Customer Reviews for

How I Live Now

Average Rating 4
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely fantastic!

I found How I Live Now while browsing in a local bookstore... At first it didn't really interest me after I read a few pages of it, so i left it on my bookshelf for about 6 months. Until one day I decided to give it a go. The minute I Started reading it I could not stop...
I found How I Live Now while browsing in a local bookstore... At first it didn't really interest me after I read a few pages of it, so i left it on my bookshelf for about 6 months. Until one day I decided to give it a go. The minute I Started reading it I could not stop and I read it in around half a day: now I wish I had taken more time to read it to make the happiness last longer. What grabbed me most was the romance between Daisy and Edmond, one word MAGICAL. But then towards the end it became heartbreaking... Dont be fooled the ending proves very satisfying. I wish meg rossof would make a sequel to this book because I could read this book a million times. You will love everything about this book, so spend your time wisely with a hot chocolate, a comfy chair and most importantly this book!

posted by Anonymous on September 2, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

How did this win an award?

Oh my god, I could not stand Daisy. All she does is whine and have sex with her cousin, which, forgive me for being old-fashioned, is just. . . ew. Her 'anorexia' is glossed over and seems like an attempt to make her seem more complex than the whiny little brat ...
Oh my god, I could not stand Daisy. All she does is whine and have sex with her cousin, which, forgive me for being old-fashioned, is just. . . ew. Her 'anorexia' is glossed over and seems like an attempt to make her seem more complex than the whiny little brat she is. Now on to the writing: So incredibly irritating the way punctuation, especially quotation marks and commas, are neglected. It is not artsy, it is not innovative, it does not do anything except make me want to slap the author for being so pretentious. She seemed to have a love affair with unnecessary capitalization under the pretense of being 'deep' or something, I don't know. I don't care if it is the author's 'voice.' It's painful to read and sounds like my masterpiece 'The Snake in the Grass' I dictated to my mother when I was four and had not yet learned basic grammar. I think my eyes got a good workout from rolling so much, though.

posted by Anonymous on September 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2008

    How did this win an award?

    Oh my god, I could not stand Daisy. All she does is whine and have sex with her cousin, which, forgive me for being old-fashioned, is just. . . ew. Her 'anorexia' is glossed over and seems like an attempt to make her seem more complex than the whiny little brat she is. Now on to the writing: So incredibly irritating the way punctuation, especially quotation marks and commas, are neglected. It is not artsy, it is not innovative, it does not do anything except make me want to slap the author for being so pretentious. She seemed to have a love affair with unnecessary capitalization under the pretense of being 'deep' or something, I don't know. I don't care if it is the author's 'voice.' It's painful to read and sounds like my masterpiece 'The Snake in the Grass' I dictated to my mother when I was four and had not yet learned basic grammar. I think my eyes got a good workout from rolling so much, though.

    15 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2006

    Absolutely fantastic!

    I found How I Live Now while browsing in a local bookstore... At first it didn't really interest me after I read a few pages of it, so i left it on my bookshelf for about 6 months. Until one day I decided to give it a go. The minute I Started reading it I could not stop and I read it in around half a day: now I wish I had taken more time to read it to make the happiness last longer. What grabbed me most was the romance between Daisy and Edmond, one word MAGICAL. But then towards the end it became heartbreaking... Dont be fooled the ending proves very satisfying. I wish meg rossof would make a sequel to this book because I could read this book a million times. You will love everything about this book, so spend your time wisely with a hot chocolate, a comfy chair and most importantly this book!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2008

    I Thoroughly Enjoyed This Book To The Max (what a long title...)

    I really loved this book... I don't want to get all fancy and use big words... Anyway what I enjoyed was the use of detail and the humor and just the overall story of kids surviving and love and etc... I mean come on, it was so good i read it in less than a day... i did not read for the whole day straight thank u very much... It's not that long either so just read it for... Just read it...

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2006

    So emotional.

    WOW, this book made me cry. IT was FABULOUS and heart-taking, it was extraordinary. It was gruesome but realistic, left realistic images in my head. NOT disturbing, just very graphic, which is good. Cousinly sexual relationship is risky, new, and fresh. Makes it so much more exciting to read.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2006

    Great Book

    I absolutely adored this book. It was original and interesting and written in a very rushed, beautiful prose. Everything about it was unique- I think that what everyone else has counted as faults- such as Daisy having a sexual relationship with her cousin and it being to forced and vague- were really just aspects of the book that have to be appreciated. All in all, it was quite a read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2008

    Extraordinarily Good

    'How I Live Now', in my opinion, is very extraordinary. It's about a girl who finds love and gets involved in an intense relationship but she gets caught in a modern war. Even though this book does talk about airports, cars, the internet and e-mail, I found myself questioning when this story is set. I think this is mainly due to the fact that it is set in the countryside and is also about a war, and these two elements make me associate the story being set in the early 1900s. The relationship between Daisy 'the narrator' and Edmond is strangely romantic. 'How I Live Now' is very original, written in a unique style. It is startlingly gripping. Such an extraordinary and engaging read- an unforgettable story.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2007

    High School Student Review

    'How I Live Now' is a wonderful book for high school students. It is a story about a girl named Daisy that gets shipped off to England by her father and her step-mother. She goes to live with her four cousins and her aunt, who she has never met before. You follow her journey through the change in lifestyles, times of war, being seperated from her family, lack of food, and love. Daisy's love life with her cousin Edmund gets a little strange, but it makes it all that much more interesting. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes books about love, war, or family problems. Personally, I loved this book from beginning to end. It kept me wondering what was going to happen next through the whole book. The author wrote the book in a way that made you feel like you were right there in the story too.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2006

    Beautifully written

    This is one of the most heartfelt books I have read in a long time. Everything was beautifully written, and the characters had depth that is hard to come by in most modern novels.The only thing that somewhat bothered me was the Daisy's seeming immaturity and lack of interest in the war. But later on you know that her key concern is to survive the war. Other than that it was one of the most beautifully written I have read in a while.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2006

    I love books

    I love this book!!! ok so the ending wasnt all that great to me I just wish there was more before the end. But overall this book just captures you in a way even after your done with it...I recommend this book to everyone who loves to be caught up in a story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2006

    Wonderful & Unique

    'How I live Now' proved to be a very entertaining book for me. It confronts issues very head strong, that many authors will not do, and that is what made this book unlike any other. It takes a little time getting used to the fact that the main character, Daisy, is having a relationship with her cousin, Edmond. You must have an open mind to read this book. This book was captivating, I finished it in about a day. It was a work of art, and I applaud Meg Rossof for taking it far. At times the book can become confusing if you don't pay attention to details. The outcome is bittersweet,I still recommend it, because the writing is purley amazing.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2006

    Art

    This novel reminds me more of modern art than of any sort of novel in existence. It leaves one wandering throughout a sort of limbo, attempting to escape from a precarious position, just as the characters are. Once the occupation began, I found myself trying to find some sanity, which was nearly impossible. The novel is disturbing on some deep, profound level, only because all of the barriers are torn down from the main character she's rubbed raw and the deepest most secret emotions of all humans are shown. I will carry this novel with me in my heart for some time because it is so... human. No one wants to hear the things Daisy has to say or feel the things Daisy feels. No one wants to talk about the issues addressed in a novel like this. Though it is for young adults, I recommend this book to adults. It truly is a masterpiece I felt like I was reading art. With all barriers - grammatical or emotional - torn down, there is just... something about this book. The only thing I've ever read remotely like this is The Lovely Bones, only because I found both books so disturbing and human at the same time. It really is inexplicable.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2006

    It was sad...:-( but i liked it

    I thought it was a really sweet book and i especially like the inner thought process of the main character, daisy--what the people think is probably most appealing to me in a story. And I wish you could find out more at the end with Edmond! I'm a sap for the romance, and i love at the beginning when they're both so cute with each other...i just can't stand it. Anyway, it was a good book. A little hard to get into at first, but ends up snagging your interest.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2005

    WOW

    Oh my god this book just blew me away. It is both beautiful and sad. Edmond and Daisy's relationship while unorthodox was idyllic and precious, and the comparisons of Piper to an angel are spot on. I cryed at least 3 times. This is the best book ever. recommened for 15up

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2005

    A Captivating and Unique Novel!

    I really enjoyed reading this novel because it touched on many subjects and explored a teenager's emotional and physical struggles. The novel is very descriptive, which is what makes the book so intriguing. The characters are ones to be remembered and you want to contimue discovering their journies. I liked how the book explored several themes and topics including divorce, death, love, feelings, war, eating disorders, changes, and friendship. I thought that although the themes varied, the author did a fantastic job intertwining them together. Recommended for ages 14 and up

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2005

    Wow

    omg, where even to begin. This book was absolutly FABULOUS if you have the time read it! At first i didnt think the book looked really good by the cover and the blurb sounded eh, but it got so many good reviews i had to read it and it was great! i finished it in one night. I reccomend it to any1 12 and up.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2004

    Wow! What an refreshing read!

    This book is a breath of fresh air!! The author's unique style of writing is so readable and perfectly tailored to the story told by Daisy. How I Live Now is not just a readable and engaging story but storytelling at it's best. I laughed and laughed and then I cried. The setting and the issues are of the moment. Every reader will enjoy the inventive plot but adults will appreciate more the reality of its sometimes subtle (and sometimes less than subtle) themes. I've read it twice already and am going back for more. It is rare to find a book that needs to be devoured and when you finally put it down you want to go back again because you can't belive that it was so good. A fabulous story!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2008

    Incredible

    This book was absolutely incredible! I read it when it came out and I have never forgotten the power of it. This is definitely a cherished favorite that will be around for a long time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2008

    hmm.

    i love this book so much. i read it 2 yrs ago and then again yesturday.[[heh.]] and i felt it all over again. it was the best.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2008

    I loved this book!!!!

    I loved this book it was so amazing i cried at the end. This was an emotional book it felt real, and i wish she would write a sequal, but i really want to know what edmond looks like because i can't get a good image in my head. This book was awesome though i could read it a million times more its my favorite book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2008

    amazing book

    this is one of the most amazing books i have ever read. it is one of my favorites. i loved every minute of it. the story and detail is great. DEFINITELY read this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6