Customer Reviews for

How I Play Golf

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Great

    Great book. Especially he mental part of the golf game. Really helped my grip and shortgame.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    I want to say that I think this is the best instructional golf b

    I want to say that I think this is the best instructional golf book out there. I have read everything from Jack's book to Hogan's 5 lessons. I think it is very well written and you can even see Tiger's humor through the writing. I want to warn all golfer's that they should NOT try to follow everything in this book. I have somewhat ruined my game trying to swing like tiger. My advice: remember the things in your golf swing that feel good and have worked for you. Write them down. They are yours and nothing should ever make them go away. As far as everything else about your game/swing that you don't like; that's what this book is for :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2010

    A Must Read for All the Golfers of the World

    In this book, Tiger Woods tells us how to get better at the game of golf. He does this by revealing many different factors that can influence somebody's golf game, such as diet, mental strength, exercise habits, and swing thoughts. The major message of this book is that through hard work and dedication, anyone can be a good golfer. The best thing about this book is that Tiger not only reveals various factors that can affect someone's golf game, but he also teaches us how to embrace these factors and how to use them to our advantage. The only negative comment I have is that, at times, Tiger failed to address the high skilled players. It seemed like some of the book was intended just for beginning players, which is understandable, but there were times in which a skilled player would be looking for more insight on the topic being discussed. If someone legitimately wants to get better at the game of golf, they should read this book. It contains vital information that can help a dedicated player in ways he or she never would have imagined. However, someone who has no interest in playing golf should not read this book because it is an instructional book on how to play the game of golf; they would not get anything out of it. If you liked this book, I would recommend watching the golf channel because it has many different shows regarding many different aspects of the game of golf. My overall rating for the book would be five out of five stars because I am an avid golfer, and learning how to get better is something I will always jump on. I also enjoyed it because it was written in a tone that kept it very interesting; by using personal stories to describe certain concepts, Tiger kept my attention throughout the duration of the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2001

    Excellent

    My husband and I took up golf a couple of years ago for fun, and to introduce our eight year old son to a sport we could all play together. My son is now plays in tournaments each week. The problem is he never listens to any advice I give him! Obviously I am no Earl Woods but now I have Tiger by my side! My son can read the book, look at the photos and see exactly what he should be doing. The book is easy to read and contains precise instructions. The photos are superb and guide the reader through every step of the swing. Tiger's thoughts about the game are inspiring and insightful. I also recommend you read 'Open Your Mind, Open Your Life: A Little Book of Eastern Wisdom' by Taro Gold, which contains many great quotations and inspiring messages based on the Buddhist teachings that Tiger practices.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2001

    Excellent Illustrations of Body and Arm Positions

    A well illustrated golf technique book. Appears geared to somewhat experienced golfers. Best advice is 'find out what works for you'. Most of the basics are covered, but lacks some needed advice for beginners - keep your head still and your left arm straight. Appears to be illustrations missing on page 30 if format is to be consistent. Uncomplicated text and quickly readable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2001

    best book ever

    I am a 14 year old kid with a 9 handicap. i know people say i should not have read this book because it would screw up my tournament play but i read it any way and two weeks later came in 2nd at a local tournament of guys 4 times older than i am. Thats just one example, frankly i think older fellows get jealous of Tiger because he gets the attention from kids instead of them, but thats me. This is a great book i think every one in the world even if they dont play golf should own a copy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2001

    Awesome talent bared with all humility

    It is an exceptional work. The awe-inspire sportsperson unveils the secrets with such an easy going demeanour. I started reading it last Friday at 7p.m. Couldn't just put it down thereafter. Went thru three fourths of the book in the first sitting itself. Golf - its physical aspects , the technical nuances and some thing that's gaining foreground - the mental resilience all are put forth lucidly . Above all they seem so easy to emulate.A must read for amateurs in golf and may be other sports too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Brooke

    Ohhhhhh i know now! And by the way u are! Like really obsessed! Its ok though x)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Steven

    I gave you a clemson colored one when you said yes x)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Test

    Test

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Moon

    Gtgtb. Im staying up late tomarrow night for 12:12:12:12 gnight!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Snow

    Hello?~Snow

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Sandpaw

    Hi im sandpaw the med cat apprentice. Whos the med cat?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    To Foxface

    I am rping Hazeheart. ~Icebreeze. P.s. Songbreeze is gonna rp a cat named Cherryblossom.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Med den

    Foxface layed dn in the sun and slept.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2005

    Excellent Golf Book from Tiger

    Being a Tiger Fan, I have to say I really liked this book. It really has good photos on Tiger. Some of the technique is good if you are very flexible and agile like Tiger. If you aren't as flexible or agile like Tiger I recommend 'The Ultimate Golf Instruction Guide: Key Techniques for Becoming a Zero Handicap Golfer or Better' (ISBN;1933023090). The Ultimate Golf Instruction Guide has golf instruction like no other golf technique book. It helped me to score really low in golf. I'm now a 2 handicap. Tiger's book helped me with the short game and how to out think other golfers who I play against.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2004

    Easy Guide for all Golfers who wants to improve

    I have 6 handicap and I am trying to be a scratch player. I need to practice hard to reach that goal. Sometimes I wonder about my swing mech. So, I record my swing with my miniDV and review with this book. We all know we can't swing exactly like tiger but could copy, learn and adapt some good points. Price at B & N is very good and I like the pictures and easy going story. I give 5 stars to this book. Nice Gift Item

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2003

    Best Golf Book EVER!!!!!!!!

    Tiger's description of both grip and stance helped me greatly. I'm not even finished with the book and my golf game has already improved not to mention my mental game. I highly recommend this to anyone who wants a wise insight on playing golf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2002

    life philosophy

    GOLF is Games Of Life [F]Philosophy. And Woods show it to us ! Its a good book to read & learnt from, no matter you're begginer or whoever trying to be pro's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2001

    Decent, but not as good as Nicklaus

    Some good pointers, but nothing original in this book. Tiger's name will sell it if anything, but golf isn't rocket science. It's all about practice, no matter what Tiger says.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2