Customer Reviews for

How Harry Cast His Spell: The Meaning Behind the Mania for J. K. Rowling's Bestselling Books

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Potterheads

This book is wonderful for fans and hardcore fans alike. HARRY POTTER FOREVER!!!!!!!

posted by 6064442 on November 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A H. P. Fan

To the post below me: no. I've looked and looked, but there are just no harry potter books. To what is th cr@p?:>=[ I take offense at that. I've loved these books the whole series through, and I am a dedicated Christian. Some other Christians I know, though, insist that...
To the post below me: no. I've looked and looked, but there are just no harry potter books. To what is th cr@p?:>=[ I take offense at that. I've loved these books the whole series through, and I am a dedicated Christian. Some other Christians I know, though, insist that H. P. is "demonlc" and not to read it, but I disagree. It is a good series for Christians as well as non-believers, as long as they don't believe that it's real.

posted by 10881177 on December 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Potterheads

    This book is wonderful for fans and hardcore fans alike. HARRY POTTER FOREVER!!!!!!!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    How Harry Cast His Spell

    This book is excellent! As a Christian and a teacher, I initially struggled with the appropriateness of reading the Harry Potter books myself-----or to my students. Granger's critical analysis of Christian symbolism throughout the series explains our attraction to these stories. I recommend How Harry Cast His Spell to all Harry Potter fans!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2008

    Figuring out the Enigma in Harry Potter

    You know, I heard John Granger speak at my university in the spring of 2007. As a fan of the Potter series, I though, 'hey, this'll be fun.' And it was. But it was also so much more. I frequented his blog, at hogwartsprofessor.com, reading the various essays right down to the minute the Deathly Hallows was released and have continued to do so since that time. When I heard about this book coming out, I had to have it and so I ordered it online. I read it in a day and a half, and as is the case with Mr. Granger's lectures and the postings at hogwartsprofessor.com, this is a great book to read for some literary analysis of this series, something that I believe is oddly lacking but will continue to grow in popularity. John Granger explains the Christian significance of the series 'it seems much more so in the second half of the book than in the first - as in the first he's laying the groundwork to do it', and his analysis left me in tears at certain points 'especially when he gets to discussing Deathly Hallows', and I don't know if this is from just thinking about certain events in the book 'because I was in tears when I had first read it, as most people were', or if his analysis added to the story, like some sort of 'if you're crying at this point, you know how Harry cast his spell.' Jason Isaacs, who portrays Lucius Malfoy in the film versions, said that the Potter series are 'like crack' and I have to say that I'm totally addicted, like so many others. So, naturally, anything about Potter has the chance of being lots of fun, and this book is certainly that. Oh, and one other thing: this isn't the only book John Granger has published on the subject. But if you're still up in the air about whether or not to get it, you should read a few of the essays at hogwartsprofessor.com, and you should know that Mr. Granger's credentials are pretty damn good I and many others hold the University of Chicago and its alums in high regard.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Me love hp

    Oi i love hp

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    How Harry Cast His Spell

    Harry Potter has captured the imaginations of millions of children and adults from every walk of life. The series has possibly experienced more popularity than any other book of the last fifty years having sold millions of copies around the world. With this in mind many have asked "Why is Harry Potter is so insanely popular?" As a fan of the Harry Potter series I already knew the answer, but this book has wrought to light many of the Christian aspects of series which I over looked. How Harry Potter casts his spells is an interesting look in to the Christian aspects of the Harry Potter Book series.


    Below is the Table of Contents taken from the book. I like the way the Author wrote an explanation of each chapter in such a informative and humorous way. Through this book the Author adds a touch of humor to his writing.

    Acknowledgments Publisher's Preface Introduction

    1: Magic, Fantasy, and Transcendence
    The magic in Harry Potter is traditional literary spellwork that acts as a counterspell to the materialism of our times.

    2: Cosmic White Hats and Black Hats
    The Harry Potter Novels revolve around the central conflict of good and evil

    3: The Hero's Journey
    Harry's adventures take him through life, death and resurrection

    4: The Alchemy of Spiritual Growth
    The story of cycles are built on the stages of transformation

    5: One Person, Two Natures
    Doppelgangers point to the struggle of dual natures- and their resolution in the God-Man.

    6:Don't Judge, Lest You Be Judged
    Surprise endings suggest a remedy for the evils of prejudice

    7: The Triumph of Love over Death
    The mystery of death meets the ultimate answer

    8: The Question of Identity
    Harry defines himself through choices, change, and destiny

    9: Evidence of Things Unseen
    The symbols in Potterdom are powerful pointers to spiritual realities

    10: Fun with Names
    The character names are delightful puzzles with hidden spiritual meanings

    11: The Purification of the Soul
    Spiritual keys to Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
    12: Dangerous Books and Edifying Books
    Spiritual keys to Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

    13: Despair and Delivery
    Spiritual keys to Harry Potter and Prisoner of Azkaban
    14: Girded with Virtue
    Spiritual keys to Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

    15: Dark night of the Soul
    Spiritual keys to Harry Potter and the the Order of the Phoenix

    16: Baptism into a Sacrificial Death
    Spiritual keys to Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

    17: Choosing to Believe
    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows as the stuggle with faith in story form

    18: Christian Birth through Baptism
    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows as the alchemical adventures of a Christian Everyman
    19: Victory Over Death
    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows as the Passion gospel of Christian Everyman

    20: FAQs
    The other big questions on the minds of Harry Potter reader's

    Notes


    My Personal Opinion
    "How Harry Cast His Spell:The Meaning Behind the Mania for J. K. Rowling's Bestselling Books"
    is an interesting read for any Christian fan of Harry Potter, this book shows that Christian symbolism is easily found in the Harry Potter series for those willing to search for it.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2008

    harry potter insight

    This is a must, must read for Harry Potter fans. Mr. Granger understands the Potter books as well or better than any one else. Don Holmes

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Help, i want to find a book that has all the harry potter spells and wanted to know if this is the book even though it $10.00???

    Help

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Siriusly? Granger?!?!
    Yea and I'm Lily Potter
    :$

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    How Harry Cast His Spell

    Is wonderful for children who dont want the Potter series to end.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Granger!

    Love this, and love how his last name is Granger! ;)

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Great name for a Harry author

    Looks like a great read +mr GRANGER is the author

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Awesome Read

    This is the book to read if you are wanting to dig deeper into the meanings & symbolism of the Harry Potter series. Especially if you have been curious about the religious symbolism or ethics of the magic in the books. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book & would recommend it to muggle who is curious about or hungering for more Harry Potter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Is there a nook book with all the Harry Potter spells?

    I want a book with all the spells so I can add to my HP collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Anomous

    This is a book that i like the most but dont take my word for it read it your self

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    !

    My name is Dina and i love Harry Potter!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    JK ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    HARRY POTTER FOREVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Hi People

    I haven't read it yet but I think it is going to be a blast!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    RE .. RE RE ????

    You can go online to the librarys website and under a book it schould say e book add that to your bag not audiobook, e book and u must have adobe reader or something lile tjat amd as soon as you check out from the website the book scgould appear on it but u must sign up for an adobe account first. Then just drag the picture on the screen of the book to the thing on the left that says nook (where your nook is plugged into the computer)and rhats it!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Iluvcorn

    I love corn!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Is this even the reel frickin book!?!?

    ppl. Iv looked everywere on the nook and i cant find the reel books! Help me out, is this it???

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    OMG i never ead ir OMG i never read it but it looks awesome

    Hehehehehe

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2