Customer Reviews for

How Firm a Foundation (Safehold Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding -but left me with "but where is the final/next in the series"

I bought this 2 months prior to it's NookBook release, went back & re- read #4 the week prior to getting this so I'd be up to speed with the storyline. Thought it was the last in the series (most are 3 or 4 books except the Honor Harrington series). WHEN IS THE NEXT ONE...
I bought this 2 months prior to it's NookBook release, went back & re- read #4 the week prior to getting this so I'd be up to speed with the storyline. Thought it was the last in the series (most are 3 or 4 books except the Honor Harrington series). WHEN IS THE NEXT ONE COMING OUT???? Finally got more info on what the"Key" is, still don't know what the result will be when it's used, & really, really want to know! Great, classic Weber story, very different from the Space battles & others of his usual military SF. Now, how many more in the series, and will I have forgotten this one by the time the next comes out? Not interested in "Out of the Dark" - vampires were popular in 1934, if they're considered the "in" thing now, it's because this generation got hooked on vampires who are sexy on TV. Now, someone tell all of Weber's fans when the Safehold series will continue!!! Got Nook to get books fast, but read the first 4 books of Safehold in just 2 weeks (yes I'm a fast reader). Takes too long between books in a series. Also, is there a follow-up to Harrington's "At All Costs"? Most of the Weber books, including the Harrington books are NOT available on Nook books, unless you read German, which I don't. How about putting more of Weber's books on Nook, as well as L.E. Modessitt, Jr. & John Ringo?? I prefer Nook, since the 500 books I have in hardcover & paperback are moving me out of my house!

posted by sunnynurse on September 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Another solid book in the safehold series

I always enjoy David Weber's writing. This book, however, was disappointing (to say the least) in this series. It plodded along in many spots -- way too much detail about the technical aspects and not enough about the personal aspects. I do understand that yyou need the...
I always enjoy David Weber's writing. This book, however, was disappointing (to say the least) in this series. It plodded along in many spots -- way too much detail about the technical aspects and not enough about the personal aspects. I do understand that yyou need the technical to explain the progess of the science and why that progress is affecting the war and the personal areas of people's lives. I just think it's too emphasized., I would recommend it to those who are reading the series, but not to those who haven't read the previous books in this series. Mr. Weber's fans will know what to expect and, thus, not be surprised.

posted by Quiltygirl on October 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    Another solid book in the safehold series

    I always enjoy David Weber's writing. This book, however, was disappointing (to say the least) in this series. It plodded along in many spots -- way too much detail about the technical aspects and not enough about the personal aspects. I do understand that yyou need the technical to explain the progess of the science and why that progress is affecting the war and the personal areas of people's lives. I just think it's too emphasized., I would recommend it to those who are reading the series, but not to those who haven't read the previous books in this series. Mr. Weber's fans will know what to expect and, thus, not be surprised.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Outstanding -but left me with "but where is the final/next in the series"

    I bought this 2 months prior to it's NookBook release, went back & re- read #4 the week prior to getting this so I'd be up to speed with the storyline. Thought it was the last in the series (most are 3 or 4 books except the Honor Harrington series). WHEN IS THE NEXT ONE COMING OUT???? Finally got more info on what the"Key" is, still don't know what the result will be when it's used, & really, really want to know! Great, classic Weber story, very different from the Space battles & others of his usual military SF. Now, how many more in the series, and will I have forgotten this one by the time the next comes out? Not interested in "Out of the Dark" - vampires were popular in 1934, if they're considered the "in" thing now, it's because this generation got hooked on vampires who are sexy on TV. Now, someone tell all of Weber's fans when the Safehold series will continue!!! Got Nook to get books fast, but read the first 4 books of Safehold in just 2 weeks (yes I'm a fast reader). Takes too long between books in a series. Also, is there a follow-up to Harrington's "At All Costs"? Most of the Weber books, including the Harrington books are NOT available on Nook books, unless you read German, which I don't. How about putting more of Weber's books on Nook, as well as L.E. Modessitt, Jr. & John Ringo?? I prefer Nook, since the 500 books I have in hardcover & paperback are moving me out of my house!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    The Saga Continues

    The pace is better than the last book, which I think has been aptly described elsewhere as "600 pages of meeting notes".

    Some of that tendency is still present in this book but in the main, the plot twists and sea faring action keep things rolling along.

    The concept is still interesting and the plot is developing well, I look forward to the next installment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A powerful sci-fi

    The leaders of the five year old Charisian Empire has won many battles at sea against the much bigger Church of God Awaiting that declared Emperor Cayleb, Empress Sharleyan and their supporters as heretics. The hero of the naval warfare, Cayleb understands the impact of the enemy's religious terrorism and the diabolical isolation scheme, but is unsure what his small nation can do to end the reign of terror.

    Besides an insidious propaganda campaign that excommunicates critics, the Church deploys assassins to kill the empire's leaders and anyone on the Safehold mainland supporting Charisian. The Inquisitors torture anyone to send the message to those who consider allying with Charisian. In that scenario as the cruel foe tightens the knot around the island, the cybernetic avatar of long dead Merlin believes the answer lies dormant underneath Zion's Temple in the heart of the Church of God Awaiting.

    The fifth Safehold science fiction thriller (see By Heresies Distressed and A Mighty Fortress) contains the usual military warfare but at much smaller scale due to the reign of terror campaign. The story line also focuses on the social and political issues facing those in opposition to the Church. Safehold focuses on a theocracy that brutally stomps on individual rights. The fear of freedom that Charisian represents is violently opposed by religious dogma that what the Church does is Godly even sacrificing the innocent. Cayleb remains a strong hero though still somewhat Harrington-light as he is more confortable at war than at running a country. Readers will relish David Weber's latest powerful condemnation of those who equate their church is the state; or oligopoly dictating society.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    I have just completed David Weber's "How Firm A Foundation,

    I have just completed David Weber's "How Firm A Foundation," the fifth book in his Safehold series.  It is an incredibly good read -- a masterpiece!  I would even call it (and all the books in this series) modern classic of literature.  They really are that good.  I loved Weber's Honor Harington series, but Weber has risen to a whole new level with this Safehold series.  Weber's creative mind devises story lots so engossing and so rich in imagination, insight pathos, humor and detail that the reader does not want the book to end, --and because you can't put it down once you've started it will end much too soon.  No author I know has the rapscallion with or the ability to turn a phrase that Weber has.

    Few, if any, writers can match Weber's ability to make his characters so real, be they the villains and tyrants, or the heroes and heroines or just the ordinary folk that make his writing so rich.  In this book you will love to hate the "Gang of Four" (and all their flunkies) especially the Grand Inquisitor Zhaspahr Clyntahn the leader of the "Gang."  You will cheer for the indomitable Captain Merlin Athrawes - cybernetic avatar and personal body guard to the king and queen who has the memories of a pre-Safehold woman a thousand years dead.  You will love and be impressed by young king and queen Calab and Sharleyan and root for them as they fight against tyranny and oppression in their struggle to ensure the survival of their empire.  You will pull for young Lieutenant Aplyn (14 year old adoptive brother of king Calabd) as he unexpectedly ends up in command of a rescue mission to save a beautiful princesses and her younger brother from assassins.

    But this series, and especially this book, are more than an engaging story lin, exciting action and captivating characters -- though no one does military action and intrigue better than Weber.  No, this is much much more!  There is good reason why the evil, the courage and the characters seem so real in the Safehold series.  This series is historical truth/fiction as well as good space opera.  Weber has accurately, described a very desperate and dangerous time in the history of western civilization.  He has cleverly woven into his narrative a portrayal of the policies, positions, thinking and events that actually happened in  our own history -- though you won't recognize this if all you have been exposed to is the watered down version of history now taught in schools.  The narrative is painfully real, except only a hundredth part  is  told.  Often the very words of the real participants (on both sides) are used in Weber's narrative, and in accaurate context.  Look up the words Queen Sharleyan uses to end her declaration  to stand for the right; "Here I stand, I can do no other" and see who spoke them as well as when and why.  Get a good history on the Inquisition or of the Waldenses of northern Italy and see just how accurate Weber has been.  What Weber is describing are the very policies, politics, ideologies, fanaticisms and socio-economic pressures that forced a small group of refugees toleave everything they had ever now and set sail for a new land, there to establish a new country gbased on the principles of freedom and honest enterprise.  This same struggle (here presented in a very engaging story) led to the founding of a new country, on we know today as the "United States of America."  For those who enjoy insightful and thought provoking --as well as engaging and imaginative -- reading, this is the series for you.  As I said at the beginning, this is a masterpiece, and it takes a master author to write this kind of literature.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    Can't wait!

    Whether Honor Harrington or the Safehold series, we wait for David Weber's next imstallment. Sometimes without patience! William Bandi CPA

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Vcvmfl

    Hdyo . ?p

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Fun

    Like it im hooked on the story needs more action though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Outstanding series

    Superbly original series. Can't wait for the next installation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    As Good As Always

    If you like David Weber, you'll like this book.

    If you don't know who David Weber is, you might like this book.

    David Weber has created an entire universe to help explore the conceit of a society that has discarded it's technology, and a stranger who has come in with limited access to high tech and the ability to teach at least some of it. It's a brilliant series, and by the time you're done reading this book you'll be ready to tear down the facade of the 'Church of Humanity Unchained' -- and eager for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If you are a fan of this series, this is an excellent continuation of the adventures in Safehold.

    This is not a novel that will make a lot of sense if you have not read the preceding 3 novels.
    Weber somewhat overdoes the navy sailing jargon, especially in the first chapter. But overall the novel was a page turner for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Interesting, but not the best of the series

    Usuually, I am unable to set this authors work aside, prior to finishing the book. In this case I set it down multiple times, as it just could not hold my interest all the time. It may be possible that he has introduced too many charachters to the saga and is trying to give them each their time in the spotlight. Battle scenes continue to be well written and easily visualized.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    David Weber, what else needs to be said?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    waiting for part 6.

    I think the mixture of genres actually work really, really well here. Good job Mr. Weber.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    It is a great extension

    I have read David's entire series and enjoyed them all. "How Firm a Foundation" is a great extension of the series and I can't wait for what comes next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    Well Written and Interesting- A Good Read

    This series is written in the usual David Weber fashion of large books with a mix of action and political/personal bachground. It is very interesting, but you will have to read the previous books to understand the overall plot line. Even the action plot line requires understanding what has gone before to make much sense,
    Once you overcome those difficulties, it is well worth the read. I've read every one of these and am looking forward to the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Awesome

    Great story, wonderful charecters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    ?..

    Jj

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    As always a hit

    David Weber again writes a book that covers much that is happening in our world today.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    A Must Read

    If you liked the first book I highly recommend you read all of this series. Book 5 was a little light on the action and a little heavy on the politics, but still a good read. Can't wait for the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5