Customer Reviews for

How Firm a Foundation (Safehold Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding -but left me with "but where is the final/next in the series"

I bought this 2 months prior to it's NookBook release, went back & re- read #4 the week prior to getting this so I'd be up to speed with the storyline. Thought it was the last in the series (most are 3 or 4 books except the Honor Harrington series). WHEN IS THE NEXT ONE...
I bought this 2 months prior to it's NookBook release, went back & re- read #4 the week prior to getting this so I'd be up to speed with the storyline. Thought it was the last in the series (most are 3 or 4 books except the Honor Harrington series). WHEN IS THE NEXT ONE COMING OUT???? Finally got more info on what the"Key" is, still don't know what the result will be when it's used, & really, really want to know! Great, classic Weber story, very different from the Space battles & others of his usual military SF. Now, how many more in the series, and will I have forgotten this one by the time the next comes out? Not interested in "Out of the Dark" - vampires were popular in 1934, if they're considered the "in" thing now, it's because this generation got hooked on vampires who are sexy on TV. Now, someone tell all of Weber's fans when the Safehold series will continue!!! Got Nook to get books fast, but read the first 4 books of Safehold in just 2 weeks (yes I'm a fast reader). Takes too long between books in a series. Also, is there a follow-up to Harrington's "At All Costs"? Most of the Weber books, including the Harrington books are NOT available on Nook books, unless you read German, which I don't. How about putting more of Weber's books on Nook, as well as L.E. Modessitt, Jr. & John Ringo?? I prefer Nook, since the 500 books I have in hardcover & paperback are moving me out of my house!

posted by sunnynurse on September 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Another solid book in the safehold series

I always enjoy David Weber's writing. This book, however, was disappointing (to say the least) in this series. It plodded along in many spots -- way too much detail about the technical aspects and not enough about the personal aspects. I do understand that yyou need the...
I always enjoy David Weber's writing. This book, however, was disappointing (to say the least) in this series. It plodded along in many spots -- way too much detail about the technical aspects and not enough about the personal aspects. I do understand that yyou need the technical to explain the progess of the science and why that progress is affecting the war and the personal areas of people's lives. I just think it's too emphasized., I would recommend it to those who are reading the series, but not to those who haven't read the previous books in this series. Mr. Weber's fans will know what to expect and, thus, not be surprised.

posted by Quiltygirl on October 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    A Must Read

    If you liked the first book I highly recommend you read all of this series. Book 5 was a little light on the action and a little heavy on the politics, but still a good read. Can't wait for the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Another Good Book in a Series

    This is another good book in the series. Weber keeps up an exciting story that is moving ever closer to the epic final confrontation. One of the things that I really appreciate about what he does is that he sets up an incredibly rich description of the world, and ships, and weaponry that make the stories and battles come alive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Fifth of the series, not the best in it, but worthy of the read.

    I have enjoyed the David Weber's Safehold series in general, if for no other reason that it combines a "historical fiction" like aspect with "space opera" overtones. Also, I enjoy its take on religion and the role of religion in society. Even a slight touch on the abuse of religion in the name of power does seem to be to be common.

    This is not quite the same pace as the previous books and feels a bit more bogged down to me. That it continues the series with the typical increase in strife and bleakness for the protagonist(s) that is common for the middle volumes of fantasy series. Maybe it is just that many of the aspects of sub plots have been seen before in the series or while some sub plots are progressed, none seem to get resolved satisfactory here.

    In short I did not enjoy this volume as much as the first three however it does continue the story as is typical for middle volumes and is worthwhile if you are a fan of the series. Though, if you haven't read the earlier volumes this would not be the best volume to enter the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    Like all of DW's books, GREAT!

    I've read an untold number of David Weber books and I love them all. But this series really helps you think about what God would do if his words were corrupted. He would send someone to rectify the problem, using just the right people and just in time. Thanks David for filling my spare time with worthwhile, thought-provoking, rollicking good people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Continues a strong series

    While a little short in action, this book continues to provide the detail of personal interactions and character development you expect of the author. I enjoyed the book and wait expectantly for the next installment.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Love this Safehold Stuff

    How Firm a Foundation is the fifth in Weber's "Safehold" series of novels, and they really don't seem to be getting tired at all. I loved this one. From the moment I picked it up, I felt like I was back in a world I thoroughly enjoy, ever eager to get to the next page.

    The pace is somehow both fast and slow simultaneously. While I'm hard pressed to say things in the world have advanced much from the beginning to the end, at the same time the prose never dragged, and I never felt I was slogging through the material at all.

    There's something about the Safehold saga that really grips me. The evil is truly evil, but in a human way (rather than mysterious demons or inscrutable aliens), and the good is good in a pragmatic and honorable way. And the "science fiction" part of the book (the introduction of further and further refined elements of gunpowder technology), allows Weber to spend a bit of time really seeing how it can change the world he's created. And as if that wasn't enough, we also get Weber's classic sea battle prose (which he perfected doing space battle prose with his Honor Harrington series). Weber's battles have got the mix of big and little moments done in a way that make it possible to stay interested in the strategic situation, the tactical situations, and the moments of person heroism that come in any time of conflict.

    The one caveat I've got: Don't start this series in the middle. It's not that it makes the story especially confusing, but it certainly would make me far less invested in the way the story unfolds. And caring about how things happen (and who they happen to) is a great boon to this storyline.

    To summarize: I loved it. And am eagerly looking forward to book 6! 5 of 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Highly REcommended

    Better then the last one

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Excellent Hard SF Series

    The latest installment of the Safehold series is just as exciting and readable as the others in this series by author Weber. I am glad that a Nook version is available because this series was the only one of the author's NOT available previously as ebooks. Kudos, B&N, for making all of this series available in e-format! (The rest of David Weber's ebooks are available at Baen Books.) I have read some critisism of this series for the funny names used throughout. I disagree with that; I think it fits perfectly with the timeline in the story. In my judgement, this series compares favorably with the author's Honor Harrington series. I, too, can hardly wait for the next installment.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    excellant series, must read

    The author is an excelent writer. I loved the series and cant wait for the next one.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5