Been a Good Idea

    I have always enjoyed Turtledove's alternative history novels but there has been something that has been bothering me. When McKinley Kantor wrote his alternative history of the Civil War in Look magazine back in the 1960's, the defeated Union states moved the capitol of the USA to another city. In that case it was Columbus, Ohio (renamed Columbia). It was felt that the seat of government would be safer and more secure further removed from the victorious Confederacy. Besides, Maryland's sucession made this even more necessay. It just doen't make sense for the national capitol to remain on the border of an overtly hositile adversary. Also, Turteldove really never identifies the numbers of troops involved in any specific scene. You have to figure it out for yourself. Personally, I like a frame of reference. This was a problem in this book but also the Alien invasion series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2003

    Interesting Book

    I usually don't read a lot of alternative history because I find actual history fascinating enough, but I picked up this book because I loved Guns of the South and thought it would be interesting. Although I found the beginning of the book a bit surreal (I don't think the whole war hinged on the cigars like Turtledove seemed to think...Little Mac hardly used the information he received as effectively as he could have), the rest of the book was fascinating. It was interesting to see what may have happened had the South won - Jackson, Lincoln, and Stuart would still be alive, Roosevelt never would have been in the Texas Rangers, and the countries in North America would be significantly different. Altogether it was a good book, and very readable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2002

    Another triumph

    A great novel by Harry Turtledove. This is the first book of his that I read, and I fell in love with it. Being a history buff, especially Civil War, this book was a great read. I look foreward to reading all of Mr. Turtledove's books. So, if you are a Civil War fan, and/or sympathize with the South, read this book, and see the what happens in the second war between the states.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2001

    Highly Entertaining and Insightful

    Having studied the Civil War more than passingly, I found How Few Remain to be an excellent book. While some might say that the North should have had more military prowess, the truth is that most of the truly great military minds and leaders were on the Confederate side. From a strictly strategic standpoint the South was far superior. This plays that out well, especially given the state of the political scene in Turtledove's north (James G. Blaine can be described as a fairly extreme person, and it is perfectly logical to portray him as being extremely bitter over the first defeat). I thoroughly enjoyed this book. And I think it is an excellent read for anybody who likes to think of how things could have been or should have been rather than just how things are. This is not apologism. Turtledove doesn't claim that the South should have won, or that the South as he plays it out is an idyllic society. He's just giving you a well-researched prediction of what life might have been like had things been different (I would point out that Turtledove launches this work from a single twist - that the North never found Lee's orders on those cigars prior to Gettysburg). While the book doesn't really end conclusively, that only serves to add to the realism. Time never ends and where an author is trying to write a book that plays as a history, there is no real ending. But the lack of tidy conclusions does not detract from the strength of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2001

    Always Good Prediction

    I find Turtledove is very good at understanding the responses of the human to events. To that, he adds good research into the original history. I found his 'Guns of the South', for example, contained as good an understnding of the Civil War as Shaara. That is what makes him such a good alternative historian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2001

    Civil War with a twist

    I have been interested in the Civil War for a long time. I thought that it would be neat to read a story about the south winning. The book was great and the first chapter had action going on. I wuold have rather seen the northern army act a bit smarter so that they might have had a better chance. I thought that the book was great other than that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2000

    A Great Book

    How Few Remain is an excellent choice for those who value history and love alternate history. Harry Turtledove has done a superb job altering the point in history that has been accurately described as 'the crossroads of our being.' How Few Remain is a must read for any historian as well as one who justs enjoys a good action/adventure novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2000

    Needs improvement

    I had an extremely difficult time reading this book because of the format to it. The paragraphs were too long and the writing was very small. There were too many details and the story really never held my interest for more than a few pages. I liked the story idea of another war between the states but perhaps they should have someone else write it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3