Customer Reviews for

How Full Is Your Bucket? (Expanded Anniversary Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    EXTREMELY Useful and Applicable

    This book for ANYONE who wants to know more about themselves and how they can maximize their full potential. With the book, you receive a code that allows you to take the Gallup Strengths Finder test, which gives you a list of your top 5 areas of strength from a group of 35. These strengths are then better explained in the book with some ideas for how to utilize them in your daily life (as a student, a professional, a mom/dad, or simply as a person). It can also help you better understand the way others think and operate, which can create a better environment for everyone.
    I recommend this book 100%!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Useful Ideas

    A very good book. The authors give support for the idea of building up other people, and practical ways to do this. It is well written and easily understandable. The Bucket drops included are a nice bonus. I have used these at work with good results.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2009

    Worth your time.

    This should be required reading in schools. I picked it up at the airport while looking for something containing strategies for dealing with stress¿along the lines of ¿Don¿t Sweat the Small Stuff¿. It is superior to those books in my opinion. It contains extensive research, plain and practical guidance, and relevant examples on how to be a more positive person in all your daily interactions. I have adopted the Bucket plan into my managerial work life and personal life. In the short time since reading this book I can already tell I'm a happier person...something so simple yet so powerful. Everyone should read this book--it is a very quick read and well worth your time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    The Invisible Bucket

    I read this book about a year ago and it has definitely changed my thought process on how I would approach just about every situation. The concept of the "invisible bucket" helped me become a much more positive individual. I am glad I purchased it, my negativity is seemingly nonexistent because of this book. The concept of the invisible bucket is an amazing tool to build positivity within yourself and others. I recommend it to anyone in need of a more positive perspective on life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    It sounds like a nice idea when you start out. Filling people's

    It sounds like a nice idea when you start out. Filling people's buckets and self-esteem sounds benevolent. Unfortunately, the more you get into Gallup's workplace philosophy and read its other books the more you learn about Gallup's ideals. In Break All of the Rules for instance, you read about discriminating between married employees and unmarried ones as well as weeding people out of the workplace. There are plenty of good business books out there but I would recommend skipping all of the books published by Gallup press.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Simple and to the point...

    But more than anything else, common sense. This is a very fast read. At best, it reinforces some values, but doesn't teach you anything new.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Positive life strategies

    Going through life with a short, handy, happy philosophy ¿ particularly one as affirming as the concept in this book ¿ is very nice. However, a fine line separates simple from simplistic. Although some readers will enjoy the breezy easiness of this approach, others might find it to be just a first step toward becoming more upbeat. Donald O. Clifton, a pioneer in positive psychology, and his co-author and grandson, Tom Rath, developed the ¿bucket¿ and ¿dipper¿ theories of happy emotions, based on Clifton¿s research. The bucket is a metaphor for your sense of well-being. Every interaction fills your bucket or drains it. You also have a psychological dipper you use to add to or take away from other people¿s sense of joy and security ¿ their buckets. The choice, the authors explain, is yours. The book includes small drop-shaped cards for dropping a few friendly notes. It also provides five strategies that can increase your positive emotions and those of the other people in your life. If your bucket is perennially half-empty, getAbstract recommends dipping into this bestseller to see if it holds water for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2006

    great quick read

    Great book -- simple but profound messsage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2005

    Short and Sweet

    It is a good thing this books is short, because i couldn't put it down. I think that every manager and business owner should read this book, as well as the world. Just think of the possibilities. Shauna Kirk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2005

    A book for self-help novices

    I was 'very disappointed with this book. The ideas have been presented in countless positive thinking books over the years. Praising people to get more out of them -- isn't that praising to manipulate? Highly recommended instead are The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, a book that takes the reader from the decision to be proactive to winning with others. Also, strongly recommended is Optimal Thinking: How to Be Your Best Self, which shows the reader how to master emotions, maximize thinking, relationships, and life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2004

    Powerful Little Book, Reseach Based, Anecdotes, Great

    The idea that we have a bucket that we either dip from or fill during our interactions with others is very useful. When we have a full, or overflowing bucket, we are more successful and happy, and healthy. When our bucket is low, we are not so well. When we fill other peoples' buckets, we simultaneously fill our own. Great Stuff! The book is backed by research (that is referenced in the back) and has anecdotes too, all of which were very interesting. There are 5 strategies presented that help us to keep our buckets full, and they were excellent. A super book with great suggestions and would make a great gift. Also, when you buy this book you get one free 'Clifton StrengthsFinder' test that helps you identify your main strengths. That was a nice plus. HIGHLY RECEOMMENDED!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2004

    Positive Thinking To Reach Your Potential

    This book reminds me of the old saying, 'You catch more flies with honey than with vinegar.' Basically, be nice to everyone you meet and most will return the sentiment. Positive thoughts can become a habit or negative thoughts can become a habit. Since all lives are interdependent, it makes sense to focus on the positive thoughts and enjoy the interactions with others. This grandfather/grandson team offers an interesting, intergenerational spin on motivational material. The power of positive thinking certainly helped me realize my goal of becoming an author and helping others reach their full potential.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2004

    Bettering Work and Life

    Implementing the strategies contained in this book will definitely help to strengthen relationships and make the work place better. This book steers people into the direction of making it a point to utilize their potential, thereby producing outstanding results that can make what before seemed difficult, if not impossible, become possible and improve life and work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3