Customer Reviews for

How I Became a Pirate

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    Absolutely adorable! Perfect read for little ones.

    This short story is absolutely adorable. It will definately become one of our favorite bed-time stories. It is a great length for that time needed to settle down and a perfect encoragement to the imagination of little ones.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    Highly recommended

    This is a great childrens' book with a fun story and fabulous illustrations. One of those books that you wouldn't mind reading every night.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    this is a great..wonderful..I like it

    this is a great..wonderful..I like it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Everything You Always Wanted To Know

    Gabi, age 5, and Jack, age 3 are mesmerized by pirates and find this book thoroughly delightful.

    I would definitely buy more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    This is a great book and my son loves it! He has had it for a w

    This is a great book and my son loves it! He has had it for a while, and we still read it regularly! They also did a short play about based on this book at the Children's Museum in Indianapolis, and it was fabulous as well. Both my son and daughter enjoy the story, and loved the play. I certainly recommend this for any child who is into pirates, even just a little! So Fun!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    We enjoyed How I Became a Pirate.  The illustrations looked real

    We enjoyed How I Became a Pirate.  The illustrations looked real. The words matched the illustrations.  We think it was funny and cute.  The part we thought was funny was when the Pirates walked on to the beach.  We liked reading the book and would recommend this book for kids 4 and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    This was given to us as a gift. At the time my son, then 4 wasn'

    This was given to us as a gift. At the time my son, then 4 wasn't big into Pirates. But by age 5 were are into the idea and we both enjoy this read. Just a cute story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Ahoy, matey

    My 3-year-old grandson who is smitten with pirates was likewise smitten with this book. How many consecutive times can you read a book to a kid?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    one of the best childrens pirate books for kids who love pirates

    My son was 2 when the whole Pirate craze started up and he was immediately swept up in it, and while many of the childrens books published to cash in on the Pirate craze seemed half hearted at best, that is not the case with How I Became A Pirate. A first rate whimsical Pirate adventure is what you get in this book and the illustrations bring the magic to life. My son loves this book and now that he is 6 he has started reading it on his own. Now with a new Pirates of the Carribean 4 movie looming for the 2011 movie season, this is sure to get a boost in sales and deservidly so. My second son is only 1.5 but I cant wait till he is old enough for me to read this to him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    Review of How I Became A Pirate

    This book is a great book to read when my son is mad at me. It shows kids that their parents aren't so bad. My son thinks it would be great to go live somewhere else, but then I read him this story. The illustrations are awesome. The colors are vibrant. The whole story is sensational! Children will love the "pirate talk" and learning what a pirate is. The adventure is very exciting for little ones to be apart of. I would suggest this to all parents that just want to have fun reading to their child. It's also a book that I read again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Argh ... A Favorite!

    One of my two-year old son's absolute favorites. He loves to participate in the story ... "UP YONDER POLE" ... the story is well-constructed and very engaging. Illustrations are top rate, but it's the "chorus lines" of the pirate crew that make this a hit. The periodic breaks in the story that allow all of us to shout out in response to Captain Braidbeard are fun. The story is cute, and it's a great length for before bedtime reading. A winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    Wonderful for girls and boys!

    I have 5 grandsons (2-7) and all have loved this book! I have given this to little girls who enjoy it as much as my grandsons have! Parents and grandparents enjoy this too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful pirate book for toddlers

    My son loves this pirate book. We read it every night before bedtime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    Cute story

    We read the story before going to see the play at the Orlando Repatory Theater.
    My class really enjoyed the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    Cute Book

    I read this book this summer to my camp kids who were boys, ages 6-8. It was a total hit. It was the start of our Pirate Day. Everyone loved the book. Great for read alouds- got a lot of laughs and discussion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Allison Fraclose for Kids @ TeensReadToo.com

    While at the beach, a young boy named Jeremy Jacob looks up from his sand castle to find a pirate ship approaching the beach. He tries to tell his family, but they are all too busy, and no one notices when the pirates pull up in their rowboat and ask Jeremy if they have reached the Spanish Main. When he says no, they are at North Beach, the pirate captain notices Jeremy's sandcastle. They need a good digger, so they invite Jeremy along with them to bury their treasure.

    Life as a pirate starts out very exciting. Jeremy finds that pirate table manners don't include saying "please" or chewing with mouths closed. He doesn't have to eat vegetables (since there aren't any on board), and he even teaches the pirate crew how to play soccer before the ball ends up overboard in a shark's mouth.

    After a hardy pillow fight, Jeremy heads to bed without brushing his teeth...but he can't sleep. Pirates don't tuck in, or read bedtime stories. And when a terrible storm hits the ship, Jeremy is forgotten in the chaos, and being a pirate isn't much fun anymore. He'll have to do some quick thinking to escape the ship and get back home in time for soccer practice the next day.

    A hilarious read with goofy, guffaw-inducing illustrations, this whacky tale of a modern boy pirate teaches the important lesson that getting what you wish for is not always best. Even the bravest little pirates may realize after reading that a safe life at home, watching pirates in books and movies, may be more appealing than an actual life out at sea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    "Ahoy thar, matey!"

    Have you ever wanted to sail away on the ocean blue? Live a life a freedom with no rules, cares, or PARENTS! How I Became a Pirate is a wonderful tale of a boy who finds himself on an adventure with a ship full of pirates. He learns how to speak like a pirate, how to eat like a pirate, how to play like a pirate, and how to sleep like a pirate...BUT WAIT-who will tuck him in? Who will tell him a bedtime story? Who will kiss him goodnight? "Batten down the hatches" and set sail with this high sailing adventure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2009

    Cute story

    I bought this book for my son awhile back and we love it. He's into pirates right now, so this book definitely keeps his attention. I like how its interactive and gets him involved. Love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2008

    Great Book

    wonderful story line and great illistrations

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2008

    a reviewer

    In this story, there is a little boy named Jeremy Jacob who wants to become a pirate. He meets pirates and goes on the pirate ship. The pirates want him to bury the treasure. They make a map and bury the treasure in the boys back yard. I think this book might be Jeremy's dream or imagination. I recommend this book to anyone who likes pirates, not to people who don't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2