BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

How Hitler Could Have Won World War II: The Fatal Errors That Led To Nazi Defeat

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    Well written and put together book.

    This is one of my favorite books I have ever read,it is a must read for any military history buff.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book for History Buffs

    I am finishing up Bevin Alexander's How Hitler Could Have Won World War II and I cant put the book down. Great detail on every key battle along with great insight on Hitler's fatal decisions. The author does a good job of showing the reader the flaws with not only Hitler's military decison making but also those of the Allies commanders. Love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2006

    GOOD POINT

    The book how hitler could have won world war two is an excellent piece of history worthy of, well, book history. It tells just how close to tright now I could be speaking German. Very good theme, but at times depressing on pondering if Hitler hadn't made those moronic mistakes!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2006

    A new look at WWII

    When most people think of WWII they think of the allies' victory with there astonishing man power and there brilliant tactics. What many people don¿t see is that Adolf Hitler made key mistakes that lead to his own demise. This book shows readers just how close we where to losing the war and what Hitler could have done differently to change to outcome. The Author Bevin Alexander asks the question ¿what if¿ and goes behind the strategy of the Nazi empire to point out major mistakes and what they should have done. He asks questions like: why in 1940 did the German panzers stop there advance and let the British to regroup and retreat at Dunkirk? I enjoyed reading this book because it took a new look on WWII and how it could have turned out. The book contains vivid maps that the reader can look to for major battle locations and get a feel for what the landscape was like. I thought that in some parts of the book did drag along and made it hard to read. I would highly recommend this book to anyone that likes WWII stories, and to anyone who wants to learn more on the Nazi¿s attempt to take over the world.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2005

    How close did the Nazis come to winning WW2?

    This book is recommened to anyone who is interested in history or warfare. This book tells how close the fascist dictator came to winning WWII. It can be very disturbing at times on account of how close we came to losing. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2001

    Terrific!

    This book was fascinating. I found myself shaking my head at how hard it was for Germany to LOSE the war after conquering France in 1940. Just shows that Hitler was as bad a military strategist as he was good a politician. Some of the decisions made by him were so blatently bad you wonder if there were some other forces at work. Highly recommended for both historians and military strategists. Very readable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Study of a Provocative Topic

    It's chilling to realize how easily Hitler might have won the Second World War. Although having access to less industry, manpower, and natural resources than his principle opponents (England, USSR, and United States), the amount of military talent that Hitler had at his command was staggering. From the father of blitzkrieg Heinz Guderian to the unpredictable genius of Erwin Rommel, a Hitler that let the military talent at his disposal win the war for him could have ended the 1940s in possession of France, controlling (formerly) British North Africa, siphoning the oil wells of Persia, and holding a dagger to the underbelly of the Soviet Union, a hostage for resources and a free hand... if he didn't decide to simply take the oil and wheat that the Soviet Union so desperately needed.

    Bevin Alexander does a superb job outlining the dozen or so points at which Hitler, offered victory on a silver platter by his forward-thinking military men, spurned the dish and pressed forward into the disaster that befell him. What, Alexander asks, may have been the result of bagging the British Expeditionary Force instead of letting it go at Dunkirk? Allowing Goering to continue to level sector command centers, crippling Fighter Command at a critical hour? Captured Malta instead of Crete? Gave Rommel his full support and let him close the Suez Canal and squat atop the Persian oil wells, threatening Britain's reinforcement line to North Africa and her most beloved colony, India, in one fell swoop? What if Hitler had settled on one strategic objective in Barbarossa (instead of three) or held back his ideology-driven killers from murdering peasants who loathed Stalin? Allowed Manstein to relieve Paulus at Stalingrad? His generals to lure the Red Army into tactical death traps instead of demanding that they stand and fight?

    With an unsparing eye, and the caveat that he in no way wishes that Hitler had taken the route to victory, Alexander presents a well-researched study into the way that the man who made the German Army capable of fighting World War II made it impossible for Germany to win. This highly original proposition is sure to encourage many a conversation among minor and major historians alike into one of the most well-known modern war.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2001

    GREAT BOOK!!

    i have read this book about three times and each time i come across something that i missed and it was all really interesting and makes you think what if hitler would have actually won the war.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1