Customer Reviews for

How I Live Now

Average Rating 4
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely fantastic!

I found How I Live Now while browsing in a local bookstore... At first it didn't really interest me after I read a few pages of it, so i left it on my bookshelf for about 6 months. Until one day I decided to give it a go. The minute I Started reading it I could not stop...
I found How I Live Now while browsing in a local bookstore... At first it didn't really interest me after I read a few pages of it, so i left it on my bookshelf for about 6 months. Until one day I decided to give it a go. The minute I Started reading it I could not stop and I read it in around half a day: now I wish I had taken more time to read it to make the happiness last longer. What grabbed me most was the romance between Daisy and Edmond, one word MAGICAL. But then towards the end it became heartbreaking... Dont be fooled the ending proves very satisfying. I wish meg rossof would make a sequel to this book because I could read this book a million times. You will love everything about this book, so spend your time wisely with a hot chocolate, a comfy chair and most importantly this book!

posted by Anonymous on September 2, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

How did this win an award?

Oh my god, I could not stand Daisy. All she does is whine and have sex with her cousin, which, forgive me for being old-fashioned, is just. . . ew. Her 'anorexia' is glossed over and seems like an attempt to make her seem more complex than the whiny little brat ...
Oh my god, I could not stand Daisy. All she does is whine and have sex with her cousin, which, forgive me for being old-fashioned, is just. . . ew. Her 'anorexia' is glossed over and seems like an attempt to make her seem more complex than the whiny little brat she is. Now on to the writing: So incredibly irritating the way punctuation, especially quotation marks and commas, are neglected. It is not artsy, it is not innovative, it does not do anything except make me want to slap the author for being so pretentious. She seemed to have a love affair with unnecessary capitalization under the pretense of being 'deep' or something, I don't know. I don't care if it is the author's 'voice.' It's painful to read and sounds like my masterpiece 'The Snake in the Grass' I dictated to my mother when I was four and had not yet learned basic grammar. I think my eyes got a good workout from rolling so much, though.

posted by Anonymous on September 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2008

    I Thoroughly Enjoyed This Book To The Max (what a long title...)

    I really loved this book... I don't want to get all fancy and use big words... Anyway what I enjoyed was the use of detail and the humor and just the overall story of kids surviving and love and etc... I mean come on, it was so good i read it in less than a day... i did not read for the whole day straight thank u very much... It's not that long either so just read it for... Just read it...

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2008

    Extraordinarily Good

    'How I Live Now', in my opinion, is very extraordinary. It's about a girl who finds love and gets involved in an intense relationship but she gets caught in a modern war. Even though this book does talk about airports, cars, the internet and e-mail, I found myself questioning when this story is set. I think this is mainly due to the fact that it is set in the countryside and is also about a war, and these two elements make me associate the story being set in the early 1900s. The relationship between Daisy 'the narrator' and Edmond is strangely romantic. 'How I Live Now' is very original, written in a unique style. It is startlingly gripping. Such an extraordinary and engaging read- an unforgettable story.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2006

    Wonderful & Unique

    'How I live Now' proved to be a very entertaining book for me. It confronts issues very head strong, that many authors will not do, and that is what made this book unlike any other. It takes a little time getting used to the fact that the main character, Daisy, is having a relationship with her cousin, Edmond. You must have an open mind to read this book. This book was captivating, I finished it in about a day. It was a work of art, and I applaud Meg Rossof for taking it far. At times the book can become confusing if you don't pay attention to details. The outcome is bittersweet,I still recommend it, because the writing is purley amazing.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2006

    Art

    This novel reminds me more of modern art than of any sort of novel in existence. It leaves one wandering throughout a sort of limbo, attempting to escape from a precarious position, just as the characters are. Once the occupation began, I found myself trying to find some sanity, which was nearly impossible. The novel is disturbing on some deep, profound level, only because all of the barriers are torn down from the main character she's rubbed raw and the deepest most secret emotions of all humans are shown. I will carry this novel with me in my heart for some time because it is so... human. No one wants to hear the things Daisy has to say or feel the things Daisy feels. No one wants to talk about the issues addressed in a novel like this. Though it is for young adults, I recommend this book to adults. It truly is a masterpiece I felt like I was reading art. With all barriers - grammatical or emotional - torn down, there is just... something about this book. The only thing I've ever read remotely like this is The Lovely Bones, only because I found both books so disturbing and human at the same time. It really is inexplicable.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2006

    It was sad...:-( but i liked it

    I thought it was a really sweet book and i especially like the inner thought process of the main character, daisy--what the people think is probably most appealing to me in a story. And I wish you could find out more at the end with Edmond! I'm a sap for the romance, and i love at the beginning when they're both so cute with each other...i just can't stand it. Anyway, it was a good book. A little hard to get into at first, but ends up snagging your interest.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2005

    A Captivating and Unique Novel!

    I really enjoyed reading this novel because it touched on many subjects and explored a teenager's emotional and physical struggles. The novel is very descriptive, which is what makes the book so intriguing. The characters are ones to be remembered and you want to contimue discovering their journies. I liked how the book explored several themes and topics including divorce, death, love, feelings, war, eating disorders, changes, and friendship. I thought that although the themes varied, the author did a fantastic job intertwining them together. Recommended for ages 14 and up

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2007

    Deep

    This was a wonderful book.this book is great for people who like well thought-out, deep books. Some people have a hard time getting past the fact that the cousins have feelings for each other. Which is understandable, but what if they werent cousins? Survival has a striking feature in this book because we all try to find ways to survive in our own lives. Love in a time of war, loss of character, and loss of life are guaranties in this breath taking book!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2005

    beautiful

    I have never read anything quite like How I Live Now. It is a very unique and capturing read. It is the story of a misunderstood young woman from Manhattan who gets shipped off to live with her English cousins and aunt. She finds herself caught in the middle of an enemy occupation and embarks on her own, oh so cliche, 'adventure of a lifetime.'

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2005

    Amazing

    I loved it, I really enjoyed it and it has grabbed my heart and made me think really hard, and then I am so amazed at the book and the way the book tells the story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I love this book

    It was totatally, unpredicatable. And what's more Daisy gave you more insight into the inside world of war. Like how do the people cope, and how does it affect those? It truly makes you feel thankful that you've never seen death, and starvation. The book itself is like nothing I've ever read before.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    What a book!!!!! The book How I live now is a good book that sho

    What a book!!!!!
    The book How I live now is a good book that shows a girl that has had a hard life with her dad but her dad doesn’t treat her well at all. He doesn’t even call her by her really name which is Elizabeth he calls her Daisy. He sends her off to her Aunt Penn and her cousins in London to live with them for the summer but when she gets off the airplane she meets a boy that is about fourteen with a cigarette in his mouth and his hair cut that looks like he cut it himself but she comes to find out that it is one of her cousins. Elizabeth got with him and has an adventure with her new family but then she starts to have a love affair with her cousin Edmond. My character is Edmond because he such a bad boy and he has a good personality .I absolutely like this book and I think if you like books dealing with family’s you should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    HOW I LIVE NOW

    Unforgettable And Interesting.This book is different to say the least. I found this book online as a bargain book. I bought it on a whim and was not disappointed. The story follows a 15 yr old girl named Daisy's first year in England while a war is going on. All is written in the perspective of Daisy. There isn't even any dialogue in this book. It feels like the author took a girls dairy verebatum and published it for the masses with grammatical errors and all. There is incest in this book however, this book is not graphic in a sexual nature. This book also covers anerexia, love, loss, and family bonds to the utmost degree. I would recommend this book to an older crowd with an open mind. Once you read this book you will not forget this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2006

    Really good but a little disappointing.

    I really liked this book other then a few short boring parts and the whole thing with Edmond. I really didn't like that. That was disappointing becuase that was kind of the main thing of the book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2